CALL OF CHANGE (new poem)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

About ten days ago I read @battleaxe 's poem Clockwork Steem I quoted her last two lines to start this poem as a comment. One week later I remembered it and I thought it's too good to be an unnoticed comment so I decided to finish it and post it (Thank you @battleaxe for permitting me to use your two lines and shape them a little so that they fit in the rythme. Ah, and make sure you read your comments next time 😅). Here is what came up:

If we're the change that will ascend,
which pieces are the first we mend?

Or what rules are the first we break
and systems we take down for freedom's sake?
I know it’s something hard to take
but once you know the balance is fake
you'll gladly watch it fall apart
and mark that moment as the start
of your life without the rope
that's been holding you from hope.
So tell me now what shall we break
to stop this bloody spirit ache?
Of course destruction is not a goal
but just a step to rebuild it all
and make it good and sane and whole
so everyone can find his role.
Now if you haven’t picked a side,
It isn’t too late to decide
whether you want to run and hide
and surrender to the fears inside
or respond to our call of change.
For there's no place outside our range
and there's no such thing as too far.
So do not think we’ll find you strange.
Embrace yourself the way you are
with every wound and every scar
and let us be the only star
and the only source of light
in this dark and moonless night
that they call life, though it’s a fight.
So raise your weapon, fellow knight.
We need no king to know what's right.
We’ll compel history to recite
How we claimed lands to plant our seed
and satisfy its every need
It might seem vulnerable and weak
But it’s still growing as we speak
and one day it will reach its peak
to be the very change we seek.

Image Source

separation.png

You can also read:

Chapters Of My Fight
Bloody Rose
A Word Is Like A Sword
When The Words Came Along
When You're Up Late In The Night
My Friends
Grow Wise Enough Beloved Son
Man Is Genious
The Sun Could Shine For Me
The Coven Mistress

separation.png

Proud Member Of:


GratefulVibesIOW COLOR LOGO.png

Sort:  

Wow @hazem91. I can feel your passion homez. There are some powerful images that you play with. That's your angle. Nice flow stunner!!!

Thank you @kofibeatz
And I guess we should thank @battleaxe for the inspiration as well ;)

Yeah no doubt. Shoutout to @battleaxe for the inspiration!!!

Another incredible one!

So raise your weapon, fellow knight.
We need no king to know what's right.

Powerful! :)

oh I'm so getting addicted to your continuous support!
Thank you so much @nikolina

BEAUTIFUL PIECE WELL DONE BRO

Good job with this one! It does have that emotion, rallying up to stand and fight. You succeeded :)

thaaanks @poetrybyjeremy
I guess I did 😄
(ego talk 😎)

Gosh this is such a motivational and inspiring poem, the stuff of revolution! And the rhythm flows so well, it is hair raising! This is going to be a tough week for the judges :)

thank you @calluna
I apreciate this coming from you ^^
we'll se what they'll have to say ;)


شكرا للمشاركة الممتعة!
يسرنا اعلامك انه يمكنك الحصول على تصويت اضافي عبر ارسال
0.05
ستيم او اسبيدي الى حساب التصويت الالي الجديد
@arabpromo
مع رابط المقال في حقل المذكرة (memo)
مما يتيح لكم الحصول على تصويت بين 0.10 و 0.32 :)

حصلت على تصويت من
@arabsteem curation trail !
و تم اختيار مقالتك ضمن مقالات يومية مختارة للنشر اليوم في مقالنا! :)

The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

Robert Frost, “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening” from The Poetry of Robert Frost.

Very nice lines
It's the first time I read them
I should check out that poem

I. Love. THIS! So true that some things will crumble as change happens. We see it everywhere. So glad you shared this in a post. Powerful writing, my friend.

Thanks Katrina
I appreciate the nice words. Specially coming from a great writer like you 😊

That is a really powerful poem, really touching.
Of course destruction is not a goal
but just a step to rebuild it all

This really hit me and I love that 😊
Amazing my friend 🤗

Thaaank you my friend
🤗🤗🤗

Thank YOU for writing it 😊 twin 😘

Sweet man, if you would have tagged #thealliance I'd of seen it sooner :P I loved those two lines too. Great continuation hey!

It means a lot when it's coming from you 😊

wow I just found out that I messed up the tags lol, I knew something was missing !
(nothing that can't be fixed 😉 )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58430.93
ETH 2504.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39