OpenMic Songwriters Challenge Week # 1 & Steemit Open mic Week # 61 - Broken Mirrors (Original)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

I was very curious about how it would work out to write a song on a provided topic like this. But when I got into the flow I realized that this is how I write my songs after all. I hear or read or see something that inspires me and the melody builds itself around the essence of this feeling.

Thanks a lot to @meno & @luzcypher - you guys got me inspired!

I'm afraid I will not be able to be part of the whole challenge, since I will spend a month of it on an island without internet connection. But there are worse things in life I guess. :)

I am grateful for the Inspiration and the motivation to share it with this beautiful community.

Broken mirrors

What if I am not who you think I am
What if you are really that
What if we discover our secret plans
Only when we realize what we reflect

No need to fix those broken mirrors on our ways
They'll keep on haunting us every time we look away
But we'll find beauty in the pieces
When we recognize our face

Look at me I'm not who I think I am
And we are a projection of our minds
It Would be so much easier if we began
To consider ourselves identified

I am busy being who I think you are
'Cos that's just the most easy thing to do
We can chose to turn it into peace or war
Still you are me and I am you
I am you

No need to fix those broken mirrors on our ways
They'll keep on haunting us every time we look away
But we'll find beauty in the pieces
When we recognize our face

Sort:  

This is hauntingly beautiful, @melavie! I'm certain the other entrants are quite relieved that you will be on a remote island without an internet connection for the better part of the competition. :-)

Haha thanks a lot for the smile and your kind words! I really appreciate your support!!

I will try follow and upvote you Ms. @melavie, because I like your post Ms.

Thank you Mr! :)

Like I said about @chaifm once on MSP's show, this is so criminally beautiful I almost want to flag it....

Espero que la pases bien en tus vacaciones, pero que vuelvas a participar en las ultimas semanas.

un abrazo

Haha wow thank you @meno! Please don't flag me though. :)
Voy a tratar de participar despues del viaje. Voy a trabajar de mi espaniol. Tengo que parcticar. :)
Abrazo!!

Cool lyrics, I am confused on who is who now!
It's like the multiple reflection of multiple mirror pieces preventing one distinguishing between object and images.
And above this, wow! such a beautiful voice.

That's a nice perspective. It's all the broken pieces in which we see ourselves. But I guess in the end it all boils down to you are me and i am you. :)
Thank you for listening!

These lyrics are beautiful, and Mela your voice is as always amazingly touching.

Thank you for sharing your time with me to listen. <3

Hi, I've heard this on MSP, you got a really great voice, very passionate song, well done!!

Thanks a lot! :)
What exactly is MSP?

the minnow support project:) I've heard your song on Isaria's show

you won btw, I don't know what exactly, but you won the show today:) congrats

Ha that's great! Thanks for the info! :)

that was really beautiful song your voice is so lovely mam.

Thank you for listening!

Beautiful :)

Miss chaifm... I'm waiting for your entry ;)

thanks, I am back! the trains were delayed, you know... :)

You sure have a beautiful voice. Thanks for entering

Thank you for the opportunity!

that was really good! You have a really beautiful voice too! Very deep lyrics! loved them.
How long did it take you to come up with the song?

Thank you! I'm happy to hear that. I wrote it in the night when I read that the contest is starting. I guess I just caught the right moment because it was done in an hour.

Really good! To me, it is very hard to write if i don't have an emotional reason to do so. haha. When i try to "force" it, nothing good comes out lol! .

Oddly enough, i was able to write for this specific topic, however, i am not sure that i would be able to for other themes. Let's see how it goes for other weeks. haha!

Have you been writing for long too?

Hmm I don't really know when I started writing but I've been making up lyrics and melodies as long as I can remember. It's just my way to deal with my emotions I guess.

same here. I started creating melodies and lyrics ever since i can remember.. but i started taking it seriously when i was 13... and then i started also learning instruments and it helped a lot with my writing process... since before that i would write the lyrics and imagine the music lol

Yes i remember imagining the music too as a child. And just trying to sound English without knowing a word. :)

ahahaha why trying to sound english? where are you from?

Austria. :)
But we had a lot of English songs in the radio so I just made up my own words until I really learned the language.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44