Steemit Open Mic week 79 - Original Music by Darren Claxton - Reflected In Your Eyes -

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

steemit_open_mic_week_79.png

Happy chocolate day everyone!


I've decided to take things up a notch this week.
The music and songs we write deserve the very best sound quality possible so for that reason alone, I've used my trusty old Zoom 1608 Porta-Studio to capture my guitar and vocal. I use this recorder that I bought back in 2005, for everything I create musically! My new EP was produced with this old machine too, so I put my trust in it.


My Open Mic entry for week 79 is this brand new song that I wrote just this afternoon.
It's just me, the camera, my gorgeous Crafter TAO50 guitar and voice, oh and an old scrap of paper with some lyrics, that I managed to drag from the depths of my very soul!!


Reflected In Your Eyes


This weekend has also seen the release of my new EP 'Never Grow Old'


Exciting Times!! My Brand New 5 Track EP is out now! 'Never Grow Old' on Bandcamp and Available Here with SBD or STEEM


I hope you like my new song, and as ever, a huge thanks to the @openmic team and @luzcypher @pfunk for their continuous support for us independent musicians here on @steemit

Cheers

Darren


Lyrics - for @hedac and @yidneth - And for everyone else that likes to sing along to my tracks ;-)

And I can't buy your sadness
And I can't buy you a smile
I've waited on a long sigh
And claimed it again

Somewhere inside you
Remains my life
The one you tried to damage
It's the one I can't abide

To pay but never
I flee from your lies
rejuvenated conscience
reflected in your eyes

But didn't I didn't I tell you
It's the love that survives
But didn't I didn't I tell you
Somewhere I released and cried

And I can't buy your sadness
And I can't buy you a smile
I've waited on a long sigh
And claimed it again

And somewhere inside you
Remains my life
The one you tried to damage
It's the one I can't abide

To pay but never
I fleed from your lies
rejuventaed conscience
reflected in your eyes

But didn't I didn't I tell you
It's the love that survives
But didn't I didn't I tell you
Somewhere I released and cried

But didn't I didn't I tell you
It's the love that survives
But didn't I didn't I tell you
Somewhere I released and cried

Musicoin Link

You can also here the full studio version Here
Thanks for your ongoing support with my music.
Cheers
Darren



Sort:  

very very good song darren. Love the vocal on this really felt it. great lyrics, great playing. you write great tunes my friend . always impressed.

Beautifully touching – grateful to know I played some small part in your inspiration to write this. ;)

Sound quality is on point. Loving the rawness of this one – I agree with @nathankaye – it's one of your best. Really, truly lovely. Sweet medicine for my presently aching heart. Thank you.

steemit-posts-3.jpg

You are so welcome @zipporah and thanks for your beautifully poignant words!
Aching hearts and feelings are overwhelmingly difficult! But we always pull through.
You have resilience and integrity and I salute you for that!
Sending my thoughts
Daz

Wow Darren, great song! You have a lot of energy here, nice buildup, and great hook! I like how you wove the melody through the arrangement. Well done!

@curiousguitar now that's how to write a meaningful and worthwhile comment!
Thanks for popping in for a listen!
I always love to read the community's feedback on my music, it drives me to keep producing more and more and sharing it with you all.
Cheers again.
Darren

Yeah, this is a gorgeous performance of a great song, mate. Probably my fave of yours. You should be proud!
Production sounds great too!
Well done!

This is Brilliant Darren, Love it mate :)

Cheers for dropping in for a listen mate! I'm pleased with how I captured the sound!
Nice one bro!
Daz

Very nicely done!
Silly me, while listening to the song I was distracted by watching your lizard behind you, waiting to see if it would move. It did at about 4.10 or so in the video. :-)

Ha! Ozzy is very used to me playing music in the house! I think he liked it!
Cheers for popping in for a listen!
Darren

Great acoustic jam as usual brother! Always dig your voice and guitar :)

Cheers for following my musical journey here on Steemit! Really appreciate it!
Cheers
Darren

Sounds crispy clear, emotive and vocals on point. Your guitar style always wraps you beautifully. Good luck! One of your best, pd. i suggest to add the lyrics for foreigners to follow along. I think I got them right though.

Awww thanks Priscilla! You're very kind words always wrap around me like a warm blanket!
The lyrics are on the sheet in the pic... I'll add them too.
Thanks again
Darren

You definitely have some solid songwriting skills bro

I have included you in my Judge's Top List week 79
Please check out the full review here

https://steemit.com/openmic/@verbal-d/steemit-s-official-open-mic-judge-verbal-d-s-top-5-entries-for-week-79-original-blog

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63894.70
ETH 3178.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63