"Sushi-ritos" aka Sushi burritos - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography5 years ago

Lunchbox Upgrade - Brown Rice Sushi Burritos (5).jpg

Hello loves, I hope your off to a wonderful start today!

Lunchbox Upgrade - Brown Rice Sushi Burritos (2).jpg

Does it ever seem like all the foodies posting delicious pictures out there are just trying to make us jealous of their perfect lunch? I mean, do you think that when you share something? I used to be afraid of coming off this way when I first started blogging and then I realized how much I enjoyed getting to share with you how delicious my latest recipe could be just so you could try it too!

So yeah, maybe a tiny part of the intention behind each of our food shares is us subconsciously saying “Haha, they wish they were eating this!” but it’s probably more likely that they just wanted to share the love. To me that’s what food is pretty much, love! I love food and I love to share it.

Lunchbox Upgrade - Brown Rice Sushi Burritos (3).jpg

This recipe is probably easier than you think. I used to think suchi making was some complicated process that only the master Japanese ninjas that I’d picture in my head could make. While in reality it’s very simple and not all that different from rolling up a burrito. Hey, that’s what we’re doing!

It’s also true that these so called burritos are just unsliced sushi rolls, but I think there is something a little bit fun and rebellious in eating it burrito style. You also don’t have to have a Sushi Mat to make it. It probably does make easier but I’ve done it many times without (I left my sushi mat in South America. [<- That should go on a T-shirt??])

Lunchbox Upgrade - Brown Rice Sushi Burritos (4).jpg

Alright, so about the specifics of making this, I have a few things to note. Firstly, you can make it however you want! I just went the the fridge and grabbed and pulled out some veggies. As for the add-ons, I wanted to try something new so I tried using some of the not-really-chicken plant-based “meat”. To be completely honest, I think I’d skip it next time as it kind of grossed me out. You can easily replace it with tofu or tempeh, which is probably what I’d prefer, or even just skip it.

What will you put on yours?

Lunchbox Upgrade - Brown Rice Sushi Burritos (6).jpg

Sushi burritos

Take your lunch to the next level with these surprisingly simple Sushi "burritos". Essentially they're just unsliced sushi rolls but you can fill them with what ever you want and customize them to fit your style!

Prep Time 25 minutes
Cook Time 1 hour
Total Time 1 hour 25 minutes
Servings 4 servings

Ingredients


Rice:
1 cup uncooked brown rice or about 2 cups already steamed rice
1/2 teaspoon Himalayan pink sea salt

2 tablespoons sushi seasoning *see note
OR
1 teaspoon sugar
1 teaspoon rice vinegar
Filling:
8 ounces cooked meat for vegan you can replace with tofu or tempeh **see note
1 large carrot julienned
1 red bell pepper seeded and thinly sliced
1 medium zucchini julienned ***see notes
1 medium ripe avocado, pitted and sliced
Sushi:
8 sheets roasted nori sushi seaweed
black sesame seeds
soy sauce for serving
Optional:
1 servings plant-based "chik'n or 1 14oz package firm tofu or tempeh

Instructions


Rice:
Cook the rice according to package instructions until al dente. (If using cooked rice you may skip this step.) Add about 1 cup of water and the salt to the already cooked rice and place over low heat, covered. Stir every few minutes until the water is absorbed and the rice is a bit sticky. Remove from heat and stir in the sushi seasoning (if using) and allow it to cool completely before making sushi burritos.(Cold rice is the best to work with.)
Filling:
Cut all of your choices for filling into thin strips to make forming the sushi as easy as possible.

Spread a Sushi Mat out on your counter or work surface (You can also use a towel or a place mat.) Take 2 sheets of nori and lay them so they overlap for about 2 inches. Wet your hands and spread about 1/2 cup of the rice onto the top sheet of nori. Sprinkle with sesame seeds as desired and layer your veggies and "meat" or tofu to form a line from side to side.

Now slowly start rolling up the end with the rice and applying pressure as you roll. Continue until completely rolled. Wrap the roll in plastic wrap or parchment paper and allow it to set for about 10 minutes.
Serve with soy sauce and any of your favorite sushi condiments.

Recipe Notes


*The sushi seasoning is a great addition if you'd like a completely traditional sushi flavor but it's not necessary. (I usually skip it actually) Same for the sugar, and and vinegar.

**I used bell peppers, zucchini, and carrots but there are many different veggies that you could use to replace them, like cucumbers or microgreens.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Spiced Pumpkin Latte Baked Oatmeal
  2. Peppermint Chocolate Muddy Buddies Snacks
  3. Cocoa Spiced Pumpkin Latte
  4. Layered Mexican Taco Bowls + “Bacon” Bits

Also, I've been starting to vlog in case you missed it.
  1. Travelicious: Disneyland at Halloween Time 2018 + 77,000 Steem Power reached
  2. Silverwood Theme Park Rollercoaster On Rides POV (Front Seat)
  3. Montana Travels Glacier National Park
  4. Vlog #4 Grocery Shopping with Gringalicious at Trader Joe's
  5. Hiking to Snow Creek Falls + I Hit 17k Followers!
  6. Vlog #3: Looking for a New Gym + Meet My Baby

Steemit Fall Collage.jpg

Lunchbox Upgrade - Brown Rice Sushi Burritos.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

I guess that's better than calling them su-shit-os. Just joking!

Haha, that's so hilarious. Maybe I should have gone with that name just for the laughs. :P

Sushi burritos WOW the complete package of awesomeness rolled nicely :D

I'm so glad you like it. Thanks!

Very good job dear friend.

So sweet of you, thanks!

Graciarigato for posting this!! I love sushi and this seems to be an innovative and cool way to make them! :D

Thank you so mush, my friend!

Looks so delicious and you always make the most beautiful photography of these delicious dishes.
Your photos should be on the magazine covers

Oh, that is just the sweetest!


Hmmmm.... this looks very good 😊 it is small ... but can make me happy when I try it .😋👌


Haha, well just make 2 or 3!


I think I must make 10 or 15 :)))


UUh this is a cool, funny idea! :p I love both sushi and burritos and this can be a very cool mix!

Delicious gringalicious 😊

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83