OFFICIAL: Open-Mic | passion-ground's Top-5 Entries for Week 99steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic6 years ago

Top-Five.png

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

I don’t know about you guys, but tonight, I’m partying like its 1999!


Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Don’t be fooled by the effervescent optimism in my opening line. I am calling upon such inherent good-vibes out of sheer desperation and yearning for feel-good survival because, in all honesty, I’ve been rather down of late.

Can’t quite put my finger on it, which means it’s likely a culmination of weights that I’ve been witnessing/experiencing of late, which are feeling a bit heavier with each passing day – but go on, I/we must – because there is no other choice, and there is no other way but forward.

I know it’s not an exact fit for week “99,” however, dropping some “Prince” here to lead off my Top-5 did me a whole lot of good in making me feel better – feel right – and feel like I ought to feel – and for that I am grateful and smiling ear-to-ear. I hope it makes you feel good too!

That my dear friends is the power and beauty of music!

If you haven’t done so already, please check out all of the post's associated with the forthcoming Open-Mic Mega-Collaboration.


New Mash.png

The Original Announcement Post

Update #1.

Update #2.

Update #3.

Update #4.

Update #5.


Should anyone have any questions or wish to participate in the “Mega Open-Mic Collab,” feel free to hit me up on discord >> @passion-ground#5524.

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Next Up, a few words about our Sponsors

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Please, VOTE for These WITNESSES...

IMPORTANT: Before we move on, please don't forget to vote for @Pfunk as witnesses! @pfunk is our biggest supporter, and plays a major role in helping to fund, the Open Mic contest each week.

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

We should all be proud and honored that @pfunk continues to weigh in at #18 on the witness list! It wasn’t that long ago that he was struggling to hold onto the #20 slot. Let’s keep this up, okay - @pfunk all the way!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

In addition to @pfunk, I am also adding @curie, @ausbitbank, and @aggroed to my short list of “must-vote-for” witnesses who support the Open-Mic venue.


You can vote for each of these witnesses right now by going directly to this link: https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

With all of that said, following some further insights as to how I judge entries, let’s get on with it, shall we?

Steemit Open Mic Week 99

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Libra-Man SCALES.png

My Process

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

As one of the esteemed Open Mic judges, it is my job to come up with (or “curate” as it were) a short-list of my top 5 entrants each week. With all of the great talent here, that is by no means an easy task. Sure, tossing in another 5 honorable mentions helps, but not when my weekly list starts out with 100 or more of my favorite entries... You guy's rock - I'm tellin ya!

Yes, I am a Libra – so I have an inherent drive deep within me to be fair and balanced – good qualities for a “judge” if you ask me. That being said, I’m still human – filled with emotion and subjective feelings – just like you. So, in order to mitigate my subjective tendencies to the best extent possible, I’ve come up with a method by which to narrow down my selections in a more objective vs. arbitrary manner.

Here’s how I go about my personal judging process: I first start out with a list of 100 or more of my most favorite entries for the week, and score them (yes, subjectively) in six distinct categories via a spreadsheet. The categories I’ve selected for scoring are in general harmony with those explained by @luzcypher in his post titled How We Pick The Top 3 Entries, referencing such.

To get a more in-depth perspective as to how I personally go about selecting my artists, please refer to What I go through as an Open-Mic Judge.

Even though it’s still a “subjective” process – diligently going through each scoring category to come up with a “total” score for each entrant helps to minimize any overzealous subjectivity that I may harbor with respect to any specific entrants.

Quite often, this exercise doesn’t give me the exact results I would personally prefer to see – but that only means that my system of judging is working as intended and designed. With all of that said, here are...

My Top-5 Picks in Order

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FIRST PLACE: @minuetoacademy – Es Por Tu Gracia - (Cover)

As @minuetoacademy apparently believes - I too believe there is a higher power at work in this world. Granted, many of us are convinced that such a higher power is in fact, the evil of Satan that rules over our domain - and with good evidentiary reason, I might add. However, there indeed exists the grace of God and/or a higher power of “good” that shall always triumph over the evil that clearly permeates much of our world. Aside from all such truth, this song, performance, and its core essence speak to all of the truly good-hearted amongst us! Bravo, brother – in the end, the collective good in us all, shall indeed prevail over our inherent evils!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@minuetoacademy/steemit-openmic-week-99-minuetoacademy-es-por-tu-gracia-interpretacion

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

SECOND PLACE: @lillywilton – How Loved You Are - (Original)

Lilly’s classic musical and theatrical training really resonates here. I mean WOW – her lullaby, “How Loved You Are” is a masterpiece for the ages! Lilly’s performance and composition truly sound like it came straight from Broadway! I love this! What an immense treasure this is…
https://steemit.com/openmic/@lillywilton/rqfbmpf1

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

THIRD PLACE: @papaudeme – Zosi - (Original)

It’s been quite a while since we’ve heard from Sir Papaudeme, but it was well worth the wait! His original rendition of this love song entitled “Zosi” is utterly captivating on every front. I thoroughly enjoyed this original song and performance, and I’m certain that you will too!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@papaudeme/steemit-open-mic-week-99-zosi-original-composition

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FOURTH PLACE: @addiesworld – Bring Me the Horizon - (Cover)


Not only did Addie crush this cover – but she did so looking smokin’ hot as ever! Bottom line: Addie is a true artistic talent, she also happens to be blessed with physical beauty as well. What a killer combination! God bless you, girlfriend. Stay hungry, stay grounded, and stay passionate… I loved this!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@addiesworld/steemit-openmic-week-99-bring-me-the-horizon-avalanche-cover

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FIFTH PLACE: @katrina-ariel – Back to Myself - (Original)


Katrina’s performance is exactly what I needed this week! She broke from her comfort zone and rendered an original composition of optimism and self-worth. “Back to Myself” is a place we all need to visit on a regular basis. The important distinction that Katrina imparts is that her basic tendency is to be compassionate – and putting other people first. We have an overabundance of narcissists in this crazy world of ours, and her message here is directed toward all the good people in this world – and to give them, along with herself, the immense credit that they so rightly deserve. I love this to pieces – I see you, girlfriend!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@katrina-ariel/steemit-open-mic-week-99-original-music-back-to-myself

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Honorable Mention.png

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

My Top-5 Honorable Mentions in Order:

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

First: @abelfernandez – Distracciones del Color - (Original)
https://steemit.com/openmic/@abelfernandez/wpanl0ju

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Fifth: @yrmaleza – Canción de amor - (Cover)
https://steemit.com/openmic/@yrmaleza/lfhanb8s

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Thank you for reviewing my selections for this week’s Open-Mic contest. If you find this content I’ve curated entertaining and of value to you, then please consider up-voting and/or re-steeming it.

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

NEW Open-Mic Team.png

Peace, Love, and Justice for All

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

A Very Special Shout Out To:

The following 20 artists who were very much on my radar, each within a splitting hair of making it into my overall top-10, and whose performances I loved, cherish and respect most assuredly. This special list is very much an extension of my most honorable mentions.

They are - in no particular order:

@juliolunar, @lifetipsbysn, @honeymoon-1611, @shephard, @alejandra23, @alcoholisedbsoul, @elisonr13, @samidbarid, @melor9, @mcmusic, @mayneth, @paintingangels, @andreamaestre1, @manuelmusic, @drewley, @enazirma, @orianabarreto, @k0wsk1, @tarotbyfergus, and @cabelindsay!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Another Special Shout Out To:

The following artists whose performances I very much enjoyed this week.

They are - in no particular order:


@camuel, @wilins, @kayclarity, @siomarasalmeron, @leomolina, @juanmolina, @miguelblanco, @brianhey, @lk666, @nnorukaanointing, @davidsuarezms, @steevc, @digitalopus, @davidfar, @renial, @nadabrahmasounds, @ricardogmusic, @julian.alejandro, @samjgonz, @carlosgu, @rjcha, @sanami, @adreini, @eib, @donatello, @jons0318, @wethepatsies, @gibber, @ragnarflok, @skycorridors, @beto14, @robertonavs, @natashamartinez, @edwardstobia, @zullyscott, @gersonvasquez, @graceleon, @cpereira, @cristmounicou, @funkmedia, and @carlosvidal!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Much love and thanks to each and every one of you who have touched a part of my heart and soul - not only this week but forever!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Sort:  

Congrats to ALL the winners!!!!!!!!!!!! and a very special

to @katrina-ariel for 5th place!!!!!!!!!!! Loved you in this song!!!!!

Aw, thank you @snook! 💖💖💖

I second what Snook said! Yay Katrina! So happy to see Lilly up there too, and everyone is just so talented really. And wow, I wish I had a picture of me like that saying WOOT! Ha ha! Thanks so much for the mention, @passion-ground, it really means a lot. ♥

Hugs & Kisses, Serena... :-)

Thanks for the "Woot," Snook...
It is very much welcome, and I'm sure appreciated by all!

@passion-ground thank you SO much for placing me in your top five:) and thank you for all the sweet compliments! You are the best. Great choices this week!!

You got it, Addie...
Keep on rockin', girlfriend! :-)

Congratulations @passion-ground! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

:D Congratulations champions!!

Thanks for this nice comment, Elison!

Thank you for those kind words ❤️I'm so glad you liked the lullaby.

You got it, Lilly...
I loved it!

Gracias @passion-ground! Que bonita sorpresa, es un Honor estar en tu Top5, Gracias por tu apoyo. Me siento muy identificado con tus palabras y coincido contigo, hay mucha maldad en el mundo, por ello no debemos dejar de buscar la Luz, el Bien... Todos somos potencialmente buenos, hasta el malo lo es, entonces para mi el "bien" es sobre todo una decisión que debemos tomar y en la que debemos perseverar para transformar, de manera positiva, nuestra realidad y la de otros. La Gracia y la Misericordia de Dios son la invitación eterna a Él, a la vida. El perdón abre las puertas a la vida, a la paz, al reencuentro con el prójimo, con el hermano. Tengo la esperanza que un día todo esto pasará, todo mal cesará y el bien triunfará, el bien construye y da verdadera felicidad, el mal destruye quitando la alegría, el Bien es al Amor lo que el mal al odio, por muchas razones el mal no puede sustentarse perpetuamente pues es inviable a largo plazo aquello que termina por destruirlo todo, por ello creo firmemente que el Bien triunfará pues este es y será eterno. Invito a todos a que elevemos nuestra conciencia, decidamos transitar por el camino del Bien. Quiero agregar que para mi es muy importante cantarle a mi Dios, hacerlo es parte de mi día a día, bien en la Iglesia o en la soledad de mi estudio, gracias a Él puedo seguir cuerdo en este mundo, puedo seguir esperanzado, apegado a la virtud y la Idea de Bien. Un Gran Abrazo y Felicitaciones a Todos. :)


Thanks @ passion-ground! What a nice surprise, it is an honor to be in your Top5, Thank you for your support. I feel very identified with your words and I agree with you, there is a lot of evil in the world, for that reason we should not stop looking for the Light, the Good ... We are all potentially good, even the bad one is, then for me the "good" "It is above all a decision that we must make and in which we must persevere to transform, in a positive way, our reality and that of others. The Grace and Mercy of God are the eternal invitation to Him, to life. Forgiveness opens the doors to life, to peace, to reunion with one's neighbor, with one's brother. I hope that one day all this will happen, all evil will cease and good will triumph, good builds and gives true happiness, evil destroys by removing joy, Good is to Love what evil to hatred, for many reasons evil it can not sustain itself perpetually because it is unfeasible in the long term what ends up destroying everything, for that reason I firmly believe that Good will triumph because it is and will be eternal. I invite everyone to raise our conscience, let us decide to walk the path of Good. I want to add that for me it is very important to sing to my God, to do it is part of my day to day, either in the Church or in the solitude of my study, thanks to Him I can remain sane in this world, I can continue hopeful, attached to Virtue and the Idea of ​​Good. A Big Hug and Congratulations to Everyone. :)

In addition to sharing your great music, thank you for sharing these kind words of wisdom...
God Bless you, brother.

Really?! YAY!!! Thank you so much for including my performance in this group of talented musicians! I'm thrilled you enjoyed my song and that it spoke to you. So honoured! 💖

The pleasure is all mine, Katrina...
Your performance was just what I needed this week! ;-)

And the Prince video was what I needed. lol! I totally grooved out to that. :)

Beautiful post!
Thank you for the shout out!

You got it, Sir Donatello!
Thank you!

Mil gracias por la mención mi estimado Sir @passion-ground

You are very welcome, @yrmaleza!
Such a beautiful performance this week!

be on the honorable mentions list was a great surprise! this contest is full of talented artists. i'm very happy, it was a gift for me. thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59111.01
ETH 2441.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45