Open Mic Week 79 - Meno - Top 5 Picks and Honorable Mentions

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)
Closing another amazing week my friends, some faces have returned to our ranks and as it happens every single week new musicians have joined our merry group as well. This might be the best I've done getting my post out on time and that is simply because I've dedicated all of today's evening to do this and only this. I'm three coffee cups in and ready to make this happen.


With no more rambling from my part here we go.-

First Place .-

@paulobassman - You've been there (original song)

Can this guys do anything wrong? It seems like every single entry coming out of this musical powerhouse is bound to blow me out of the water. I loved every second of this performance, I found myself jamming along with my cajon completely involved in the rhythmic pulse. The vocals as always are superb and the melodic lines luring.

Am I surprised to have them in my top choices this week? Not at all, not one bit.

Second Place.-

@nathankaye - nobody's slave nobody's master (original song)

It would take only minutes of a conversation with Nathan to understand his world view, to grasp his message and what I can only describe as his driving purpose. To me this song represents another fact of his complex yet powerful message of tolerance and love. The addition of the musical brilliance of @benleemusic just adds even more beauty to an already perfect song.

Third Place.-

@dannyhamilton Going Home - Original

It only took about twenty seconds of listening for me to know I was in for a treat, my girl who was sitting on her computer on the other room got up and said to me. "That sounds like something you would write" and I had to correct her.... This is one of those songs I would have loved to have written...

Brilliant performance Danny, the strings add that sometimes necessary layer to enter the realm of epicness and the subtle addition of the harmonies towards the end really makes the hairs of the back of the neck react in rebellion. Loved every second of this...

Fourth Place.-

@trevorpetrie - So Deluding (Original Song)

Some say labels are just wrong but there are those times when they become second nature. If I had to talk about Trevor's songwriting style I would say he is a musical explorer of the "self". I tend to read not only into lyrics but also melodic intentions and melancholy is the one brush he has truly mastered.

Absolutely beautiful until the last strum...

Fifth Place.-

@normamanly - Kick In (original song)

What a fantastic way to start your #openmic adventure @normamanly this was just brilliant. It's so freaking unique I'm scratching my head trying to figure out who could possibly be all the musical influences that shaped you. I had to leave you a comment when I first heard it and I knew you would be on this list almost right away.

Can't wait to hear more musical gems from you

Honorable Mentions - No particular order

@darrenclaxton - Reflected in your eyes (original song)


Don't forget to checkout the official Steemit OpenMic judges picks from @passion-ground @krystle @soundlegion and @verbal-d. Winners selected and announced every Monday on @luzcypher's blog page.
And that is it for me and week 79, I hope to have access to the internet on Monday to congratulate the winners one more time, as my trip into the unknown starts tomorrow.

But hey friend, before you leave my post musical brother or musical sister, please know that despite the fact that we call this a competition, even though my post says first, second, third place, that is not what matters about the #openmic. In the end of the day the judges are just as human, as flawed and beautiful as everyone else on this planet. The ethos of this contest, of this community, is simply for us to have special place to share our passion for music, for us to laugh together, to cry together and explore emotions that everyday life seems to neglect in one way or another.

Every single one of you is valuable to me, so thank you for being part of my musical family...

Much love
Sort:  

Thanks for all your help building and inspiring the Open Mic community @meno.

Steemit Open Mic Week 79 Winners See Who Won Open Mic And Join Us This Week --- by @luzcypher

Love the lineup. It's a bit silent around here today. About to crank it up. :)

There you are... I gotta tell you something since you are entertained with weird things (I mean this in a loving way) have you ever heard of a russian book called Master and Margarita

Its available as an audio for free99 on youtubes and I've been completely sucked in, talk about exploring humanity's quirks... Its both hilarious and horrible at the same time. Dunno if you are into audiobooks, but listen... you won't regret it.

I clicked. :)

Can't find your discord name though. Are you in PAL? Send me req BRIXBOSTON#4053

lol free99 is a good price. Listening...

I just sent you a request :)

Oh bruthaman! You honour me here with this beautiful acknowledgment of this song!


I really hope that the philosophical contemplation in it triggers off some deep soul searching in anyone that takes a few minutes to listen, particularly to the epitaph verse near the end.
Anyway, knowing how philosophically astute you are I’d hoped it would touch your heart and mind.
Massive gratitude to you for giving me a second placing in your awesome top 5.

Congratulations to the others in this list and to all the other entrants. Love your work!

Huge blessings, good vibes and giggles.

Just speaking from the heart brother

Be careful during your trip into the unknown buddy, and thanks for all you do!

Thanks for the honorable mention!

Another good week of music! Thanks for all the hard work @meno!!

@meno thank you so much for your words. We are a team and good friends how love music and we are so thrilled with the Openmic contest that we are making an effort to bring something new and hopefully better to all the amazing musicians and music lovers in the Steemit Open Mic community. Thank you for choosing our song for your Top 5.
One love

Excellent choices! @meno

Cheers for the honourable mention my friend!
It was a pleasure as always to play this week and also witness the other brilliant artists!
Cheers
Darren

Gracias, Andrés ♥
Te mando un abrazote!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54610.81
ETH 2293.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35