My Creative Journey 43

in #painting6 years ago

Unique...yeah, I would have to describe yesterday like that. It was Memorial Day, no plans, so I decided to hit the 'fuck it.' button and try something I haven't done for a while, just be creative. Try new things. Look, imagine, play a bit. After all these months I'm beginning to develop some confidence, almost like a bit of solid ground that I can touch with my tiptoes while trying to stay afloat in the oceanic concept called art.

Would you put any of them in a gallery? No.
Would you put them on a wall? Maybe.
Am I happy with them?
Yes.

Let's take a look at what went down.

20180528_200156.jpg

Color...I wanted to mess with color.

How they went together, I wasn't quite sure, but I just went with the flow. At the time I was chatting with someone on Instagram using the Live feature. I gotta say, there are a lot of interesting people out there with some amazing stories. And, the crazy thing, they're so easy to meet online. Yes, there's a lot of shit you have to wade through, but when you meet someone and have a genuine like-minded conversation...awesome.

20180528_194954.jpg

At some point I went out and grabbed some coffee.

Not exactly sure when, I was in a bit of a zone, and enjoying myself greatly. Gotta love my friends at the shop, hehe.

20180529_103006.jpg

Blind...because skulls cannot see. Or, maybe not seeing leads to death? Huh...

20180529_103027.jpg

And there's always going to be a bit of stupid :)

...but then I decided to move to something both familiar and different. Returning to where I started with things I draw...warriors and geisha.

20180529_153550.jpg

I started simple.

Just a single color. Trying to feel out how color could come to the aid and strengthen my ink drawings. I had a blast playing with the background, trying to make it feel like there were blossoms drifting around her on the wind...baby steps forward :)

20180529_153559.jpg

But I jumped into the deep end pretty quickly.

What color would the skin be? The clothes? The background? Thinking in terms of 'coloring' vs painting. I think like illustrating. I'm not quite sure. The vocabulary in this creative field is way different than my last one. Also, what would stand out?

20180529_153538.jpg

Warmth and chill.

Where would the colors be warm? Cold? How should I place them? Could I use just splashes to infer more? What color blue would work? So many questions that I played with as I put this one together. Like the shy dainty steps of someone just beginning to learn how to dance, hehe. WTF is this? Well, I'll leave you to decide. On the technical end of the basic drawing...yeah, a long way to go. But, I ain't worried. Every day, bit by bit, step by step. As long as I keep trying to move forward.

...and what happened today, I'm definitely looking forward to talking about it.


Thanks for stopping by! My creative journey keeps jumping and jiving all over the place in my attempts to figure things out and I appreciate the patience. Hope y'all have a great evening! No rest for the wicked by me and all that.

As always, all of these paintings/inks/etc are for sale if you're interested.

Wessel



Previous posts:
My Creative Journey 42
My Creative Journey 41
My Creative Journey 40
My Creative Journey 39
My Creative Journey 38
My Creative Journey 36 + 37 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 16
My Creative Journey 35 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 15
My Creative Journey 33 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 14
My Creative Journey 32 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 13
My Creative Journey 31 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 7
My Creative Journey 30 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 12
My Creative Journey 29 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 06
My Creative Journey 28
My Creative Journey 27
My Creative Journey 26 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 11
My Creative Journey 25 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 05
My Creative Journey 24 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 04
My Creative Journey 23 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 010
My Creative Journey 22
My Creative Journey 21 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 09

See available original drawings and paintings for sale

DONATE :)





Sort:  

keep your journey going

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54506.20
ETH 2881.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03