Meatless Tri-Color Quinoa Chili (V+GF) - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

DSC_5192.jpg

It’s been a long time since I’ve made chili and I’m not sure what possessed me to make it on one of the hottest days of the year. Has it been hot where you live? I typically don’t have reason to complain about the temperature because it stays pretty mild but this past week has just felt so hot to me.

So yeah, it’s random that I decided to make chili right now when it’s so clearly not the weather for it. But I made it anyway and that’s the point here because it turned out really good.

DSC_5186.jpg

To me, chili is one of those meals that are like “go big or go home”, ya know? The best chili needs time to simmer and develop flavors if it’s going to be amazing. That’s why if you’re going to make it you might as well do a whole batch (especially if you’re insane like me and are making this when it’s freakin hot outside).

For the quinoa in this I used the tri-color blend that I got at my local market but if you can’t find it there then feel free to use just basic quinoa. Also, if you’re in the mood to make this with rice instead, go for it. I like the quinoa because it blends into the chili really well and helps thicken it without being too noticeable. Plus it’s got lots of protein to add to this meal.

DSC_5197.jpg

As for serving this, I had cooked an entire bag of this quinoa and I thought I’d do it up right and serve it along side of the chili. If you prefer something like cornbread, chips, or even fries then that’s great too. You do you boo. (I feel like that’s been my motto lately.) To be honest, I also just loved the presentation of serving it over quinoa.

DSC_5213.jpg

I hope you get the chance to try this. Oh, and if you’re more level headed than I am and realize this isn’t the most Summer-heat-friendly recipe, save it for later. I can’t wait to be cooking up cozy meals like this in the Fall. Anyone else excited about that too????

DSC_5202.jpg

Meatless Tri-Color Quinoa Chili (V+GF)


Prep Time: 20 minutes
Cook Time: 1 hour
Total Time: 1 hour, 20 minutes
Yield: 8 - 12 servings

Ingredients

1 medium onion, diced
2 large tomatoes, diced
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 jalapeño pepper, seeded and minced
1 (5 ounce) can tomato paste
1 tablespoon cider vinegar
1 quart vegetable stock or water, plus a little more as needed
2 teaspoons liquid smoke
2 tablespoons coconut sugar
1 (4 ounce) can green chilies
1/4 cup organic ketchup
2 (15 ounce) cans, chili beans
2 (15 ounce) cans, kidney bean, rinsed and drained
2 cups cooked quinoa
2 tablespoons mustard
1 teaspoon black pepper, plus more to taste
1 tablespoon chili powder
2 teaspoons cumin
1 teaspoon basil
1 teaspoon oregano
1 1/2 tablespoons cocoa powder
sea salt to taste

Instructions

In a large high-sided skillet or shallow pot and add the onion, tomatoes, garlic, jalapeño, and cook for 6 to 7 minutes. Add the remaining chili ingredients and bring the mixture to a boil while stirring gently. Boil for about 8 to 10 minutes then reduce heat to simmer.
Cover with lid and allow it to simmer for 30 minutes to 1 hour until to give the flavors time to meld well. Serve hot, topped with desired toppings and any sides you like such and cornbread or garlic toast.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Carrot Cake Baked Oats
  2. Vegan Almond Pudding Jars
  3. Fudgy Sweet Potato Nutella Brownies
  4. 25-Minute Thai Peanut Soba Noodle Salad
  5. Energizing Ginger Berry Maca Smoothie

Also, I've been starting to vlog in case you missed it.
  1. Vlog #4 Grocery Shopping with Gringalicious at Trader Joe's
  2. Hiking to Snow Creek Falls + I Hit 17k Followers!
  3. Vlog #3: Looking for a New Gym + Meet My Baby
  4. Vlog #2 Rock Climbing With @hotrod, @fullofhope, and @whiteknight20 + What I ate Today

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

DSC_5233.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

This recipe is different and new for me. I will try if I got time at home.

Hmmm yummy

ok i have to say like a chef you make me write the récipe, that i call nice job, i like grains but chile its something else, the photo was great i hope it taste as it looks :O

@gringalicious Here on the other hand it is getting very cold, we spend inside our house. In my country this dish is not very popular, we are not of this type of food.
Excellent recipe thank you very much for posting

mmm yummy! That looks incredible. And of course you have to have cornbread with chili. :) Looking great as always my friend!

It really look eatables but we dont have the ingredients here in Nigeria... Will you cook it for me if i visit you?

AJ picked your post @gringalicious for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.


You can also join The-Kitchen Discord Server for more food experience.

sieht wie immer sehr lecker aus.
schöner Beitrag
grüße aus Deutschland

Grin grin... Where's your restaurant cuz i can't stare anymore.... I'm in love.
💞💞💞

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29