Steemit Openmic Songwriters Challenge-Week1-Broken MirrorsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Thanks @meno @luzcypher and all of the judges and supporters of musicians on Steemit !

Okay this is way outside of the usual way that I write songs. As I have mentioned before I never try to write on a subject; these things either "download" through me or not...
I decided to forgo any oblique references and go straight to the title.
I found out the hardest part other than writing a song on demand, in one day, is trying to record it! I kept messing up the lyrics but after many many takes I settled with this....thanks for listening and be gentle ! (PS-This song is not autobiographical)
peace

In the night
Seeking light
While you struggle
With reflections
In your mind
Wandering far
From where you are
And you suffer
All the darkness
In your heart

Broken mirror
Nothing's clear
As you try
To recognize
Scattered pieces
On the floor
Broken mirror
It's so clear
Though you try
You can't hide
Many faces
On the wall

Passing by
You flash a smile
You're not showing
What is going
On inside
Don't know why
You live the lie
Never seeing
Your own being
In their eyes

Chorus

Sort:  

Congratulations @onetruebrother! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice thematic composition, brother! 500th take or not.... LMFAO!!! :-)

By the time I got done recording I thought I may never play that one again, but now it's stuck in my head so I think I like it after all...I would have liked to put a solo in there...

Funny how a song can grow on you, huh? I appreciate the tenacity you bring to bear in getting your shit right, man!

very nice bro , i love your vibe !

Thanks man I really like your playing and singing and I always watch your videos even if I don't always comment !

I like this one. The dynamics are perfect with the vocals. Great job!

Yo thanks...it was definitely tricky because I have not really played the song too many times, so when I focused on the guitar i would mess up the lyrics and vice versa. peace

what a treat... beautiful song brother...

Thanks to you for the generous guitar donation and the idea to do this...I didn't know if I was going to enter this contest, but somehow an idea came through. It is always a surprise that it happens at all! peace

Great tune @onetruebrother. Your melody line snakes around beautifully.
"Take 500!" I have a closet full of those t-shirts ;)

Yeah maybe 500 was stretching the truth a bit...but it definitely tested my perseverance! Thanks

Well I am glad you made it through. The results are pure gold. Great song, great performance.

Amazing! Loved it! <3 by far the one i like the most from you .

Thanks, great to hear from you!

This is gorgeous!!!! Love it! Upvoted, resteemed and following!!!

Thanks very much I am following you and your songs as well !

Wow, really good song. Thanks

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

wow sounds so good sir,. beautiful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04