Serenity at the Beach - Photography

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Introduction

As you probably know by now I love monochrome/B&W photos and I also love portraits.  The closer the shot the better and I particularly love shots where you can see the eyes nice and clearly.

Here are some more closeup shots converted to monochrome.  This time the model is Serenity Wilde and these were taken at the beach with an icy wind. 

Sometimes you get great shots in awful conditions - such is life! 

I do love the eyes in these shots.  

I have used a subtle sepia filter in Nik's excellent Silver Efex Pro 2 here which I feel works well to give a slightly vintage feel.  

Please see my previous tutorial on how to do the black and white conversion using the free Nik Silver Efex Pro plugin.  Don't forget to download the entire Nik Software collection for free whilst you still can.  

You can download them here:

https://www.google.com/nikcollection/


1


2


3



Let me know what you think of the shots as always.  Also if there are any particular questions you have or technique you would like me to discuss or explain please feel free to ask - I could do a new tutorial or just answer in the comments if there is enough space.


If you like my work please follow me and check out my blog (I don't just discuss photography) -  @thecryptofiend 


I have also created a new channel in the chat dedicated to photography of people/portraits called "Photography-portraits-people".  Please check it out and post your photos there.


Technical Information:

  • Nikon D800 Camera.
  • Sigma 24-70mm/2.8 lens, natural light with a front reflector.
  • Adobe Lightroom CC, Photoshop CC and Nik Silver Efex Pro 2  for processing.
  • The model is Serenity Wilde.
  • Location was Dunstanburgh Beach, Northumberland, England.

(Verification for me here: http://www.aapicture.com/about-me)


My Previous Photography Posts and Tutorials:

Sort:  

I'm a big fan of monochrome photos, I think the picture is so much clearer.

Thanks. Yes that's why I love them. Without the distraction of colour some photos really stand out more and look a lot clearer.

I also think a monochrome picture catches your attention more

True. I think it is because you can take it in more quickly. A colour photo requires more mental processing.

Beautiful photography, his work excellent

Ah, I recognised the amazing silver efex almost right away. Well composed photos. They look excellent.

Thank you. I always use SEP.

Great shots as usual!
I'm just downloading Nick's collection to play with it a little, thank you for sharing

Thank you. It is well worth trying out and you are basically getting $500 software for free:)

Great shots. Agree with you on the eyes.

my favorite

Thank you glad you like it:)

I love the second shot. I love monochrome photos especially when working with traditional film and developing them yourself.

Thanks. These are digital though so you might prefer the ones here.

oh I don't have a preference when it comes to the end result I just enjoy developing them, well I used to it's been years since I got inside a dark room.

I've never tried proper film photography with a darkroom. The closest I've got is polaroids.

Awesome work there, and model! Beautiful! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57605.72
ETH 3101.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33