OPEN MIC WEEK 68 - Sound Legion Top 5 Judges Picks

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Each week it as the entries pour in, it gets harder and harder to judge these entries.   The talent for me this week was just superb as ever.   All performances are judged on a scale of 1-10.   I take many things into consideration, from instrumental performance, vocal performance, over all delivery, original song, lyrics, video presentation, blow me away factor.   I will be including in my top picks list everyone who scored an 8 or higher this week.  There were so many entries again this week I had to crack down a little more and was judging into the decimal points.   

Top Picks List

* all entries scoring over 8

@aricheta @stanhopeofficial @rial17 @itsallasong @yonderarrietajr2 @stevenwalkerrr @orrslaw @art-mess @raci @lloyddavis @jaybird @drewley @chaifm @tarotbyfergus @outoftune @digitalopus @piterman @byrongrant @lauralvarado @edward-ong @smith-house @ovweedb @musiccircle @jamesgetsit @sazzler @teukurobbyinor @wilins @quanahjayhicks @mightyjoenolan @kjablonski @kendramoriah @klynic @chrisgoans @luisferchav @beeflomein @nestorchacin @innerdialogue @chimtivers96 @onetruebrother @dandelion @basilmarples @melavie @etemi @claratymusic @julianroso @pechichemena @pandamama @mogatiexperiment @martinsandersuk @fax4u @melbookermusic @scribblingwilly @justinzidi @melodeons @denis.savisko @vera.carla @kayclarity @iambros @jesuszoliz


Honorable Mentions

 Bella Rewind (original song) --- by @quanahjayhicks 

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

 Original, "Faraway Sound" --- by @mightyjoenolan 

"I really like that guitar.   This song has some fantastic lyrics and I really loved your all over sound, just felt so right and complete, nothing more needed just perfection"

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

 Original Song "Confession" --- by @kjablonski 

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

 : Want You (Original Song) --- by @kendramoriah 

"One of my favorite bands a while back was "Sixpence non the Richer" and your voice in this reminds me of the talented  Leigh Bingham Nash,  she has one of my favorite voices ever.   You are just topped off to the stars with that voice and the writing skills.   Great tune"

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

 DAN SHAW - Super Right (Original song by Eden Michelle) --- by @pandamama 

"I really hated not putting this in my top 5 guys.   We generally don't put previous weeks winners in our top 5's, but I want it to be out there that I would have had this in the top 3.   I am a fan of @edenmichelle (one of our winners from last week)  and the new vocalist rocks!  you guys sound absolutely awesome together, the lows in your voices blend to bliss, I loved the lyrics and found this incredibly inspiring.  Fan right here!!" 

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

 Stay with me_ Sam smith --- by @justinzidi 

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

 https://steemit.com/openmic/@kayclarity/open-mic-week-68-original-song-sometimes-by-kay-clarity 

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Top 5 Picks

#5

 : Wild World - Mr. Big (Cover) --- by @rial17 

"Smashing cover guys, you really knocked the vocal out in a cool way,  I love how into the song you are, it makes you believe those lyrics again and makes it fresh sounding when you feel that soul coming out.  The playing was great I was really diggin it.  Great work"

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

#4.5

 ORIGINAL SONG: "My Dream" --- by @julianroso 

"Very beautiful guitar playing and a very strong voice.  I really felt the lyrics coming through and the feeling behind them.   There is a clarity to the performance that just sits so well with me.  This is a great live performance. "

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

#4

 Original song - Make believe --- by @luisferchav 

"Incredible song building my friend this was rocking and then you start singing in the guitar, just awesome! You have a strong vocal in all your performances, this one is right up there, and great lyrical work.  You write a song and it lingers on the skin awhile. "

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

#3

 Ojos Azules (Huayno) - Mogati + BONUS VIDEO --- by @mogatiexperiment 

"One of my favorite entrants consistent here on openmic.   This band is just over the top talented, the instruments in these original pieces sound wonderfully played, the percussion is rocking this week right in the zone with that vocalist whom I absolutely adore. I love the film quality in your videos, the color poppin is something I really appreciate, sets a good feel and you guys are professional all the way.  Top original pieces like this are a huge honor to be showcases on openmic, and for me to get to praise." 

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

#2

 Steemit  - : Novocain (Original Song) --- by @stanhopeofficial 

"I could listen to this song all day and likely will come back to it many times, I absolutely need to get you to enter this one on the next steemit artist music compilation.   I am a fan fan fan !  This was a great original piece the lyrics are friggin awesome and I love the way you draw out the "novocain" in the vocal, mmm!   the playing in there is just fantastic on the chorus part as well, creative and all out hitting me in my super fan spot." 

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

#1

 : Original Song "Equals" --- by @orrslaw 

" I cant even begin to praise this entry enough.   This brought the fan in me right up and out.  First off I love the video, the dog going up the stairs, the way the stairs are lite in that room with the clocks and broom stick, the sound is coming in this week just perfect for them high electric strings,  I was really feeling the levels in my ear on this performance,  and your vocal is pure AWESOME, rocking roll my friend!! the lyrics are incredible and how you sing them,  "and now a vacancy resides" , will be playing back this one quit a bit.  You always catch my attention @orrslaw and this week you stole me my friend" 

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Check out all the entries for OpenMic Week 68

Post 1

Post 2

Post 3

Also check out Top 5 Picks from open mic judges @verbal-d @krystle @passion-ground and final winners announced by head open mic man in charge @luzcypher.   Be sure to follow the rules of open mic so that your entry will qualify.   Winners announced every monday.   



Thanks guys for listening and checking out this weeks talent for Steemit Famous OpenMic.  

Did you know there are 3 Volumes of the Steemit Artist Music Compilation and Volume 4 is about to taking submissions.   Coming in February!  

https://steemit.com/steemit/@soundlegion/did-you-know-there-are-3-volumes-of-the-steemit-artist-music-compilation-featuring-multi-genre-music-available-for-download-from

Check out the latest entries for the Songwriters Competition.  Stay Tuned for the Final Winners Announcement sponsored by @meno 

https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/see-who-played-open-mic-songwriters-challenge-week-8-till-we-meet-again

Make sure to Vote for Witness @pfunk who is our main openmic sponsor

Shavon Bonnie Legion

*California Singer Songwriter, Multi Genre Collaborative Music Aritist. 

www.soundlegionrecords.com

Sort:  

The top 3 picks are the best. Great job.

Thank you @soundlegion for choosing my entry in your the top 5. Honestly, I'm very happy and excited. And I can't wait for the next challenge :)

Thank you so much for the kind words @soundlegion! SO good to be back!

You have a solid solid list my friend!
I always enjoy your picks and the love you show our fellow artists. You continually show why you are an elite level judge!
Keep up the wonderful reviews. We all know how much hard work it is and you are resilient and consistently passionate in all that you do. It is a beautiful characteristic to possess. Let's keep this thing moving forward

Thank you @soundlegion for these compilations of music videos. Some good stuff here for the Steemit community to enjoy and offer credit to the musicians as well. A WIN - WIN!

heya thanks for including me here @soundlegion :-) I'm honored! Have a great Sunday

Thanks for the love @soundlkegion ❤ I'm also adding my discography to @dsound so please find me there as well https://dsound.audio/#/@mightyjoenolan

thats great to hear my friend dsound has been taken things to new levels here on steemit. I use it all the time. I really enjoyed your musicianship this week a lot of skills I can see right away, that guitar you used is just so friggin cool looking and i really enjoyed your piece

Thank you so much @soundlegion !!! I also love Sixpense :) What a fantastic band.

Oh yeah, these musical performances are certainly talented and original, each of them expressed himself perfectly! Thank you @soundlegion

All certainly deserve attention, but @julianroso is great, what a beautiful voice. I'm delighted. Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59385.33
ETH 2590.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48