OFFICIAL: Open-Mic Songwriters Challenge @passion-ground's Top-5 Entries for Week 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Song-Writers Top-5 Image.png


Summary

I must say that I am rather impressed with the talented field of entrants here in week-1 of the Songwriters Challenge. Huge respect for everyone who had the skill-set needed to undertake this formidable challenge.

There were around 30 entrants in total, which really surprised me. I really didn’t think that there was that much skilled talent out there that could actually rise to the occasion.

I tip my hat humbly to each and every one of this week’s entrants who did just that - and more!

Song Writers Challenge: Week-1 (Broken Mirror)


Libra-Man SCALES.jpg

My Process


Aside from a few key category modifications with regard to scoring and awarding points to the entrants of the Songwriters Challenge, I am basically using very similar methods to arrive at my picks and honorable mentions as I do in the general Open-Mic contest.

To get a more in depth perspective as to how I personally go about selecting my artists, please refer to What I go through as an Open-Mic Judge.

My Top-5 Picks in Order


FIRST PLACE: @g10a - “Scars”


Firstly, if I’m not mistaken, English is by no means @g10a’s primary language – yet he wrote the lyrics for and sang this rather impressive song in a language somewhat foreign to him! The instrument he’s playing is not his own, and this borrowed instrument he’s using doesn’t have the greatest “sound” to it. I suspect that the prospect of winning a nice guitar he can call his own is something that’s very much motivating @g10a. Despite such motivations and desires, one has to deliver the goods regardless of how much one may want or deserve something, and by golly, Sir @g10a came out of the gate in week-1 swinging for the fences! His incredible voice and the creative thematic melodies he’s created here with “Scars” is a force to be reckoned with.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@g10a/openmic-songwriters-challenge-week-1-scars-or-original-composition-by-g10a-or-20171126t01516778z


SECOND PLACE: @melavie – “Broken Mirrors”


What can I say… This is “Melavie!” and she is so incredibly talented that words simply cannot describe just how much in awe I am of this girl’s creatively intense skills and artistry. I told her that the other songwriter contestants are going to be quite thrilled and relieved to learn that she’ll be on a remote island without an internet connection for the better part of December and as such, unable to make all the entries. Melavie clearly nailed this week’s theme with seemingly effortless melodies and striking lyrics. I most certainly recognized the immense beauty in her song, Broken Mirrors
https://steemit.com/openmic/@melavie/openmic-songwriters-challenge-week-1-and-steemit-open-mic-week-61-broken-mirrors-original


THIRD PLACE: @onetruebrother – “Broken Mirror”


Alright, so you might think that I may be a bit biased toward onetrue simply because @onetruebrother and I have a lot in common. We’re both older white guy’s with gray facial hair who love music, play guitar, love dogs, and have the fortune or misfortune depending upon one’s perspective – to live lives of general solitude in our respective “Hermit Nests” as he recently referred to them. Haha! But you know what – if you thought that way, you’d be dead wrong because apart from whatever commonalities we may share, this guy has clearly got the goods and they manifest readily here in his brilliantly creative performance of “Broken Mirror.”
https://steemit.com/openmic/@onetruebrother/steemit-openmic-songwriters-challenge-week1-broken-mirror


FOURTH PLACE: @paulhallman – “The Crazy One”


Paul here is another guy that I connect with. But as I explained with regard to one-true-brother - despite such feelings of personal connection - there is simply no denying the passion, talent, and creative skills that Paul exhibits here in his fantastic thematic rendition of “The Crazy One.” His instrumental melodic transitions and off-beat lyrics really got my attention here. I dunno, maybe I’m the crazy one too.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@paulhallman/openmic-songwriters-challenge-week-1-the-crazy-one


FIFTH PLACE: @luisferchav – “Stay”


I don’t know where this guy came from – I can’t recall ever seeing him on the Open-Mic venue before… But let me tell you what, when I hit “play” and heard that 90’s alt-grunge-rock sounding guitar in concert with his awesome vocal melodies – I was totally floored! @luisferchav’s “Stay” delivers intense thematic emotion coupled with thoughtful lyrics and a very fine performance to top it all off.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@luisferchav/open-mic-songwriters-challenge-week-1-broken-mirror


Honorable Mention.png


My Top-5 Honorable Mentions in order:


Fifth: @basilmarples – “7-Years Bad Luck”
https://steemit.com/openmic/@basilmarples/openmic-songwriters-challenge-week-1-7-years-bad-luck


Thank you all so much for taking some of your precious time to review my take on all of the incredibly creative artists here at the Songwriters venue this week. Thanks so much as well for up-voting and re-steeming this post in order to spread the word that Open-Mic and its subsidiaries are clearly taking Steemit by storm – and that the Open-Mic brand shall remain a collective people-oriented force of love and artistry to be reckoned with on every level of measure.


Peace, Love, and Justice for All

Sort:  

Wow, your choices are are really good
They're awesome, Makes me embarrassed with my post.
I'll fight harder for my next post

Nothing at all for you to be embarrassed about, friend... Your entry did really well, and you were on the cutting edge of my top-10... Congratulations!

Thank you my friend, I'll do my best for my next song. And I'll be your top-5 💪

I'll be lookin' out for ya, brother! :-)

Awesome picks @passion-ground and lots of talent to pick from.

OpenMic Songwriters Challenge Week 2 is our and the theme is:

Lost And Found

Thanks @luzcypher! Looking forward to the next round with "Lost & Found"!

Already working on it! Also, thanks to your advice, I've got a re-make of Broken Mirror in the works as well, I'll post that when it's ready under the Regular Open-Mic contest, I'm not 100% sure if I can finish it before friday, so maybe it'll be for #62. Stay tuned, I've committed to 8 weeks of continuous improving and exploration of musical adventures.

That sounds great! Very much looking forward to the re-make and to the next 7-weeks of musical exploration... You guys were great in week-1!

Thanks for the encouragement...much love from the "Hermit Shack" to the "Hermit Nest"!

You did great right outta the gate, man! Haha... I like "Shack" better! That way we can always opt to occasionally drop the front-end "Hermit" and turn our respective sanctuaries into "Love Shacks!" You know, that little old place where we can get together.... LMFAO and having way too much fun!!!

Awesome, thank you brother! This is going to be a tough competition!

Quite welcome, man... you earned it! And yeah, it sure looks like it's going to be a tough one!

Thanks we really appreciate all your hard work!

I am very impressed with @melavie too! This is her first open mic, isn’t it?!

Thank you ever so much @soykatonline.... Her first Songwriters submission of course but, No - Melavie's been on the Open-Mic venue for a quite a while now.... check out her blog and see... You did really great this week with your entry btw... I'm in love with your energy and passion! Much love... x

Oh really? I thought she was new ( but thats only cuz i’ve been here only for a month i guess) haha!

Thank you so much! You are the sweetest ! I really appreciate your support <3

Hola Senorita, even if u are not winning now, don't worry your time will definitely come, just keep giving us your sweet voice smile, your power is strong.

thank you! you are a sweetheart!

☺ i guess my heart is sweeter than a honey,
Sé siempre feliz

awesome picks passion!! what an amazing first week right????

Blew me away, @meno... I was not expecting this at all! Props to you my brotha!

What can I say but thank you for your passionate words and your support! You became a real smile-generator in my life! :)

You are quite welcome, @melavie... What a pleasure it is for me to know that I've made you smile... :-)

You never fail to! :)

Hm. Some good songwriting in your list. Might've missed one, though. ;)

Haha... You were definitely on the radar, Cabe... it's just so hard with all the incredible talent here... my point system does the best it can in trying to keep me objective - but at the end of the day - whatever objective constraints I put in place in concert with the subjective beats of my heart - produces what it does... No doubt, it's not perfect by any stretch - but it's the best that I can do... Much love, brother!

Much love right back atcha, brother! Thanks for your patience with me, and for your explanation.

wow! I am surprised!! You made my day sir @passion-gound really. I composed and played my piece of song which I believe no one will ever love it 'coz it was done in a rush way and yet steemit musicians like you still appreciate it. Thank you so much sir. Much love & peace!..

Yo, brother... you did great out of the gate, and I'm looking forward to another phenomenal entry from you in week-2. I know how hard it must be, man - heck, I just have so much appreciation for all of you who are able to write like this!

Anyway, dig down deep inside and pray to the gods of creativity for blessings because this contest is just getting started. The best of luck to you @g10a, you know I'm rooting for you, brother - and good luck to all of the entrants going forward! Much love, across-the-board!

I am not here to win, i am just here to see the winner and congratulates him, cause i win in a weird way, 😁 😁 😁 😁,, your picks where great, i promise this week i am do this like never before, no more procrastination. 💪 💪

Thanks, Marshall!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52