Open Mic Songwriters Challenge Week #1 : Espejo Roto (Broken Mirror)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

IMG_8566.JPG

I am beyond exited to be here! . This time around for the Songwriters Challenge!!.

Before anything, i would like to thank @meno for coming up with the idea of this contest, and for providing the prize. (Such a lovely electro-acoustic guitar!) . Also , i want to thank all the other Steemians involved (organizers, judges, etc) . @Luzcypher @passion-ground, @meno, @Kryztle and EVERYONE ELSE! Thank you for giving us all the opportunity to challenge ourselves and grow as artists . What you are all doing is truly amazing <3

I have been writing songs ever since i can remember (started taking it seriously when i was 13). When i write, it mostly happens out of nowhere. I can't help it and i can't control it. Very few times i have been able to write a song just because. I have to really have something to say in order to come up with anything good. Otherwise it is garbage haha! . I sometimes can write 1 song every day for weeks! or non at all for months! it is very weird and unpredictable like that ( at least for me) .

Hearing about a contest / challenge like this one, gives me the opportunity to try and push myself a little. And try and write a song not when i really need to, but just anytime, really. Learn to channel my emotions and try and come up with a good song just because. Try and grow as an artist.

Anyway, i hadn't realized they had opened the contest already up until yesterday. But as soon as i realized, i took my guitar, went to my desk and started working on a song with the "Broken Mirror" Theme in mind. This is what i came up with. I hope you all like it!.

image.png

Estoy más que emocionada de estar aquí. Esta vez para el concurso del Songwriters Challenge!!.
Antes que nada, quiero agradecerle a @meno por tener esta grandiosa idea para un concurso, y por proveer el premio también (Una super guitarra electro-acústica). También, quiero agradecerle a todos los otros Steemians involucrados en este concurso (organizadores, jueces, etc). @Luzcypher @passion-ground, @meno, @Kryztle y TODOS los demás! Muchísimas gracias por darnos esta gran oportunidad de retarnos a nosotros mismos a crecer como artistas. Todo lo que están haciendo es magnifico<3.

He escrito canciones desde que tengo memoria. (lo empecé a tomar en serio cuando tenia 13 años). Cuando escribo, casi siempre sucede de la nada. No puedo evitarlo y no puedo controlarlo. Muy pocas veces he sido capaz de escribir una canción "solo porque sí". Tengo que tener muchas ganas de decir algo o expresar algo para poder hacerlo. De otro modo, lo que resulto escribiendo es "basura" jaja!.
Algunas veces puedo escribir una canción por día durante una semana. Y en otras ocasiones no puedo escribir una sola canción en meses! .Para mi casi siempre sucede de improviso , si no tengo nada importante que decir. No sale nada.(Por lo menos es así en mi caso en particular).

Enterarme de un concurso/reto como este, me da la oportunidad de intentar presionarme un poco a mi misma. Tratar de escribir una canción, no porque necesite hacerlo , pero si porque quiero hacerlo y cuando quiera hacerlo. Aprender a canalizar mis emociones y tratar de escribir algo relativamente bueno, solo porque si. Tratar de crecer como artista.

En fin, No me había enterado de que el concurso ya había empezado hasta el día de ayer. Pero, en cuanto me dí cuenta, tomé mi guitarra, me fui a mi escritorio y me puse a escribir. Me puse a intentar sacar algo relacionado a la temática de esta semana que es "Espejo Roto'" y esto es lo que salió. Espero que les guste!

Espejo Roto. (24-11- 2017)

Cuanto tiempo busqué
Cuantas noches lloré
Tratando de encajar
en ese molde que...
Que lastima mi cuerpo,
Y lo intento de nuevo..

Se que no soy igual
a todos los demas
Y me pongo a pensar
¿A caso está tan mal?
No existe lo "perfecto"
Hoy romperé el espejo...

Y se acabó y terminó la tortura infernal
de tratar de cambiar solo para encajar
Si estoy bien, si estoy mal, ahora mismo da igual
que el espejo quede roto en el suelo.

Mirando en mi interior
Sé que tengo razón,
¿Como fue que pasó,
que dudé de quien soy?
Solo ahora lo entiendo...
Mis defectos son perfectos.

Y se acabó y terminó la tortura infernal
de tratar de cambiar solo para encajar
Si estoy bien, si estoy mal, ahora mismo da igual
que el espejo quede roto en el suelo.

Ya no voy a dudar...
Sé que soy especial...

Se acabó y terminó la tortura infernal
de tratar de cambiar solo para encajar
Si estoy bien, si estoy mal, ahora mismo da igual
que el espejo quede roto en el suelo.


Broken Mirror (11-24-17)

For how long did i search?
How many nights did i cry?
Trying to fit in
in this mold
This mold that hurts my skin
But then i keep trying over and over.

I know that i am not the same
I am not the same as everyone else
So, i get to thinking...
is it really that bad?
"Perfect" doesn't exist.
Today i break the mirror.

And it's over. I am done with this hellish torture
I am done with trying to change just to "fit in"
If i am right, if i am wrong, right now i just don't care anymore..
that the mirror gets shattered in pieces on the floor.

Looking into myself i realize
that i was right all along
How come i started doubting myself?
My flaws make me perfect
And just now i get it!

It's over. I am done with this hellish torture
I am done with trying to change just to "fit in"
If i am right, if i am wrong, right now i just don't care anymore..
that the mirror gets shattered in pieces on the floor.

I am not going to doubt myself anymore...
I now know how special i am...

It's over. I am done with this hellish torture
I am done with trying to change just to "fit in"
If i am right, if i am wrong, right now i just don't care anymore..
that the mirror gets shattered in pieces on the floor.
image.png

You can also find me on Instagram and YouTube

See you all next time!


También pueden encontrarme en Instagram y en YouTube

Nos vemos en el próximo post!

Sort:  

Que bien, éxitos un abrazo

muchisimas gracias! un abrazote para ti tambien! ♥

Que bueno te te animes a mostrar tus canciones ! :) espero sigas en las siguientes semanas ;) . Un gran abrazo !

Hola! muchas gracias por ver mi entrada! me alegra que te haya gustado ! como te admiro mucho como artista , la verdad que significa mucho para mi que te haya gustado!

Es difícil para mi escribir sin un motivo precio (emocional) para hacerlo... esta vez fue fácil, probablemente, porque tenia alguna emociones guardadas por allí en mi subconsciente... veremos que tal va con los otros temas de las siguientes semanas jaja.

Un abrazote para ti tambien! ♥

Gracias por tus lindas palabras :)

gracias a ti tambien!

Genial muy buena tu canción me gusto sigue así espero escuchar mas, suerte en el desafió. Saludos :)

Hey! muchísimas gracias! Me alegra mucho que te haya gustado! un abrazo! ♥

I like your song a lot :) I wish I spoke spanish so I didn't have to just read the translation :/

awe thank you Austen! it means a lot to me! .. i am super glad you liked it.

thanks for listening to it ♥

Great song Katherine!

This song comes from the heart right? A mirror to your soul ?
I am very glad you realized that you should stay yourself and not try to 'fit in' just for the sake of fitting in. Those that do that slowly dilute themselves into nothingness.

Be well and continue being yourself!

Oh hi! thanks a lot for listening to my song! i truly appreciate it! .
Yes, you are completely right. it is not worth it .. to change yourself completely. for someone or for society, or any reason really. You have to improve yourself and grow.. yes.. but you also have to be true to yourself, love yourself and stand for what you believe in.
It is a lesson that will stay with me forever... i learned it in my early twenties .. and will stay with me forever. I somehow was able to channel those memories and bring them back for this one song. I have done that before. i am happy with the results.. it was kind of therapeutic .

Thanks again for stopping by! I truly appreciate it! Specially coming from such talented musician! ♥♥♥

Hey I just realized with your past comment you also wrote a song for the challenge! I loved it! Seems like this topic also triggered some inspiration in you. Thank you for sharing.

Oh hi! thank you so much for stopping by!
i am super glad you liked it! it means a lot to me.
It did inspire me... which is very odd. since i am not really goo at writing out of the blue for no reason. I have to be emotionaly triggered to be able to do so.. i have to have the need to say something .. i can't just decide to write something just because. This is a very first time this happends like this.

This is part of the reason i love this challenge.. it is pushing me a little. and hopefully getting to do things i have never done before or at least that i wasn't aware i could do. I am getting to know myself a little bit more, by doing this.

Do you thing joining this contest will help you also ? you know, to grow as an artist?

Great job @soykatonline!! Very talented!

Thanks Lucy!! It means the world to me that you stoped by and that you liked it!! You. Are mega talented and i truly admire you.. so, that you even heard my song really makes my day! Thank you! 💕💕

Ah thank you, what a lovely thing to say! Keep doing what you're doing, you have a lovely attitude on Steemit, so keep it up xxx

aww thank you! Lucy! you are the best! ♥

Lovely song! I love your voice and the story you tell, I don't speak Spanish but to me even the English translation would work in a song!

OMG! Thank you so much! I truly appreciate it!
It’s funny you know? Because i usually find it extremely hard to write something out of the blue if i don’t have an emotional reason to do so.
But this time around i didn’t struggle. I don’t know how it will go for the other themes they choose.. this writing thing for me is very unpredictable... let’s see if i will make it lol

Yeah, same here! But you make your song sound very personal, it will be interesting to see how we all go during the 8 weeks.

yeah.. i have to dig deep inside of me.. i have to be able to relate, you know? that's the only way i can do i. But yeah, like you said.. let's see how it goes for the rest of the contest. This is very good for us i guess.. in order to grow as writers... and to get to know ourselves and what we can do.

Hey good to see that you entered as well ! We have spoken to each other before about not being able to "force" songwriting, but look at us now! I guess the well never runs dry...peace

Hi! thanks for stopping by to hear my song!
Yeah, i remember us talking about that.

It is weird.. because this time around it was easy for me to come up with the song. we'll see how it goes for other weeks and the other themes they come up with. :)

'today I break the mirror'
awesome
:) x

thanks! i really appreciate it! i am glad you liked it! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43