Steemit Open Mic Week 79 – 'Kick In' (Original Song)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemit,

Let me #introducemyself, my name is Norma Manly. I'm a singer/sonwriter from Ireland. I have been singing all my life but in the last  year I have begun to write original songs. I am an avid #openmic 'er and in the past year I have been entering open mics across Ireland to try out new songs and gain  experience, and of course meet like minded people.

My music is a modern take on blues, jazz and soul, my main inspiration is #NinaSimone

I heard about the Steemit Open Mic from a friend and have been watching all the different artists from across the world. Whatever people think of Steemit, the #openmic alone is worth signing up for! What a great platform to try out new material. I will hopefully be posting an original and maybe a cover or two over the next few weeks, so watch this space.

 I wrote this song about two weeks ago so it's still a work in progress, here are the lyrics:

"Kick In" by Norma Manly

If you could see me, watch you wail on the floor.

And then I leave you, picking stones to relax.

It's been a long time, since it darkened my door.

And then you lean on, the weight of the world.

It has gripped tight, so soft hands to release.

And then you step back, digging deeper within.

I could tell you, but my words don't apply.

You keep on saying, I've gone too far.

I'm checking out of this town.

Checking out of this town.

No good,no good.

No good,no good.

If you could see me, watch you sleep next to meds.

And then I leave you, dreading what's next.

It's been a long time, but I'm not surprised.

And then you lean on, your irrational mind.

It has gripped tight, deep breath in and out.

And then you step, reality out.

I could tell you, but my words don't apply.

You keep saying, I've gone too far.

I'm checking out of this town.

Checking out of this town.

No good,no good.

No good,no good.

They tell me, It's just another little while.

They tell me, It's just another little while.

They tell me, It's just another little while.

They tell me, It's just another little while.

Till they kick in

Kick in, Kick in, Kick in.

No good,no good.

No good,no good.

No good,no good.

No good,no good.

Kick in, Kick in, Kick in!

© 2018.

It was a bank holiday weekend this past weekend in Ireland so we decided to try the song out in public so we jumped in the car and headed for Galway, one of Ireland's most beautiful and lively cities. Galway is also home to one of the best open mics in the country, "The Rosin Dubh Open Mic Night". 

It was a cold Sunday night in Galway but the fire was roaring and the atmosphere was electric. We played the song and got a great reaction. Check it out below!

I'm new to Steemit so I  hope this post was good, I'm still getting  familiar with the platform! Thanks a million for the  opportunity to perform for you guys, I'll be back next week with a cover, see you soon.

Norma xxx.

P.S.

Big thanks to  @luzcypher, @krystle, @soundlegion, @passion-ground,

@verbal-d, @meno & @pfunk for all your hard work, really appreciate it.

If you like my music check out  my Dtube uploads here:

"Big Bad Handsome Man"

"Moving On"

Sort:  

absolutely killer guys... bluesy trip... very cool vocal... great band...loved it

Thank you so much! 😀

Thanks , really enjoyed the #openmic this week will definitely enter again. Really appreciate all your hard work, it must be difficult to decide between so many talented people, my favourite was @gonetroppo , thanks again @luzcypher .

Very cool performance. Welcome to the Open Mic community.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thanks very much, glad to be here @luzcypher !

Hy @normamaaly welcome to the best blog

It's @normamanly , thanks anyway!

This is a very cool and chill performance @normamanly , love your whispered voice on this one :) ! Welcome to the Open Mic , hope you hear more from you soon!

Thank you very much, I appreciate it! @pechichemena

Welcome to the #openmic this was very chill... unique vocal style, very soothing... can't wait to hear more from you.

Hey Thanks @meno I like your content too, should have more posts soon!

Your music is soothing. A bit of jazz which I love. Almost like elevator music. Your singing reminds me of Byork or what was her name? I like to sing too. Thanks for sharing. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. You can call me Joey.

Bjork I think! You sing and play keyboard sometimes, I saw one of your videos 😀
Oatmeal? Where did you get that name?

People call me Oatmeal because I eat oatmeal so much since I was a little boy hehe.

Hello dearie..

Welcome to steemit, to interact and get to grow better on steemit, find your niche and be educated on steemit...do well to join us on our Steemschool discord channel using this link https://discord.gg/2F74XX9

Look forward to seeing you there.

Really love the whispery jazz vocals.

Cool, thanks 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62831.42
ETH 3123.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85