Philly Cheesesteak Sandwiches - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

It’s about time for a savory recipe, don’t you think?

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwiches (2).jpg

Even with it being healthy January time I still always find myself also wanting to plan recipes like this because of it being Superbowl time. Are there any American football fans with me? You know, it’s funny too because you wouldn’t think I’d be all that into it since pretty much only my dad likes football in my house. My brothers and brothers-in-law are only slight fans and that definitely don’t keep up with it.

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwiches (3).jpg

Plus, you guys know how much I’m not a fan. However I can’t deny the fact that I actually enjoyed last year’s Superbowl when I watched it with the guys. Like I said, I’m not a fan and it was the first and probably the last time I’ll ever watch it, but if you’re a football fan you’ll know that it was an exciting game. Sorry for all this football talk, I’m just explaining the inspiration behind this sandwich in the middle of January.

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwiches (4).jpg

Anyway, how are you guys all doing back in your routines after the holidays? I’m personally always sad this time of year because, as you all know, Christmas is my favorite time of the year. We all got sick right after Christmas so we just (finally) took down our decorations this past weekend and the house looks a little empty. Clean, but empty. I know it was super late but no one felt well enough to mess with the clean up until now. It’s nice to enjoy the season and then patiently await next year, but I do sort of miss the theme and all the Christmas movie marathons. I’ve been filling in the gap by binge watching Stranger Things in an effort to catch up with my fam. I sort of fell behind ages ago. Have you kept up?

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwiches (5).jpg

Okay, okay, but the recipe. This is an easy one you guys and a good one. I know it’s a pretty basic classic sandwich but, I don’t know, there’s just something so much better about it when you’ve made it at home.

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwiches (6).jpg

Honestly it’s not hard either, all you have to do is pan fry the peppers and onions, cook the meat, and toast up those buns and then it’s game on and you’re ready for a Netflix binge watching session or a tailgating party with the guys.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!


Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

For more great food ideas, please do not forget to look at my other recent food posts
  1. Triple Citrus Jelly Filled Poppyseed Muffins
  2. Chocolate + Fruity Marshmallow Cookie Pizza (aka PIZOOKIE)
  3. Crunchy Twisted Pretzel Sticks & Honey Mustard Dip
  4. Tuxedo Cheesecake Bars
  5. Rosewater Cream Pistachio Crepe Cake
  6. Raspberry Lemon Cream Shortbread Cookie Trifles
  7. Sourdough Caprese BLAT Sandwiches
  8. Oatmeal Pomegranate Banana Bread
  9. Crepes w/ Honey Cream + Blackberry Syrup
  10. Chocolate Coconut & Pistachio Brownies

Oh, and don't forget to follow me on all your favorite social media channels!

Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Instagram

Recipe available upon request to the first Steemian friend who says today's words : "Superbowl Food!"

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwiches.jpg

Sort:  

This looks delicious....thank you for the recipe @gringalicious

thanks so much

AJ picked your post @gringalicious for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Can I have the recipe "Superbowl Food!

@hotrod, you're getting so fast at this. Here you go and I hope your mom makes these for you guys!

Ingredients

1.5 pounds flank steaks ( I prefer boneless)
2 green bell peppers, seeded and thinly sliced
1/2 medium onion, diced
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/4 teaspoon ground mustard
1 1/2 tablespoon worchestershire sauce
salt and pepper to taste
4 hoagie sandwich buns
8 small slices provolone cheese
Instructions

Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the green peppers and onion, and season with salt and pepper to taste. Saute until vegetables are tender, then scoop them to the side a bit and add the steak strips. Cook on low for 3 to 5 minutes until completely browned and cooked. Remove pan from heat.
Cut the steaks into thinner strips, removing any bones or gristle, then return to pan. Return pan to heat and add the ground mustard and worchestershire sauce and stir to warm everything.
Preheat oven to broil (a toaster oven works well here) and lay out the buns face up on a baking tray. Top each bun with a slice of cheese then place in the oven to toast for 1 to 2 minutes until melted and toasty.
Remove tray from oven and divide the steak and pepper mixture among the 4 buns. Season with additional salt and pepper if desired and serve hot.

Omg... so delicious... fantastoc shots...

Gorgeous, simply gorgeous. I want to eat my screen

Haha, well that's something I'd love to watch. Thanks @mamaloves.

wow, big time yummylicious!!

Oh, you're just too sweet @fullofhope! I'm so happy you liked this one!

@gringalicious...you make great food all the time, but as one who knows philly cheesesteaks. You might wanna call them something else especially to a philadelphian.

ah, you're telling me my sandwich doesn't meet your standards, good to know

Still looks like a good sandwich, just cannot carry the name "philly cheesesteak"

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Delegate/donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Wonderful food pics @gringalicious ... I am truly inspired and motivated by your posts and started food photography on my blog...

Thanks so much @hms818, I really appreciate your support

When we hear someone in Philly say Philly cheesesteak, we know you're a tourist.

Yeah it's rough to get a good one outside the city

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25