Macro Mystery Fly!

in #photography7 years ago

P7240229 Final.jpg

I made it out yesterday after work and was fighting the wind the entire afternoon, I was able to get a few shoots that I really liked and this may have been my favorite. This has to be the coolest looking fly I have ever seen. If anyone happens to know what kind it is please let me know, it will be worth it!!! I hope you enjoy the shot as much as I do and as always happy shooting!


Photo Details

  • Camera- Olympus EM-1
  • Lens- 60mm Macro
  • ISO- 400
  • Focal Length 120mm (35mm equivalent)
  • Aperture- f6.3
  • Shutter Speed- 1/60th
  • Flash- Fill Flash

Recent Post

Soonidrifts Weekly Photo Recap....Be warned nature photography overload ahead!!!!!

Infrared River Photography

Infrared Barn Photography

Macro Dragonfly

Infrared Tractor at my friends vineyard

Black and White Crane - Early Night Photography

Barn In Snow Storm

U5dsnt2Y19qmNJ6S4rHWGSU4yi4wucH.gif

Sort:  

Genus Cylindromyia I think. http://bugguide.net/node/view/9906

Here is a shot I took of a similar fly. http://bugguide.net/node/view/594337

That's very similar isn't it. I wouldn't have recognised it as a Tachinid fly (although it does have those big bristly hairs). I won't tell you how long I spent looking :-)

That sure looks like it, great job. Its the first one I have ever seen and i couldnt find it on the ole interwebs.

great photography dude, I tried to find this interesting fly on the internet but couldnt find the exact one but no luck but instead i found this one interesting too:
Search with this name "Tabanidae_Chrysops caecutiens"

Oh yeah i know that one, it has one heck of a bite!

Beautiful! Looks like one of the Hover flies (Family Syrphidae) but no idea which one. What country is this in?

This is in Ohio, USA. Ive never seen one before and cant find it anywhere!

Wow! Love your work! @soonidrift

this is a really nice shot! no idea what kind of fly it is though...

Thank you, The mystery continues!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99