Color Challenge - A Fantastically Delicious Rose - Sunday's Purple

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This is the best tasting rose that I have ever experienced. It's "Blue Girl", a fragrant rose with soft, thick petals that are like flannel. That fragrance and flavor is from the petals, unlike some flowers where the taste comes from the pollen or the nectar.

xtsu DSC03217-1-1.jpg
Sony DSC-RX-10, 9-73mm f/2.8 @ 17m, 1/125 sec, f/4, ISO 125

As the flowers mature, their color lightens but their fragrance gets stronger. The flowers become so large and crowded with petals that it only takes a few to make something worthwhile in the kitchen.

xtsu blue girl.jpg

In my experience, the most fragrant roses are the ones worth eating. Here's a selection of the roses that I eat from here at Haphazard Homestead. Clockwise, from the upper left, here they are. The mulit-colored pink/red/orange/yellow rose is a Joseph's Coat. The white roses are White Dawn. It's the large climbing rose that the snail is looking at in Big World for a Little Snail. The yellow ones are my old homestead rose of unknown variety. I introduced it in This Rose is Worth Eating, and showed how I made a salad using it and some weeds. Then there's the lavender-purple "Blue Girl". And in the center is a pink miniature rose.

xtsu roses in the kitchen.jpg

I'll show more about how I use these roses. But here's a hint for the rosebuds. I dry them in a dehydrator and store them in a jar.

Do you eat rose petals? Or do you use them to make anything else?

If you want to see how I use rose petals in salad, check out this post from a few days ago: This Rose is Worth Eating. And for another salad with roses, check out the last salad in this post: Salads from Trees, Weeds, Flowers and Seeds


Here are some other Haphazard Homestead flower photos you might enjoy: Eat Flowers! // Pink Flowering Trees // Meditation Rose // The Edible Lawn Daisy // Bearded Iris: The Hall of Valhalla // Tropical Conservatory Tour



** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

Sort:  

Hey i found you here! I'm gonna get to see your delicious salads again.

I've posted quite a few wild salads on here over the past few months. There's always some good weeds worth eating, lol! Here's one to get you started: 16 Weed Salad. I'm glad you're here on Steemit now! : )

Pretty blue girl rose. This is exactly what I needed to see right now to put me in a good mood. First image is beautiful!

Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed that Blue Girl rose. It's a rose worth growing. It puts me in a good mood whenever I can smell it, it's so wonderful!

Wow those flowers look absolutely magnificent, especially blue girl.

I do like to eat my roses, lol. And that Blue Girl is an amazing rose. It has such thick, velvety petals. And it smells and tastes so good.

that's a beautiful colour for a rose - I once had blue roses too ... long time ago
... oh and I didn't foreget the follow - have a wonderful day

I hope you can have a blue rose again. This Blue Girl is worth growing just for the fragrance alone!

These would make a colourful salad, I've never thought about eating the petals, might have to try one if my rose bushes bloom :)

I've never made a salad from only rose petals. That would be pretty, though! I do like putting a few in any salad, because of the nice color they add. Here's to lots of flowers on your rose bushes this summer! :D

Do you use dressing on them ?

Omg this is awesome. Love your name. Haphazard is how I feel when I'm gardening, but I love to do it!!!

You could make a rose healing essence too. A different one from all the different colours and species of roses. I used to make such remedies from wildflowers here in Oz. With making an essence, the flower used doesn't have to be picked either. 🌹

I never thought about adding rose petals to a salad, we have lovely fragrant roses here which are spray free and organic. I will suggest it to my husband next season as we are just about to do the winter prune here now.

Lovely roses! I like them all! Very interesting information!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63605.39
ETH 3470.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52