HEY MAMA! - A Mama Wolf Spider Takes Her Kids For a Ride!

in #spider8 years ago

Like some other types of spiders and scorpions, Wolf Spider mamas carry their young on their backs.

The kids called me outside yesterday to check out a spider that they saw, and this is what they found.

Many spiders can get a reputation for many reasons, but I have never personally had an issue with this species.

Knowing how many bugs they eat is of some comfort to me, because there are a lot worse little crawlers out there than these guys.


Check out that face!


Here are a few better ones of the babies.


The babies are not "stuck" to mama, so they can fall off or move around.

We saw a few of the tiny little ones change position or have to climb back onto mama.


Look at the hairs on those legs!


She was a good sized spider too!


After a brief photo shoot, I gently moved the mama out of the yard and towards the edge of the woods.

(I thought that was the appropriate thing for a papa to do.)


HERE SHE COMES!


This is one of my favorite shots.





proof-of-mama


FOR SOME OF MY OTHER POSTS OF LITTLE CREEPY CRAWLY CREATURES:

BLACKLIGHT SCORPION


THE FABULOUS GREEN SPHINX MOTH


THE DANCE OF THE DRAGONFLIES


THE ADVENTURES OF LEMON & LIME


CLONE WARS


THE CONQUEROR


THE TRANSFORMATION OF A CICADA


FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!

Sort:  

Those are some great shots. It's quite cute the little spiders being on the back!

I think so too, thanks.

Very beautifull photography @papa-pepper!
That spider ...ugh.....omg!

Yeah, I got to get me a real camera soon, but I'm doing alright so far!

Awesome papa showing us a great mama! She looked really beautiful.

I tried to present her in all her glory!

Glad you like it, thanks!

Excellent top notch spider photos!

THANK YOU!
We had fun with them, and she was a nice lady!

By the way, congratulations on 500 subscribers! That sure didn't take long going from 400-500!!

There have been a few times when I've gained about 100 in about a week.
I'm working on my 500+ follower post now - I wasn't prepared yet...
The last one I got ready ahead of time.

Nice photoshoot! I'm assuming that all sbd will go toward a fund for the little piggybackers?

For my little piggybackers anyway.

Wow! amazing photos!!!
I so like nature, but sadly not often have a time to spend outdoor

I like to live outdoors mostly... But steemit keeps calling me to the computer.

Aiyeeeeeee!!!!!

Oh my gosh, I can't believe she let you hold her with all the babies on her back. And I can't believe all the babies didn't raid your hand! ::shivers::
But, I will admit that it is beautiful in a creepy way...and my legs look like that too! LOL

Ah! Now I'm creeped out.

LOL!

She was a nice lady, for a spider....

I didn't think I'd ever find a spider cute. And I didn't find this one cute until that picture of it in your palm, then I was smitten. Still a little creepy with all the creepy-crawler babies clinging on for dear life, but also pretty cute. The Steemit Spider rises ;)

Also, beautifully done photos, papa :)

Thanks my friend.

I was very interested to observe this single mother for a while.

I once let one crawl on me at the beach, and it was quite a bit bigger.

You should have seen the other people, you would have thought that it was crawling on them, they freaked out so hard.

You always have the most interesting critter pictures. But the Rhino Beetle picture is still my favorite.

Thank you!

The kids are a lot of help at finding neat stuff to photograph.

A neighbor boy brought me that beetle.

Fantastic photos...... man is there anything that you don't do!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

There are a few things.... Because I'm married.
LOL

In fact, it was 9 years yesterday.

Thanks Old Dog.

Congratulazions to you and Mrs. Pepper! For me 32 years and still going strong!

Yeah, mama-pepper and I had a special night, but I still jumped in the lake and caught a water snake and a snapping turtle on our romantic evening stroll.

She knew what she was getting into..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60192.33
ETH 2321.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50