SPRINGTIME PHOTOGRAPHY: STINGING NETTLE

in #photography7 years ago

In recent years, this has become one of my favorite plants.


Growing up, I would often run through patches of Stinging Nettles while playing in the woods or fields. I can still remember the irritating burn on my legs afterwards. In those days, I had no use for this plant.

These days, however, after learning about what an incredibly healthy edible it is, my opinion of Stinging Nettle has certainly changed. In fact, Nettle Tea has even become my favorite daytime tea. Among the claimed positive effects of Stinging Nettle are helping nursing moms produce milk, stopping bleeding, stimulating various internal organs, easing rheumatism and arthritis, purifying the blood, relieving allergies, and many others.

Not only that, but you can use it to make some incredibly strong cordage as well!

It is great to see some new shoots rising from the soil, because my supply of dry Nettle leaf for tea is getting a little low, but it should still last.


Here's a few more photos.


To check out the previous posts in this series, click the links below:

American Gooseberry

Elderberry

Hops

Mint



TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

@papa-pepper am glad I dropped by .. I need to make sure to bring a few of those and put them in the pots in the backyard cause I'd like the peacock butterflies to lay their eggs on them in my backyard .. thanks for sharing!

Thanks @papa-pepper, will have to give it a try in this year's garden!!!

Now I know how to make some cord if I ever get stuck in the middle of nowhere. You're not only Steemit's turtle hunter, you're also the network's Bear Grylls! Love is Man vs. Wild show, and love your teaching tips posts, too!

Maybe I'll have to go "surviving" for a bit and record it!

Yeah! You could stream it like you rhyme it!

I had always wondered what was so important about this tes - now I know the rest of the story XD ! Thanks for another great tip @papapepper

Excellent! I was just looking for some ways to stimulate some of my internal organs!

Lol, that sounds very funny to read, but Stinging Nettle is a great plant for getting the job done!

Something tells me that if there is ever an apocalypse, your buddies are all running to your house. You know a lot of useful stuff.

I will keep sharing it too!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.23 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 08 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

That is true, these plants are marvelous. I do collect the seeds in autumn, let them dry and have them later in my muesli. Often unrecognized useful abundance.

So underappreciated, but people are learning!

Excellent post like usual. You got my vote and resteem.

Upvoted by @foraging-trail

Thank you for following and upvoting @foraging-trail
You can find out more about the Steemit Foraging community and guidelines for being upvoted by the @foraging-trail here and here. Join us In the Foraging-Trail and let's discuss Foraging Related Topics

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57738.58
ETH 3102.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34