A VERY IMPRESSIVE BEAST!!!

in #adventure8 years ago

I was just out propagating some Elderberry plants, when suddenly...


An impressive Prairie Kingsnake was noticed nearby. Since the people who own the property I was on really don't like snakes, especially BIG ones, I figured I'd grab it and relocate it. This snake was a really good size, and pretty fat for just having hibernated all winter.

In my opinion, this Prairie Kingsnake is one of the best kinds of snakes to have around. Since their diet is made up mostly of rodents, these snakes are a great way to keep the local rats and mice in check. Additionally, they have been known to occasionally eat venomous snakes as well. It's the venomous snakes that many people actually have a problem with, but far too often nonvenomous snakes like the Prairie Kingsnake get killed out of ignorance.

This particular one never even tried to bite me, though I handled it for quite a while. Once I concluded that the risk of a bite was minimal, the @little-peppers even got a chance to check it out. I'd rather have my little ones know how to identify wild snakes and understand the risks associated with various species rather than to live in fear like so many children that I know.

Also, since most people get bit by snakes when attempting to capture or kill them, and since lots of people like to try to kill snakes, I'd rather not have my children killing random snakes whenever they see them or maybe even getting bitten or killed in the process.


Though many kinds of snakes can be intimidating, I find them to be very interesting and beneficial animals to have around. Last year we found a very large quantity of snakes around here, and I expect this year to be very similar. Perhaps the @little-peppers will post some additional photos later, but for now, here's a short video of Monster Truck and me with this one.


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-prairie-kingsnake

OPERATION TRANSLATION INFO LINKED HERE

Sort:  

We don't get snakes like that up here in New England... You're pretty bold to hold it that close to your face! Nice post

The actual risk was very limited....

so glad to hear it

If it isn't venomous, there's little danger.

I dont like this post! lol

I hate snakes!

I heard that they didn't care too much for you either.... (joke)

Hm. What was that country without snakes again? Ireland I think. Must consider Ireland.

New Zealand too I think... but I'll stay right where I am!

Yes there are no snakes in New Zealand - worst thing we have is Wetas

They are actually quite aggressive, and I think this guy is fruitloops, but I guess he knows what he is doing...

That is a big Weta. I was in NZ years back, visiting folks in Queen Charlotte Sound, sitting in the outhouse one night, with my headlamp on the back of the loo, and a Weta walked in front of the lamp. Hadn't seen one to date. So a HUGE shadow shone on the wall, of a Weta from Space. Scared the daylights out of me. They are rather large. He/she just sauntered away, and so did I.

What a gorgeous snake and great photos! You have such a wonderful variety of snakes in your area. And you are good at representing them, too, stressing that snakes aren't bad creatures. That one must have been still half in hibernation, lol. It's nice to see such a big snake. Just look at that strong neck. Really great photos, @papa-pepper! Enjoy your snakes!

Wonderful shots! Nice looking snake too!

A beautiful snake, and so easy to work with when photographing!

I'm pretty sure that you are only so brave with that snake because of that muscle you have next to you. Looks like a tough character.

Gorgeous snake. They are so cool to look at up close. It is a shame so many are killed, just because they have the misfortune of being long and skinny. Thanks for sharing the post...it helps to show folks that there can be a logical way to view them in the world. So great you teach the little peppers about it as well.

I love snakes...in pictures and video. I even got to handle a snake when I was younger and I know the benefits so I don't go out trying to kill them when I see them BUT I don't go out of my way to handle them or relocate them either. shivers

At Wild Foods Weekend a couple of years ago we made a rattlesnake spread to put on crackers. The meat is so soft it's almost creamy.
http://wildfoodadventures.com/workshop/north-carolina-wild-food-weekend/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51