Travelog 13 | Korea Series: Dummies trying Winter Sports!☺

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

DSC00089.jpg

We never knew that this sport is difficult to learn!

First time in South Korea and first time trying some winter sports. Hence, our first day in South Korea became the ultimate experience and remembrance for us!

Ski resorts close when the weather gets warmer. But lucky for us, they were still open when we visited that's why we made sure that we visit while they are still open at that time and we get to experience skiing and snowboarding! Our trip was from March 2 to March 10, 2018. It was a very cold first day. Just right for this kind of experience.

To get there, we rode KTX to Jinbu Station, and from there we took a cab to Yongpyong Ski Resort.

DSC00059.jpg

Our very 1st agenda when we traveled to South Korea early this year was to go to Yong Pyong Ski Resort. The Winter Olympics 2018 just ended a week before we went there so the resort isn't too crowded. It's fun watching all the people and families going on their way and enjoying their time.

DSC00072.jpg

DSC00071.jpg

But as we went to rent our gears, we started to be somewhat uneasy. Maybe because I'm not sure what will happen to us or if we injure ourselves since we didn't hire a trainer at all! I rented skiing gear and my husband tried out snowboarding.

We looked like two clueless beings venturing into unknown territory.

DSC00074.jpg

We tried to figure out the basic how-tos by looking at other people, even at kids!
Despite being noobs in this field, our consolation was the scenery that greeted us when we exited the lobby and into the outdoors.

DSC00076.jpg

There were a lot of people getting their grind on already. Our envious eyes following their moves.

Doing something new can be exhilarating! All the while, we thought that skiing and snowboarding were easy because others made them look like a piece of cake. As we rode the lift up to the top of the slope, we didn't think that our problem wouldn't be sliding down the slope BUT stopping is.

DSC00091.jpg

The potential danger didn't even dawn on us until our feet started sliding down on its own!

I just slid down on my skis and it was fast! I felt like I was Sonic the Hedgehog for a second there! However, a little twist here and there of my feet, trying to get a foothold had me toppling over like a madman on the snow. (IT WAS SO SCARYYYY!!!)

Good thing there is no footage of me doing that. It would be excruciating to watch.

My husband was a bit better than me though, he just landed on his butt, not on his face. Kudos to his first try!

Although fun, I had to tumble face first and pick-up my scattered equipment on the ground a few more times to realize that I had somehow drained my energy and sprained my ankle.

DSC00102.jpg

I resorted to paddling down the slope slowly in my ski boots while my husband self-taught himself the techniques to snowboarding. Him falling half the times I did!

DSC00094.jpg

DSC00097.jpg

The latter half of the day was spent on people watching, taking in the place, enjoying the snow and nursing my ankle. ☹

Moral of the Story: Don't be too excited and get an instructor! ¯\▁(◔◡◔)▁/¯


Have you seen our previous travelogs? ?

Travelog 01 | Neofuturistic Masterpiece at Seoul, South Korea

Travelog 02 | Japan Series: Astonishing Arashiyama ?

Travelog 04 | Hong Kong Series: A Beacon of Art in an Urban Setting

Travelog 05 | Japan Series: Distinct and Grounded Way of Life

Travelog 06 | India Series: Majestic Amalgamation of Historical Architecture

Travelog 07 | Korea Series: Picturesque Raw Beauty of Nami Island

Travelog 08 | Hong Kong Series: Controversial Architectural Skyscraperd

Travelog 09 | Japan Series: Fun Owl Night Long!?

Travelog 10 | Taiwan Series: Quaint Antiquity of Shifen?

Travelog 11 | Korea Series: Vibrant Cultural Village in Korea!?

Travelog 12 | Japan Series: Visiting Tokyo's Oldest Temple?


POST BANNER.jpg

Follow me as I whisk my "life brush" through my "Steemit canvass"!

Hit upvote and follow, and I'll be thankful if you support my content!:)
Instagram: @imegankylie
@steemph
#teamsingapore @teamsingapore
#randomasia
#ocd-resteem

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-04T16:45:06
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 175.50/200.00
Total Photos: 27
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you for your contribution to the Photocircle tag!

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15