Wait, is that a BLUE BEE! Steemit Colours!

in #photography8 years ago

I was well aware that bees and wasps can come in many different colours, though usually varying degrees of black and yellow, sometimes white and black such as the Bald Faced Hornet in North America. I was quite surprised when I first spotted this blue bee buzzing about the cosmos flowers last year!

I was even more surprised to learn that it is an endangered species!

Larger on 500px

Cuckoo bees are cleptoparasites, laying their eggs in the hives of other bees, having the host colony raise their young for them! Not such friendly behaviour from a bee that looks a lot like Disney's Stitch!

Larger on 500px


Larger on 500px


Larger on 500px

If you've enjoyed this post, please vote and follow to see more macro and other photography as it is shared!
Comments are also warmly appreciated, let's build this community together!

Thank you!

Sort:  

Hello mweich, we would like to inform you that you have been chosen as a featured author by the @robinhoodwhale initiave. We are currently in alpha testing, if you would like more info join robinhood chat on steemit.chat or pm @repholder.

Lovely photos - Keep on Steeming!

Thank you very much @robinhoodwhale!

I like this!

This will make it a lot easier to find related posts.

I actually made a post about it; no links to related posts on the pages, and this kind of solves that ... I like it!

And it's good for SEO!

Steemit took of like a rocket in Google

and those extra link-backs will make it even better!

Capturing a bee is hard enough. Capturing a bee with this much detail? This is the kind of work that should be prevalent in the #photography section. This is amazing! Wonderful camera work!

Thank you for the wonderful compliment! I'll do my best to make it a bit more prevalent. :)
And to encourage others to contribute as well.

Beautiful shots, love the colors!

Never seen a blue bee! Need a few of those around here!

I'd send them but they're endangered. There are other blue bees about though!

Had no idea that there can be a blue bee!

It seems they come in lots of colours even green! Though you need to go to tropical places to find some of them.

My eyes have been opened! Just like when I found out that pink lemons are real. Well, at least the inside is pink haha

Haha, just googled it, pink lemons are real! Not yellow or pink on the outside though. There sure is some weird fruit out there!

very nice work as usual @mweich - what are your thoughts on these so called 'lensbong' add on lens... some of the results I've seen are showing insane depth of field that I'm not certain I completely believe.

They do seem quite incredible, it's just a lens held onto a phone with a bracket or elastic band! If it works that's great, though I think the major drawback would be the resolution of the file, the sensor in a phone camera is quite small, though getting better all the time.

Yes, I wonder how this Light camera will pan out - I'm nearly tempted. http://www.light.co/camera

Wow, yeah, that's a weird one! Hopefully, it turns out better than the Lytro camera.

These are stunning:)

Thank you very much @thecryptofiend!

Astonishingly beautiful and otherworldly!! Great pics!

The otherworldlyness is what keeps me fascinated with macrophotography, it's a way that we too can experience these tiny tiny worlds populated by fantastic creatures and terrifying monsters!

Splendidly put!

Thanks for using"otherworldly", it inspired that explanation; I think I'll use it as a theme around which to organise a post. :)

I think that would be a big draw! :0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98