Stepping Out of My "Comfort Zone"

in #nocomfortzone6 years ago (edited)

I was nominated by @appiepearl to participate in an initiative begun by @topkpop which relates to stepping outside of ones "comfort zone." In her own #nocomfortzone post which can be read here, @appiepearl said:

I like this one a lot. It's easy for us to write about the things that come naturally to us, or share photos of the things we do regularly and do well. But it's an entirely different thing to put ourselves out there in places we don't feel we shine, or in places we don't necessarily fit in, or sharing things that make us feel vulnerable.


So, onward and upward, eh...?

I have MANY issues which might fall into that category, but the one I am going to discuss now is anxiety.

AnxietyGirl.png

image credit: omvblog.com

Although I was never one who really "enjoyed" crowds, per se, I was able to tolerate them in my younger days, especially if it was in pursuit of something enjoyable. For instance, being in a crowd of thousands of people milling about at a Street Fair was a bit trying, but bearable, and worth it for the variety of music, dance, and other entertainment that was presented.

Perhaps part of my general uneasiness in crowds stems from my childhood. Both of my parents — but, especially my mother — were overly protective of my brother and me; and, my father might have only been over-protective simply because of my mother's infuence. As children, we were seldom allowed to play at other kids' houses — I can count the instances on one hand. I only remember one time when a neighborhood child was allowed to come and play with me, when the girl next door and I swang next to each other and talked for a while. Otherwise, it was just my brother and me, and each of us often played alone because of differing interests.

Our family often went for a ride through the countryside on Sunday afternoons, to see what there was to see. (Gasoline was cheaper in those days.) However, we seldom got out of the car except to perhaps stretch our legs at the top of a mountain for a few minutes before resuming our rambling journey. Other than those rides, going to school, and attending church, we children didn't go anywhere. My father, of course, went to work, while my mother was a homemaker (a typical position for women, back in that era). One of my parents would go to the grocery store, alone, and bring back what we needed for the week. My mother would usually mail-order our clothing, so I was seldom taken shopping. Therefore, my socialization experience was largely limited to the immediately family.

We moved to a different area when I was eight years old, for a job opportunity that my father found. The residents of that area were not very open to new people, so it was difficult for an "outsider" to create a bond with others, especially when they were already a socially-awkward, shy child. So, I had NO true friends, no one in whom I could confide, which made possibilities of future socialization even more improbable. I was also frequently bullied, both physically as well as verbally, by some of the other children.

The cycle was broken when I went off to college and lived in a dorm. Again, I was socially awkward at first, but still managed to make some friends because we were ALL "outsiders" in that environment. Fast forward a few years to an abusive marriage. Fast forward way-too-many-years later when I finally had the courage and resources to leave that abusive marriage. Fast forward many years until I met my true love. Fast forward until he was diagnosed with a terminal illness and died...

And with my husband's death came a strange phenomenon — my anxiety in many situations multiplied intensely. Perhaps the strongest manifestation of it is when I am in a crowd of people. It is more pronounced when the crowd is strangers; but even in a crowd of friends and family, it is still somewhat prevalent, but more manageable. Among a throng of strangers, though, my mind springs into hyper-alert mode, my heart palpitates, my hands shake, and I feel a primal "fight or flight" response kick into gear.

This panic response can also be triggered by online drama, I have discovered, especially if I find myself caught in the middle of a battle. I recently left one online forum because there were frequent disagreements, which grew quite heated at times. Others had fled that situation, too, describing it as "toxic." Having been raised to give everyone the "benefit of the doubt," however, I stuck it out, thinking it might have merely been circumstances of the moment. But those "circumstances" seemed destined to repeat, over and over, and I began to see flashes of my abusive relationship surfacing. It's bad enough to see others arguing, but when I am directly targeted and falsely accused of things, it triggers anxiety attacks. There were several times in the days prior to my departure when I could barely type because of my shaking hands, and I was genuinely concerned that the stress would trigger a heart attack because of prior cardiac issues.

In fact, just typing/editing this post has gotten my heart racing because of what I am about to make public. My hands aren't shaking this time, but it feels like my heart is about to pound out of my chest and is skipping a beat, here and there.

What was it about my beloved's death that has caused axiety/panic attacks to become so prevalent and intense? I cannot answer that, as I have no degree in human psycology. My uneducated guess is that he was my anchor, with a special ability to calm me during stormy times. I felt safe with him. Without him, my sense of safety in the world disappeared. Some people have told me, "It takes time," but even several years after his passing, the anxiety I feel among strangers is as strong as ever. As a result, I stay home most of the time and only go out into the world when I have to do it — typically, once every week or two for a trip to the grocery store, or to pay bills and run similar errands. The only way I can cope during those times is to force myself to become a bit "short-sighted," to focus only on what is directly in front of me, the task at hand, and try to ignore the throngs that are only a stone's throw away.

It has also occurred to me that I might have some slight autistic tendencies. While never medically examined for such, I can relate to much of what is described in the experiences of autistic people, e.g. social awkwardness, fear of crowds, a distaste for bright lights and loud noises (which overload the senses and create a feeling of confusion), and a few other things. Of course, these might rather be manifestations of the social conditioning and environmental isolation that I experienced as a child and have nothing to do with austistic representation.

A friend of mine told me several years ago that it is possible that I might have Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), precipitated in-part by traumatic events earlier in my life and hastened into full-force by my husband's passing. I suppose that is, indeed, another possibility. I have actually shared a living space with someone with bona fide PTSD (which was brought on, in their case, from being in combat in the military) and my symptoms pale in comparison to theirs.

So, I don't know the source of my anxiety, nor how to control it other than living the life of a hermit. It is possible that a therapist or Xanax® could help, but even the thoughts of going out into the world to spill my guts to a stranger seems insurmountable. My only real-life friends live far away, in another state, and I haven't seen them in-person in years, although we talk on the phone frequently. The same is true for family. My "social life" at present is ONLY Steemit, Discord, and phone calls. For now, I will continue to immerse myself into the Steem platform, continue with self-introspection, and hope for the best.

"Exited comfort zone" by posting about all of this: Achieved check_mark.jpg

Now, to drag someone else into the fray as I think we're supposed to do,
I nominate @eaglespirit

divider.png

TKG-steemitBanner.jpg

LadiesOfSteemit-01.jpg

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

Sort:  

I have to say I commend you for taking this challenge. I can actually imagine how much uncomfortableness you were feeling while writing this all, you definitely know how to connect others to your feelings. I want to sincerely thank you for taking the time, the guts, and all just to describe all of this and be open and vulnerable as that is no easy feat at all. I appreciate all you do on steemit and discord, heck I have felt your unwavering support and caring nature. I am glad you got out of that toxic place in your life with your abusive relationship and the toxic place online as well in that group, especially knowing how much this was affecting you during it all.

I also have the aversion to being overwhelmed by too much noise, I often call it an over-exposure which apparently is linked to at least being partially an introvert. It is quite possible you do have PTSD. If you ever get curious about treatment, you should look into a therapist that does emdr therapy, they use it specifically for people. It is very amazing. I actually was told that I may have some past traumas so I went for a session and it was amazing what it does, I do need to go back for another. But, any of that or not, I adore you. You are such a wonderful human being.

Thank you so much for your lovely and informative comment. I remember hearing something about EMDR therapy long ago, but didn't remember the details or for what purpose it is used. I will definitely consider that if I do find the courage to seek assistance. Thank you so much for your compassionate and wonderful words! I especially appreciate the last two sentences, and I assure you the feeling is mutual!

I relate to so much of this. Obviously my story is different, but the anxiety, oversensitivity, avoidance of drama or pretty much anything that feels "toxic"... all of it. I live in the country and leave the house as little as possible, though I make an effort to socialize my kids so they hopefully don't end up with the same kind of issues. I grew up an only child with very few friends, and I'm most comfortable out in nature, singing to the trees. BUT... here I've found so many like myself, and am loving my Steemit/Discord social life! Hugs to you, and deep breaths. 💖

I had no idea that we had that much in common, but perhaps that is why we seem to understand each other so well. Thank you for the heartfelt comment, dear lady!

That first graphic is ALL THE THINGS!

This is an incredibly brave post, especially considering what you've gone through. I've had issues with depression and anxiety over the years, so much of what you said resonated with me (and at the same time, I wanted to reach through the screen and give you a big hug!).

I know you didn't write this looking for advice, but I wanted to suggest something, if you haven't already investigated it. Have you had a blood test done recently, checking for vitamin D and iron deficiencies? I ask, because a few years back, at a point that I wasn't functioning well at all, my PC discovered both my levels were rock bottom. Supplementing wasn't a cure all, but it definitely helped a bit.

In any case, you did an amazing job stepping out of your comfort zone. Sending the brightest blessings to you.


via GIPHY

I have not had any blood tests done recently. However, I do take a multivitamin supplement, even though I do try to eat a balanced diet most of the time. It amazes me how many of us seem to have problems with depression and anxiety. Wow, you too. Thank you for your virtual hugs! I appreciate them so much and send them back to you, too!

Yep, as soon as I started talking about my anxiety/depression, I was amazed by how many friends I found had similar issues. While it's great to have a large support system, I'd rather we were all bonding over our love of cryptocurrency or something... 😜

Also, I was taking a number of supplements (included D3) when I was diagnosed with the deficiency. My PC told me to start taking 5 times as much D3 (I believe it was from 1,000mcg to 5,000 mcg) because I don't spend enough time in direct sunlight each day (which, no surprise, is a common problem these days).

Thanks for the return hugs! ❤️

Not enough time in direct sunlight...? Maybe we could call it "crypto disease" because we're all on our laptops with Steemit and DIscord! LOL!

LOLOL! Perfect! 😊

Some people just seem to get more than their fare share of bumpy roads in life. I consider myself one of those people too, and I really relate to so much of what you have been through, especially the awkward childhood followed by the abusive relationship, followed by finding the right person.

I can completely imagine that I would become reclusive or anxious or even lose my marbles if I lost my husband. Facing the world without that love and support has got to be an unfathomably difficult thing to do. I think it's great that you are finding community and finding a way to process everything you've been through!

I am sorry to hear you have experienced an abusive relationship, too. It erodes one's self-esteem away to such a large degree. I am glad you have found the right person, though, and I do appreciate your comment so much! Thank you!

❤️

A part of your life story reminds me of mine. I was a very shy person when i was
a kid. This shyness became part of my life because i was raised up in away which
denied my privilege to socialize with people. But my shyness started disappearing
gradually when i finally found steemit. I must commend you for sharing your life
story with us. @thekittygirl.

Thank you for your comment, and sharing that Steemit has helped you with your shyness. I am glad that it helped, and that you appreciated my story. Thank you!

My @thekittygirl,

See how I took possession of you :)

I am so honored that you shared your story and thankful that we are becoming of anything online friends. My heart and love go out to you and I see myself in parts of your story.

I’m happy for the conversations we have had and that I know more of your story. I feel your loss and ache, but know that your love is watching over you and still giving you strength. We are always connected to all things, especially those who are never truly gone.

If you had not tagged me in Discord I never would have seen this, Gina must have been down. She’s been moody lately. Girls! Lol

Well, I’m not sure how I feel about this tag but maybe I’ll rant a little lol much love to you! Eagle xx

Ps Xanax does suck and they had my 98 year old addicted and popping like candy. Maybe writing therapy? We are here for you lovely soul.

Thank you so much for your beautiful comment. You are welcome for the tag in Discord, as I know how notifications seldom work on this platform. I also appreciate your rising to the challenge of my nomination and bursting through with a post of your own! Thank you, dear lady!

You are so very welcome and I hope you are doing fabulous, I am certain you are! yes, I rose and conquered. LOL
you are welcome and blessings to you. xx Eagle

Such an interesting competition! And your participation is very interesting. I also, like you , feel anxious being in a crowd of people. I think such feelings are normal for many.

Thank you for your lovely comment, dear! Perhaps it is more common than I imagined.

The first thing I'm going to say is NO ONE NOMINATE ME FOR THIS CHALLENGE! I am not that brave! @kittygirl this post was sooooo brave and wonderful, I can't imagine the tears and emotion that went into writing it. I'm so happy to know you better through this post and applaud you for a wonderful piece of writing. I'm so new to the blockchain but I see you EVERYWHERE on Discord and ALWAYS giving a helping hand to EVERYONE! You are truly a treasure. Have you thought about doing any of the online therapies? I think the better ones are betterhelp.com or talkspace.com. Maybe someone else on here has had some direct experience - just something to think about. Sending you lots of love, you're an amazing strong human being!

Oh, what a wonderful thing to say, that I have made a positive impression on you! Thank you for sharing that! I am only trying to give back some of the help I received when I came here. Thank you also for the suggestion about online therapies, as that is something I had not considered; it certainly might be easier than any alternatives! I appreciate that idea, very much!

Hi @thekittygirl, first, I want to send you my virtual hugs! I admire your courage to post this. I can relate in some parts that I am also socially awkward and very anxious in real life. It's not all the time but from time to time it happens. I used to have a lot of friends but I've just experienced too much pain that I want to protect myself from people who are physically close to me. My only social life is Steemit and discord too. I find it so ironic and so amazing how I can feel more connection and warmth from people who are far away from me, online.

I wish you well. If you are ready I think a therapist would help instead of pills. Although I haven't experienced therapy from a real Psychologist as such service is rare and costly in my country.

Wow, so we have the same problem in common. Thank you for your comment, the encouragemennt that I am not alone in this, and the virtual hugs! I appreciate it all.

You're welcome. Sending more virtual hugs. <3

gives you a big hug🤗

Thank you so very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94