MY FAVORITE STEEMIT-INSPIRED PHOTOGRAPHY - Part 2

in #photography7 years ago

Yes, steemit can inspire us to create like never before!


This is the second post in this series where I share some of the incredible photos that I have posted on steemit over the past year and a half. Looking back on them, it makes me really appreciate steemit. Without the inspiration and outlet that steemit provides, I would not have taken the vast majority of these photos.

This post will focus on some photos of animals that I "captured on film." I think that is would have been a complete shame to have not taken the opportunity to take these photos, but, truth be told, most of them are only here now because steemit inspired me to take these picture. Enjoy!

MY TOP PHOTOS - Part 2

This was the first Fabulous Green Sphinx Moth that I had ever found. Being a man whose favorite color is camouflage, this moth looked really cool me. As is often the case, it soon flew away. Good thing I took my photos when I did!

This gem was captured during a photo shoot titled BLACKLIGHT SCORPION - UNEDITED AND AWESOME. Since scorpions fluoresce when they are exposed to Ultra Violet light, all you need is a scorpion and a black light to pull off photos like this. I didn't think about the fact that scorpions live in Arkansas when we moved here, but I'm glad that we can find them!

Who doesn't love seeing a mom out for a walk with her children? Okay, maybe not so much with mom spiders, but still. When I encountered this female Wolf Spider out for a walk with her little ones all I could think to say was, "HEY MAMA!" Whether you lke spiders or not, you've got to admit, she is a good mother.

This one was an entry in the steemit photo challenge ran by @jamtaylor. The theme that week was hands. I chose to call this one "PICK A HAND... I DARE YOU!!!" It was a fun photo to set up, and there were a lot of variables to consider. Thankfully, the end result was excellent in my opinion.

Much like my love for other animals, I love amphibians, and the Gray Tree Frog is one of my favorites. The particular day that I photographed this one, I also photographed a Spotted Salamander, and the original post is just loaded with photos!

Part of the blessing of raising animals is seeing those new little babies born. This photo was from one of our Baby Rabbit Updates from last year. No matter how many babies we have, it never gets old.

Part of what I enjoy about living further south is opportunities like this. Sure, we can still find salamanders up north, but not in December! This beautiful amphibian was found right around a year ago! I wonder if we will be finding any this December! If we do, I'll keep you posted!

Polistes carolina, the Red Wasp. This was a new creature for me when I moved down here. As dangerous as many other stinging insects, it sure is beautiful though. I found this one while working with @bluerthangreen and stopped to seize the opportunity to get some photos taken. The one above is one of my favorites.

These guys are not only a very interesting creature to photograph, they are much better at sitting still than some others, LOL! I love the eyes on this one, and finding land snails is a fun byproduct of looking for other animals under rocks and logs, which we do a lot of.

This was one solid snake, or, as I titled the original post, A VERY IMPRESSIVE BEAST!!! It was one of the largest Prairie Kingsnakes that I have encountered yet, and I am so glad that we live in a place where we can frequently encounter them. Some other excellent photos and a video are included in the post linked below.

The Speckled Kingsnake is my favorite local snake here in Arkansas. I love the look of them, which almost resembles static on a television. They are such cool creatures. Thankfully, my appreciation for the creatures of the world was able to be shared in a series post titled Close to the Creatures with Papa-Pepper. I think that this photo was from one of the first posts in that series.

Even as I look at all of these photos again, I cannot help be be grateful for all of the opportunity that steemit has given us. Not just because we are able to potentially earn some crypto for our efforts here, but also because we have such an inspiring outlet for our creativity, and because we can all meet one another and interact. Steem on!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-photography



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Only through steemit I will be watching any of this online.
I know you are really good with them.
Animals act by instinct, just be careful.
Keep on steemit.

You have a fantastic amount of wildlife around you for photography! Great shots! I think you are quite brave too getting so up-close and personal, especially with the snakes and spiders! shudder lol

You ought to invest in a macro lens. It'll take your photos to a whole nother level!

I probably should. Thanks for the advice and encouragement.

thanks for this post, its very informative post. i was read this post

Definitely my two favorite are the Gray Tree Frog and the Snail. Incredible pictures. One of my favorite places to visit on Steemit is the Photography section. A long time ago, I aspired to be a photographer and then realized I lack the "critical" eye to take fabulous pictures. So instead, I enjoy other people's fantastic photos. Thanks for sharing these with us papa-pepper

You still think that my photos are alright?

Absolutely. One of the things I like very best about your photos is they show real life. I have a dream to one day retire to Panguitch. It is a small town in southern Utah. I would love to have a little piece of land and work it. While I wait, I live vicariously through you as I watch you work your piece of land and provide for the family. Thanks for opening a window into your world and sharing it with us.

OMG that baby rabbit is super cute!

I have read momma rabbits are very protective of their babies.

Some are, but they don't all attack you.

Yeah, you gotta watch those rabbits! Some are killers!

Not if you've got a holy hand grenade.

Man will occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of the time he will pick himself up and continue on.

- Winston Churchill

Many will begin to drop their reputation, and contiue to even after they reach a 5.
-papa-pepper

good post.
I have a new post please visit

I hate insects but i loved your photographs:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58167.06
ETH 2592.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44