THE RED WASP (Polistes carolina)

in #photography7 years ago

Polistes carolina


The Red Wasp is a creature that we did not have up north in Wisconsin, but is common here in Arkansas. Although it is only February, it has been warm enough for them to come out. With their rusty-red bodies and dark blue-black wings, they can appear quite menacing.

However, I have never been attacked or stung by one yet, even when photographing them up close. Also, it is worth noting that the Red Wasps feed upon many pest insects, so they can be beneficial to have around!

These are some of the better photos from a recent shoot. Enjoy!


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-red-wasp


FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation)


The long-term purpose of this account is to help provide the necessary funds to live a self-sufficient lifestyle at home with my family.

Sort:  

That time I was stung by a Polistes Carolina trying to launch my canoe. My finger got so swollen that I had to remove my ring. I pity the fool that gets stung.

Very interesting, I may have to try that!

I pity the fool too!

I guess they really hurt when they sting, but they sure do look really cool!

It's amazing to consider all of these little created creatures all around us!

I bet! I won't volunteer!

It sure is brother. And I love how you teach your kids about these Creations and how to appreciate them too. Yuuge!

And you do NOT want to get stung by one!!! I had one go down the front of my shirt while driving home from Natural Dam. It stung me in the solar plexus and it literally knocked the wind out of me.

Wow, now I'm kind of curious.

It couldn't have happened in a worse place. I was going down a big hill on 54 Hwy, going into what we call Frog Hollow just North of Figure Five where the road twists and turns.

It's enormous!! I would never get so close to it!

I've never seen one of them before. It's quite big isn't it?

It's a good size to be sure!

They are a painful wasp! I saw my dad get stung three times on the forehead by one. He's not necessarily an emotive kind of man. But he emoted. =8O

Would make a good photo challenge entry then!

The question is HOW BAD is there sting! ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58270.16
ETH 2600.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39