ColorChallenge - This Rose is Worth Eating! - Wednesday's Yellow - 5 photos and a bonus wild salad!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Now here's a rose that I like to eat! I don't know the variety - it's been on this homestead for at least 35 years. It blooms vigorously in several spurts throughout the summer, so I get to enjoy its petals in a lot of meals.

xtsu DSC00292-1 small.jpg

Camera: Sony DSC-RX-10 // Lens: 9-73mm f/2.8 @ 55mm // Shutter Speed: 1/800 sec // Aperture: f/6.0 // ISO: 125

From the mottled leaves with some black spots here and there, you can tell that I don't spray it with fungicides. But I don't think these leaves make the rose any less pretty. And the rose plant doesn't seem to mind. It would be nice if more roses were allowed to be less than perfect, because then more folks could appreciate eating them.

xtsu DSC00289 small.jpg

An older post, Eat Flowers, shows a salad I made with petals from this rose. And here's another good meal using its petals, too - this mix of flowers and greens was great as a base for some vegetarian pot-stickers!

dim sum 1 WEB.jpg

Upper panel, clockwise from the top left: field pea shoots, garden mustard flowers, dandelion greens, petals from the yellow rose and a Joseph's Coat rose, black locust flowers, and Bristly Hawksbeard.

Do you eat rose petals? Would you rather have perfect roses or perfectly edible roses?
If you want to see how I use rose petals in another salad, check out the last salad in this post: Salads from Trees, Weeds, Flowers and Seeds


Plant list:

  1. Field Pea – Pisum sativum - young shoots
  2. Curly mustard - Brassica juncea - yellow flowers
  3. Dandelion – Taraxacum officinale – leaves
  4. Roses - Rosa spp. - Unknown yellow rose and Joseph's Coat - flower petals
  5. Black Locust - Robinia pseudoacacia - flowers
  6. Bristly Hawksbeard - Crepis setosa - leaves

Here are some other Haphazard Homestead flower photos you might enjoy: Eat Flowers! // Pink Flowering Trees // Meditation Rose // The Edible Lawn Daisy // Bearded Iris: The Hall of Valhalla // Tropical Conservatory Tour



** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

Sort:  

Hey... I love flowers I just cannot bring myself to eat them. I know that sounds stupid but I just can't. LOL I am resteeming.. and thank you for all your support .. I will get a garden photo in here sooner or later.. did a coffee one today. :)

Thanks for resteeming my yellow rose -- even though you won't be eating any rose petals, lol! I wonder if you like broccoli -- they are just unopened flower buds. But I get what you mean -- some flowers seem so big and they can have a lot of 'heft' all by themselves. Some seem too pretty to eat. And the bees and other pollinators really rely on some of the others. At least you enjoy looking at the flowers -- and you stop and resteem the roses, even though you can't stop and smell them!

Well I know they are good to eat. I ate some before lol. I would rather look at them. I can look at your rose.
@haphazard-hstead I remember you asking about broccoli. I love broccoli. The best I have ever tasted we grew in our backyard garden in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains. Organic and fresh.. I still remember the moment. I had no idea it was a flower. Guess I do eat flowers.
Have you ever tried fried squash blossoms? They say they are delicious.

You are a better friend to all the flowers, haha! They don't have anything to fear from you! ; )

Yes, squash blossoms are really good! I'm glad you like some flowers -- like those broccoli buds! :D

LOL I know ... "technically they are flower buds" I have never seen one after the buds open.

Beautiful rose! I really like this yellow color, very lovely! And the salad looks yummy!

Thanks, @tangmo! I'm glad this rose has a lot of flowers, so I can use it a lot. And that was a tasty salad! :D

You're welcome! Very nice gardening, good for seeing and eating! ;)

That's the best kind of gardening, I think -- pretty and pretty tasty! :D

You're right! I absolutely agree with you! ;D

Good to see you back to posting. Beautiful flowers lately!

Thanks! Congratulations on your newborn son, too! It's impressive how you post so much, so well, while there is so much going on in your life.

I've kind of gotten used to making at least a couple posts per day while still taking care of the rest of life... I guess have had almost a year of practice now!

Thanks!

I don't know how you handle all the comments, especially. That takes so much extra effort. It's why I had to take a break and I only have ~5900 comments, lol.

Buttery yellow! I would put some petals in my salad to try them.

Their flavor isn't strong, but they do add something to a salad. I put them on sandwiches, too. A little side benefit of not spraying my roses, lol.

That's a beautiful rose, nice color and clarity in the details. And a salad to go along with it. I'll have to try eating these flowers...they do look good in the salad. Thanks for both art and information. A full post...

Thanks, @ddschteinn! These are such pretty roses. The flowers don't last long, though. They are so done within a couple days. So I may as well eat them, lol. That was a good salad -- a great mix of greens and flowers.

I've never eaten rose petals, but I should try it. We have roses in front of our house. I did, however, try some dandelion greens the other day. I thought they were very distasteful and bitter.

The rose petals won't be as bitter as your dandelions, but every variety does taste different. Some I think are not tasty and some are really worthwhile. I wonder what your dandelions were like when they were growing. There is such a difference in what makes a good-eating dandelion for the greens, and what will be just terrible. And there is a trick for processing some of the big dandelion leaves that make them good, even raw. Maybe I should make some posts about dandelions. They can be such a good food! I eat a lot of wild dandelions, lol.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 01. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $15.95 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 01 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Wow, where did you take that pic, @haphazard-hstead?

It's a rose bush that's in my yard, next to an old outbuilding that houses my irrigation well and holds all my home-canned garden produce. It's an old-time rose. The flowers only last a couple days. The flower opens to a full, floppy flower, then the petals fall to the ground. So I don't feel too bad about eating the petals from such a pretty flower, lol.

Hahahah I understand it now :D
By the way, I'm following you now! Your profile looks worth reading and informative, @haphazard-hstead.
You are more than welcomed to check out mine as well ;)

I have other roses that are good to eat, too. And thanks for following. It looks like you have an interesting approach to managing your Steemit rewards. I'd like to read about that perspective. It's different from folks trying to build up their SteemPower. You must be good at trading!

Maybe..... :D

Really cool information love the rose

Thanks! It's a pretty rose. Those flowers get big and floppy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61038.71
ETH 3404.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50