Steemit Open Mic Week 99: Original Music — Back to Myself

in #openmic6 years ago

This song is brand new, and still trying to figure itself out, but it makes me feel like flying when I sing it.

Yes, I wrote a happy song. Aren’t you proud of me?


lioness


BACK TO MYSELF (by Katrina Ariel)


This body is my home
This spirit my whole world
And all the paths I roam
Lead me back to myself

I wander through this life
Not quite aimlessly, just wantin' to feel free
I sing my way along
Caught up in the mystery, in all its beauty

There are so many ways to love
Dancin' naked in the rain, wild and untamed
And there are so many ways to fly
Swing myself into the sky, swear I'll spread my wings sometime

I am mine
I am mine
And I gotta shine

This body is my home
This spirit my whole world
And all the paths I roam
Take me back to myself

I'm out here doin' my thing
You know I gotta sing
Sing

But I gotta say
It sure is nice to be seen
The way you see me
The way you hear me
The way you feel me
The way you free me

And this body is my home
This spirit my whole world
And all the paths I roam
Take me back to myself

Original lyrics and music by Katrina Ariel.


line

There are quite a few sparks that inspired this song, but the essence of it is me coming home to myself, stronger in myself than before.

I have a history of falling into other people, of putting myself last, but this song is the opposite… it’s me claiming myself for myself.

There’s a tip of the hat to Pearl Jam here with the words “I am mine,” something I think many of us can relate to. Like @snook said in her Ulog recently, no one can know your entire story, just as we can never know everything someone else has been through.

At the same time, it’s so fulfilling to be seen, truly seen.

When someone connects with one of my songs, or takes the time to read my writing, my soul shines brighter. No, I shouldn’t need this outside confirmation of the worth of my creations, but we as humans seek to connect, to relate.

It’s nice to be appreciated. To be seen the way you see me, you who take the time to care when I share my spirit here, it makes all the difference. So thank you.

In this mysterious, surprising, sometimes brutal world, all we truly have is ourselves, and whatever love we let bloom in our hearts. To celebrate who we are, to claim our individual power and beauty is a gift. And in doing so, I think we are more able to be with each other from a place of balance.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on the song and the subject.

Thanks so much for listening!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

Witnesses keep the blockchain alive, and it costs nothing to vote for them, so please do so. @enginewitty, @jackmiller, @drakos, @guiltyparties, @gtg, @steemgigs, @curie, @lukestokes.mhth, @pfunk, @c0ff33a, @noblewitness — There are so many good ones. Do some research and cast your votes!

alliance banner

Sort:  

look like happy nice musik~

@katrina-ariel, your song was selected to be part of the initial collection set of trading cards for the album of Steemit OpenMic.
Congratulations !!

read more about:

This is so beautiful, Katrina. Giving me the feels over here. Such a fan of your music and that voice. ♥♥♥

Oh! Thank you so much! Likewise, my friend. Love your music. 💖

I love this, you look and sound amazing, the lyrics are magic and your voice sure makes them fly.....
great job beautiful mama xxxx

💖💖💖 Thank you so much, my friend! The lyrics still get me. I might have a new theme song. lol! So good to see you, thanks for taking the time to brighten my day with your comment. 💖💖💖

I love this song it's quite uplifting and inspiring I feel

coming home to myself, stronger in myself than before

Thoose are very powerful words and somehting we should all strive to achieve

YES! It's an ongoing thing, I think... the act of self-discovery and inner strength. I'm so glad you enjoyed the song. Thank you so much for the sweet comment! 💖

Quite proud of you, Katrina...
Being happy and writing in such fashion is often a challenge...
You've overcome these inherent obstacles rather nicely here...
Loved It!

Oh! Thank you so much! Your praise is so appreciated. Thank you for seeing me, for listening every time I offer up a song. It means the world. 💖

Lovely, dearest @katrina-ariel. <3 I know the rarity of penning an uplifting tune and appreciate it all the more for that.

Indeed, all paths lead us back to ourselves – whether or not we like it. And, I agree...there are few gifts quite as valuable as truly 'being seen' and appreciated.

Always lovely to hear your sweet voice...

steemit-posts(rw)-1.jpg

Whether or not we like it. Ain't that the truth. lol! I guess the trick is learning how to appreciate it either way. This photo sure invites the mystery, doesn't it.

Yes, being seen and appreciated are gold. Thank you for seeing me, and thank you for being you. Every time I hear your voice or see you around it makes me happy. So much love! 💖

I enjoyed that just as much if not more than you did... ;-)

Yay!!! 💖💖💖

Wow @katrina-ariel!

When I was reading through the lyrics I though "this needs chords!".
Then I scrolled a bit more and found your video giving me a punch to the face as you not only added chords, but you added a beautiful voice and a even more beautiful 12 string guitar sound.

In this mysterious, surprising, sometimes brutal world, all we truly have is ourselves, and whatever love we let bloom in our hearts.

I couldn't agree more here, once we unlock that, we become truly free.

Freedom. Ah, that tantalizing thing every soul seeks...

Thank you for the super sweet comment! So glad you enjoyed the song. 💖

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65969.85
ETH 3429.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68