SPRINGTIME PHOTOGRAPHY - HOPS

in #photography7 years ago

The hops are bursting out of the soil too!


I gave up the bottle years ago, but there is more that you can use hops for than just home brew! Actually, since I've known the guy who runs http://www.highhoppage.com/ his entire life, he gave me a few varieties last year. Now, I am growing my own Chinook and Cascade varieties of Hops.

So far, I'm just growing them in some 5 gallon buckets until we purchase our land and get them a permanent place to grow, but they made it through the winter just fine and may even give us our first home grown hops this year!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-hops


To check out the previous posts in this series, click the links below:

American Gooseberry

Elderberry



TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

"Spring is here again"!! I also enjoy seeing plants sprooting after winter!

Wow! That brings back a few memories ;-)

Picking hops in England in the autumn, on a farm where we had all sorts of nationalities, and being a kiwi, I was told I was the new tractor driver.

I'd never driven a tractor in my life!

I can still remember the smell of the hops.......

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $18.14 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 06 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I hope you enjoy those hop shoots! They are a tasty bonus. Once you get them in the ground, you will have to thin out their shoots to just a few per plant. So it's good that they are great to eat! They make great pickles, too. I'll post about that pretty quick, since it looks like yours are ready to eat. I put the young leaves in salads, too. Hops are so great -- for non-alcoholic uses, too!

STDSC05543WEB3a8af.md.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60704.04
ETH 2914.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32