OPEN MIC WEEK 68: Original Song "Sometimes" by Kay Clarity

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

I wrote this song a loooong time ago when I was just a baby songwriter, and although I posted a quick version of it when I was first on here, I've never contributed it to the Open Mic, so here is one just for that.

I wrote it on the edge of a stage in a big, empty auditorium at the school I was attending late at night. I had been fumbling around on this finger picking for a few days prior, and finally the song just came and fit.

It's still one of my most requested, and currently the only "old" song of mine that is still in the set list rotation - I often end it as a lullaby send-off for my audience.

I hope you enjoy it - it's just about the value of human presence as the most needed form of love when it's tough.

I'm getting in at the last minute here, I know! But it's still Friday :)

Lyrics below.

Sometimes by Kay Clarity

Sometimes if I fall would you come and pick me up?
Sometimes if I break, would you fight my war for a while?
Sometimes if I can't, would you be the part that can?
And sometimes if I can't sleep
Would you watch the night with me?

Sometimes if I cry, would you hold me for a while?
Sometimes if I faint, would you stay behind with me?
Sometimes if's I'm weary, would you help me get some rest?
And sometimes if I can't sleep
Would you watch the night with me?

Sometimes if my heart's grown cold, would you warm it with your hands?
Sometimes if it's getting dark, would you tell me all my dreams?
Sometimes if God's silent, would you tell me he's still there?
And sometimes if I can't sleep
Would you watch the night with me?

We could watch the stars..

(Copyright 2010)

xx,
Kay
.
.
.
.
.
P.S. I also posted a new cover last night that you may be interested in listening to. I'd love to share it with you.

Thanks for following @kayclarity and resteeming if you enjoy posts about beauty, art, culture, life, Steemit, and, of course, my original music and poems. xx

Sort:  

Nice yeah, I like your feel

Oh, Kay - you're killing me with this song, girl... I am so loving this - it's not even funny... Love you and this entry so much, Kay!

You brought me such a big smile with this comment! Soooo glad you like it <3

Wow - you have an incredible voice! Great song! Great job! Thank you for sharing with us.

Thank you for listening and commenting! I appreciate it! xx, Kay

que bieeen!! buen rendimiento en este post te felicito!! porfa ayudame con un voto en mi video https://steemit.com/openmic/@palmimusic/steemit-open-mic-week-68-original-song-piano-time

Will try to soon! Thanks for listening! :)

One of my fav songs!!! <3

i can hear the peace,the passion,the love,the sad from the song.

So good to hear. Thanks for listening! xx

I recognize this tune. More power to ya!

Awesome to both. That's the best thing I could hear :)

I love your song. So sorry I missed it in this week's contest. Please, with so many entries we really need to get entries in by the cutoff date of Friday, 12 UTC time like it says in the rules. I really don't want to miss your entries.

Thanks! I'm so glad you enjoyed.

I did actually double check the rules as it was a busy week, and in the posts it only says Friday, not the time! For future entrants it would be good to make that a bit clearer - I definitely would have made sure to get it in a little sooner otherwise! But for sure I'll be more careful now. Mine is in nice and early this week :).

https://steemit.com/openmic/@kayclarity/open-mic-week-69-rolling-in-the-deep-acoustic-adele-cover

Holy wow. I don't even know how to vibrato and here you are over here owning it. Great job.

:). Big smile! Thank you. xx, Kay

You're welcome :)

Another truly wonderful vocal performance. Thank heaven for steemit for enabling us access to your talent.

Thank you! I am very grateful for Steemit as well as a chance to share and here/see the work of other extremely talented people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61409.80
ETH 3378.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51