SPRINGTIME PHOTOGRAPHY: ASPARAGUS

in #photography7 years ago

Hopefully, Asparagus will be playing a big role in my future.


If anyone remembers my post on how to get Asparagus seeds for free, then you already know that I have tens of thousands of Asparagus seeds which I collected for free.


Once I purchase land, I should have enough room to put in a very large patch of Asparagus, which should not only provide some excellent homegrown food for my family, but also hopefully provide an opportunity for some financial benefits as well.

Regardless of what happens long-term with the seeds that I have, these established plants are waking up once again. Asparagus is a very healthy and tasty food, and we started growing our own years ago. A well-established Asparagus patch can produce for decades, so it’s an excellent garden plant to grow for food.


Here are a few more photos.


To check out the previous posts in this series, click the links below:

American Gooseberry

Elderberry

Hops

Mint

Stinging Nettle



TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Wild asparagus in Wisconsin ? I get taught somwthing new everyday. That is so awesome. I hope you get financial benefits growing it in Arkansas as well as the health benefits. THANKS

I keep meaning to try Asparagus, :)

Fantastic @papa-pepper! It's nice to see a visual of what they should look like. Mine are still covered in snow up here in Canada and this will be my first Spring with my patch. We typically don't get our asparagus harvest until late May, early June.
There is currency to be made in selling the roots too. Here, they go for $1 a root for people who want to get their own patches started.

A lot of people will sell their female plants and just keep the male's.

I think that may have been the case with the ones I have. Looked like they flowered but I didn't see any seeds develop. :(

Asparagus are great! Today I watched a boy collecting some. He took a good bunch!

So you are a rugged outdoors man and a photographer. You're an interesting dude.

I posted about wild asparagus two days ago!

They are different than yours! Never eat domestic asparagus that are fat as human finger and you can plant them! they are not nearly good and quality as wild one, the thin ones. Now making series of posts about them, maybe interested?

Cool, I'll check it out!

I made another one months ago when I collected a lot of free seeds. You may want to check it out!

https://steemit.com/gardening/@papa-pepper/the-opportunistic-gardener-how-to-get-free-asparagus-seeds

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 10. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.16 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 10 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Oh me Oh my papa peper is going to have his very own pitterpatter rabbit in his asparagus patch nibble, nibbling away on a few of these baby buds. I LOVE Asparegas Nom Nom Nom!

He sure is! I love them too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57688.87
ETH 3100.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37