STEEM WHISTLEBLOWER: "Hidden Gem" & "Featured" Post Makers May be CROOKS!

in #news8 years ago (edited)

STEEM WHISTLEBLOWER - Second Edition:

"Hidden Gem" & "Featured" Post Makers May be CROOKS!

This is a "Calls It As I Sees It" article and in no way should be taken as fact or fiction, merely observations. Absolutely NO intention of personal attack, slander, fear mongering is meant to be present in this article. Please do your own research before you make your own decisions. Please leave your comments below.

The past month on Steem has witnessed rise to a new type of potentially devious scam, which at first glance is so well hidden one may even think they are attempting to help their victims. I'm sure wether you've been in the Steemit community since the beginning or just recently created an account you've noticed the latest fad of "Hidden Gem" and "Featuring" articles trending on the site and making a decent curation rewards.

An unfortunate possible truth is that these posts and the users creating them may actually be masquerading as "champions of the people" and offering people exposure for other users content at the cost of the actual reward, share in Steemit and respect the content creator deserves. It can be easily viewed as users that are having their content featured in these types of articles that they've basically sold their rights and privileges as a Content Creator and given these larger more powerful accounts the future fame their work should be getting them.

What the Steemit users in these "featured" types of articles may NOT entirely realize is that they've given up their potential future fame, reputation and happiness to the people "helping" them, which is serious exploitation of labour in my opinion.

When promoters (or exploiters) approach or are approached and talk to their featured users (aka victims) generally what you see is a the promoter promise exposure, fame, fortune and all of the other things that young aspiring writers flock to Steemit seeking. However what a large number of these promoters are failing to mention at all or at best in passing is that not only are they making around 33%-50% of the total payout from the victim's work but they're also essentially siphoning off the reputation and prestige that comes with being a "self made" Steemit success.

Creating and submitting good content is only around HALF of what it takes to truly be successful on Steemit. Sharing this information with you from my own successes on the site. You can have the most riveting, beautiful and basically perfect article written up but without proper interaction with the community and self promotion of the post it's unlikely to go anywhere. For every hour I spend writing and illustrating a "winning" article of my own at least 3 hours on top of the hour to create it is used promoting it and replying to those reaching out via comments...

Promoters may PREY on Unestablished Content Creators under a Guise of Aid.

The users crafting these "hidden gem" & "featured" posts know full well that it's difficult to get a start out on this site without countless hours of self promoting so they attempt to lure unestablished content creators with promises of fame and fortune. However the reality seems to lean towards that instead of trying to help these new unknown writers, artists and content creators out the promoters are actually just looking to line their own pockets with others hard work.

At this point in the article I feel the need to address a few usernames publically. Once again I would like to state that absolutely NO intention of personal attack, slander, fear mongering is meant to be present in this article. My first edition of STEEM Whistleblower was seen by some as a hateful or bullying action on my part and some regarded it as a "witch hunt". That was never my intention at all and I ask anyone listed below to rather than take offence and flag me out of spite or anger instead explain their intention below in the comments. This isn't being written because I mean to "start a war" or "witch hunt" anyone, this is merely a collection of information I've collected and my own opinion.

A Few Noteworthy Steem Accounts That Feature Other's Work Frequently:

I'm not here to purposefully harm anyone's reputation, say they had 100% ill intention or otherwise try and put users out of business with this article. Please internalize what's been said above when reading and keep an open mind if you do happen to find yourself on the list below:

@gavvet - While even I admit I've read and enjoyed a few of his featured authors posts I cannot help but wonder when I look at his blog if he's really even bothering to try and produce his own original content anymore. In the past month he's managed to post over 85 of these featured posts... 85 out of his last 110 posts are featured posts! What's even more troubling is that the blockchain doesn't show record of payment to all of these featured authors. What it looks like to me is that @gavvet is filling his pockets with SBD and Steem account with Steem Power as well as getting a CRAPLOAD of reputation for it. It looks like the account is on a few whale bot curation lists as well. The worst part about all of this is allegations surfacing from a trusted Steem user in which when he allegedly inquired about authors being paid out, to which @gavvet had no answer but an abusive flagging.

Total SBD made from the @gavvet "featuring" posts: ~$91272.60 SBD (as of Aug 27th, 2016)

Total SBD paid to the featured author for their posts: ~$ ??? (still trying to calculate this)

Note: @gavvet seems to be also taking note of the SteemPower owed to the authors featured in his posts. This to me is a sign of hope and helps ease my mind to the fact he's maybe got good intention. However I'm still digging into the blockchain to look into if these SP payments are being made and how much of the reward SBD has been given to the featured authors.

@dragonslayer109 - The 19 year old son of @gavvet seen above (proof), @dragonslayer109 had been very busy promoting others posts for some time now, sadly neglecting his own original content in the process. One thing to draw to every Steemit users attention is that since taking the "hidden-gem" tag to heart nearly a month ago only one of his 67 recent posts appear to have been original ideas. While I admit I haven't had much interaction with this user besides the odd brief run in with him in the "2000SP" room on Steemit.chat. In this particular instance he was confronted about not paying out fully the earnings by a few well known Steemit users. Instead of dealing with the issues that were put in front of him in a rational or calm manner chose to attempt to summon his father @gavvet into the room to defend him. I asked him a few questions at a later time in the same chat room and he seemed to want me lure me to PM him to attempt to resolve it rather than speak with it publically. Now while I don't have enough information to make a judgement either way on whether this user has malicious intent promoting others post it is brutally apparent that his lack of want to speak publically with me on the matter and the fact he's seemingly abandoned the notion of working on his own content could raise suspicions to some.

Total SBD made from @dragonslayer109 "hidden-gem" posts: ~33275.57 SBD

Total SBD paid out to users featured in his posts: ~$ ??? SBD (still trying to calculate this)

Note: It appears unlike his father @dragonslayer109 takes the SteemPower earned from his featured authors and keeps it for his own account. I refuse to name call or anything in this article, as this isn't what this is about.. However I HIGHLY disagree with @dragonslayer109 keeping all the SP for himself and reaping both massive reputation rewards and Voting Power for merely reposting others work. This type of behaviour enforced will have a negative impact on the public view of Steem. Nothing he's doing in my opinion merits such reward when he may infact robbing his authors of the Steem Power and Reputation they deserve.

@knozaki2015 - Now this user is actually very decent to deal with and any time I've run into him he's always on the go, positive and working hard. Compared to the two listed above his "featured" posts are only a small percentage of his actual recent blog posts. Besides the obvious that he may actually be stunting authors growth while legitimately trying to help them I personally do not believe that @knozaki2015 is promoting others for his own personal gain and actually cares about his fellow user rather than using them to possibly farm reputation like the example given above in @dragonslayer109 mention. The only reason he made this list to be honest was to be brought into the spotlight and be thanked personally by myself for putting in what I consider an honest effort to help people on Steemit. Keep up the good work man, Hopefully you can help the community more in the future when we dream up some better ways to promote up and comers!

Total SBD made from the @knozaki2015 "Featured" posts: ~$6108.15 SBD

Total SBD paid out to users featured in his posts: ~$ ??? SBD (still trying to calculate this)

Note: @knozaki2015 is the type of guy that I think is good for Steemit. I do not know if he's paying out SP as well as SBD for the posts he's featuring so I'm unable to comment on that at this time. Will be further looking into it shortly. Hopefully I can get a faster way other than adding all the posts by hand and having to sort them manually and crunch numbers by hand to get calculations.

@stellabelle - Regarded by many (including myself) as the godmother of Steem @stellabelle was one of the first users on Steemit to start featuring other people's articles. One huge advantage her style of featured writer offers that must be touched base on is the anonymous posts. Not only have I found myself enjoying a number of her anonymous and somewhat "risque" articles she's spotlighted for users but with the freedom to write without fear of backlash while maintaining a neutral identity is awesome.

Total SBD made from the @stellabelle "Secret Writer" posts: ~$28,978.43 SBD

Total SBD paid out to users featured in her posts: ~$ ??? SBD

Note: As mentioned above I think the idea behind letting established users write anonymously through your account is amazing! I would however like to see 100% of the SBD and SP that the authors work generated sent to them. Not only is it the right thing to do but at the end of the day you're already so damn influential around here that I can only speculate that leading by example may change the ecosystem around here for the better. You're a trendsetter, attention getter and all around bad ass godmother to Steemit, I believe you'll do the right thing!

@jacor - Steemit users have brought this user to my attention and I will be investingating him and doing the a post update when I wake up from a nap.

If you're listed above, I challenge you as a Content Creator to shy away from featuring other's work and start focusing on your own stuff!

You are all talented individuals from what I have seen and read, even if your intentions are to help people you NEED to realize that you aren't actually aiding people succeed on here. None of what has been written above was intended to harm any of the users feelings and I hope to hear from all of the users listed above in the comments below with their reply to my whistle!

A Plea to return your featured authors their STEEM POWER!

Those who made the list above I'd suggest checking out the chart below to see what sort of estimated Power Down you have a week and urge you to power up those who've been featured in your articles or send them the STEEM. It's rightfully the authors power, reward and reputation that they've earned.


(credit for this sweet array of info goes to https://steemstats.com)

With the exception of @stellabelle anonymous secret writer style articles which serve a purpose greater than to just "increase exposure" whether knowingly or not the other users listed above are actually harming the users they are featuring! While I highly doubt this was purposefully done, the need to increase awareness of this sort of thing in order to combat what I feel is a trend that devalues Steemit and it's authors as a whole is a must.

Using your popularity and followers to help promote your fellow Steemit is one thing, Making articles that are full of nothing but reposts with the intention of keeping any money earned off of it could be misconstrued as some as embezzlement. I'm all for people everywhere helping each other to achieve goals as a community.. But when you have people basically exploiting others (perhaps unknowingly) under a false pretense of helping them eventually someone is going to raise the issue.

With all of that being said I do not believe that these "hidden gem" and "featured" posts started out entirely with bad intentions. Fundamentally, the way promoting other users posts is done must be looked at closely in the future. Various examples need to be discussed and the strength and weaknesses of them need to be clearly outlined with something implemented to prevent this potential abuse of new Steemit users.

While I must admit even I from time to time toss other users links on my articles in an attempt to promote their work I have not and will NEVER make an article with the sole intention of promoting other users, especially if I know fully well I've been followed by mindless whale curation bots. Promoting and helping new users get a foothold and become successful on Steemit is a task that does need attention and I'm in no way condemning those that I've mentioned above in their attempts to do so, but artificially increasing users exposure and using your popularity and power to gain votes while seemingly skimming some for yourself off the top could be viewed by some as selfish profiteering.

Do we as a community want to send the message it's ok for people to use others skills, time and content under the guise of supplying help? By upvoting these "Featured" and "Hidden-Gem" articles you're effectively saying that! Steemit and it's users NEED to be aware of these things going on with this recent trend of posts and come to consensus!

REVISION: Where I May Have Went Wrong Writing This Article

When writing this article the intention was to bring awareness to what I thought could be possible exploitation of author for the benefit of the promoters without coming off as demeaning or a complete arsehole. What I failed to even comprehend at the time was the promotional business aspect side of this.

When originally working on this article I was viewing it from a purely altruistic view and it seemed infact rather dire, but when looked on through philanthropists goggles with a dash of capitalism tossed in the mix it became painfully apparent that I'd overlooked a key element in what the hidden gem and featured had been trying to achieve.

With the business angle brought into light it became apparent I'd perhaps not considered all angles as I should when the article was originally written and therefore while it did receive an amazing amount of positive feedback from the community I cannot help but feel I didn't live up to my own standard I'd set when deciding to start voicing concerns of myself and others. All angles must be considered if one is to accurately paint a picture and I failed to do so by not taking into account that this may be a business venture to some rather than what I initially thought which was people truly wanting to help people.

REVISION: The Aftermath, Steemit Community Response & What's Being Done About It!

While writing this article it was never expected that such a response would be heard from the Steemit community. To be completely honest I half expected to wake up to being flagged into oblivion and being shunned. What happened was quite the opposite and the community and nearly all those listed above answered the whistle and not only replied but also went on to exceed my expectations by pledging to pay larger portions of the authors SBD and in some cases Steem Power as well!

The comments section below is full of community feedback to this article and most of those that were listed above replied below with very agreeable actions to help get their teams of authors better compensation for their stories.

After looking at the community feedback and viewing a greater picture I'm proud of the way most of the users reacted when brought under scrutiny by myself for what I perceived to perhaps be far more sinister than they had intended. I personally apologize for failing to consider all angles before posting and in the future will spend far more time researching and considering all possible aspects of current events on Steemit before raising alarms.

Google Docs Spreadsheet Where I'm calculating the math:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/14DYBNH4jEhZY2VLUGjdzZ79jOE0OnB9Y8lP5DOUMRCo

Want more whistles, info, art and tales from @klye !?

Click my username above, visit my blog, then in the top right corner.
This way you get to see my new posts in your feed tab on your blog when I submit them!
Alternatively if you prefer live chatting come join us in the klye room.

Thank you to all those who've voiced their opinions below in the comments! A special thanks to @stellabelle @knozaki2015 @dragonslayer109 for getting ahold of me in regards to this post so quickly, both of you so far have shown me that even though you were on the list above you weren't intending to exploit users for power and profit.

Sort:  

What you are doing is a service true
Steem parasites the truth will screw
@stellabelle and @kn not the crew
I see publishers when I check the shoe

If the shoe fits then so does the label
If they come to her a deal is on the table
The others post whenever they are able
Treating posters as a horse in their stable

If I come to @stellabelle with my hand out
She will take time and say what its about
The others will post away with no doubt
Yet all I'll get when they steal is a shout

Hey I featured you on my really cool blog
As their numbers climb feel the flog

While you sit there and watch them get rich
You quickly realize you are simply their bitch

You do have in your post the good and the bad
Hope the permissionless leeching is only a fad

I always take people at their word until I know otherwise. I would think that the individuals involved in the story would let us know their side. My only input concerns @stellabelle. I think with her history of promoting others without compensation (comments, mentions in posts, upvotes to improve their rep), I think it is unfair to ask her to give 100 percent to secret writer authors. She is spending her time and energy. She is taking away from her money generating posts, which are significant. I think the percentage is right where it needs to be. Good job klye on the informative post.

100% may be a bit high in some people's perspective. I can see that for sure and agree with you.
However what we need to realize as a community that not everyone is out to promote users for the sake of actually wanting to promote their stories.

I'd almost compare the state of these "featured" posts as something similar to a factory farm.
Sure someone is making money there, But at what cost are we willing to allow author farming to continue?

Klye, I believe you and I started here around the same time. I love your content and have really enjoyed chatting with you. I follow you and will continue to. But I personally think you are way off on this. I will not speak for anyone else (I wish you would refrain from this as well) but I have been featured by @gavvet several times and I am thrilled with the arrangement. It is completely symbiotic. I am not a "victim" and I am not being "exploited". I am not being scammed. My name is on every single post. I have been given credit. I am extremely happy.

Although it is still in Beta, there is one thing that is completely clear about Steemit... this is a community that relies on teamwork. No one can thrive here completely alone. This teamwork comes in many forms. Maybe it's forming a bond with 30 people who always vote for your content. Perhaps it's getting lucky enough to get noticed by a "whale". Or it could take the form of a publisher/content creator relationship.(I'm sure there are many more.)

I write for enjoyment, but I'm not writing in my personal journal. I'm writing here because I hope others will gain from what I write. I hope that maybe they have a laugh or they go hug their kid after they read my work. I also believe in this site 100% and am excited for what it can offer people who have never had a platform or who could never earn money for their creativity in the "real world". Because of this, I want to help it grow. The best way to do that around here is to provide content that people want to read... and to have enough vesting power for your vote to matter. @gavvet has provided me with a means to reach all of those goals.

You said you spend 3 hours for each hour of creation. It takes me 6 hours to create a post. If I followed your method, I would need to spend 18 hours promoting it. I am a father, a husband, and a teacher. I can't spend that much time on promoting. I am very happy for you that you can (no sarcasm here I'm being sincere.) If I had to spend that much time, I would have to quit writing. I know I'm not the best, but I think my work does add some value to the site.

If I were paying someone half of my proceeds to promote my posts, would you think it's a problem? Would I then be exploiting them?

Thank's @hanshotfirst I absolutely love your stuff, I guess the question now is.....
Does the real eye witness testimony trump the assumed ulterior motivated assumption? or are you now going to be called just one of my many sock puppets?

Thank you Sir for this lengthy and detailed reply. I value your perspective and input on the matter and when I get the time to revise the post above I will be bringing to light some points that you mention here, I failed to properly reflect all angles when I originally wrote this and I see that now.

We are a community here. You're 100% correct in saying that. No person should have to spend the time I do in a day promoting their work to have it be successful (the reason I have to promote my articles so much is because most people write and draw better than I do). If you've been featured in @gavvet posts and he's paid you the amount that was agreed on previously then no scam nor exploitation has gone on in your mind and your deal is mutually beneficial. I can't deny that and I'm glad that @gavvet is able to allow you to achieve your goals on the site and if you're happy with his service that's a good thing.

Originally when writing this I didn't fully grasp the lengths people were willing to accept to have their work validated by their peers. After reading a number of the responses from people I talk to daily here on the site it became apparent I was missing a piece to all of this: Users are infact willing to pay huge sums of their possible rewards just for the chance to have their articles mentioned by these promotion mill accounts. Doesn't sit particularly easy feeling some of the percentages some of these featured authors originally received but it looks like those that were mentioned have answered the call and will hopefully in the future consider greater compensation for their featured stars.

Your question: "If I were paying someone half of my proceeds to promote my posts, would you think it's a problem? Would I then be exploiting them?"

If you both agree on the deal and believe it's mutually beneficial and all amounts are paid in full it's likely not going to be viewed as exploitation. What percentage of SBD and SP one considers fair is completely up to the author and promoter at the end of the day, my opinion or others shouldn't matter if it's good business and all parties feel fufilled.

And thank you for showing your character and editing the original post. You are a good guy. I knew you just were missing part of the picture. Once you had the whole picture, you adjusted your view. That is difficult to do. Pledging to try and see the angles first next time is also a sign of character.

As far as the "paying to promote" question, that was rhetorical. Lol. I was just trying to use it as an analogy to show you a piece of the picture you were missing.

You summed up this entire debate with your answer to that question: "If you both agree on the deal and believe it's mutually beneficial and all amounts are paid in full it's likely not going to be viewed as exploitation. What percentage of SBD and SP one considers fair is completely up to the author and promoter at the end of the day, my opinion or others shouldn't matter if it's good business and all parties feel fulfilled."

Exactly!

You're a good man. I just think that you fell into the "Ready, Fire, Aim" trap.

You did fall into the trap one more time when you assumed my goals involved "being validated". If you want to know my goals, just ask.

I did fail to recognizre that point when I originally wrote the article.

That is where in my opinion I went wrong here. I'm just glad that basically everyone came to reply and did something about the issue when asked (even when I didn't fully view the picture).

Thank you for your kind words.

@knozaki2015 is a very nice man. He always helped me with my questions and yesterday, featured my post for which I'm thankful.

I was helped by @dragonslayer109 , @gavvet and @jacor and I never had a problem with any of them though. They are helpful members and I don't see bad intention or any kind of bad stuff behind them.

Thank you @steemist for adding your thoughts on the issue.

While writing this post I never considered the promotion business aspect side of things. While I agree that the folks you listed above do a great service and at the time of writing the article before the added revision I had not taken into consideration that some viewed it as business rather than the "I'll help you but I'm really helping me" angle that I initially began to see when I started looking into things.

Exploited!? Klye I have always found you amusing but this is the most entertaining thing you have ever written! Thank goodness you came along to save me from getting paid handsomely while many people enjoyed my HOW TO RUiN AN EMPIRE series. You are my savior! I didn't even know I was being exploited every time @dragonslayer109 sent me the exact amount we had agreed upon. Although several times I have thought about saying "I'm altering the deal. Just pray I don't alter it any further." But that would be just to get a reaction. I'm actually getting the better of the deal. Lord Vader exploited!!!! ROFL!!!!! You are the best! Are you ever going to draw me like one of your French girls?

Thank's @lordvader, I love your series.... you are a true find on steemit... I guess the question now is.....
Does the real eye witness testimony trump the assumed ulterior motivated assumption, disguised as a neutral expose...?

Thank you for your support. I hope others see that I am a very reliable eyewitness. I would find their lack of faith disturbing.

I have sent a new transmission that address this disturbing issue.

"I didn't even know I was being exploited every time @dragonslayer109 sent me the exact amount we had agreed upon."

When I was going through your comment this sentence stood out. Besides your obvious hilarity going on in the comment above you raise a point, I did fail to mention in the original submission that the promotion of users when both parties agree and perceive they are both benefiting off of it might not be a terrible thing.

If folks agree to "bad" deals and still figure they're being helped then I might be viewing everything a bit critically.

Promotion on Steemit has gone from helping people out because you actually wanted them to succeed to what I view as basically factory farming of new talented content creators for profit/power. While I do see that their is a need for promotion of new users that do not know how to promote themselves or do not have the time.. at what point do we draw the line where something that some parties may view as exploitive?

"at what point do we draw the line where something that some parties may view as exploitive?" I believe probably when the person involved feels exploited... not when some third party proclaims the exploitation is happening...without checking first. I am a master negotiator. This is not a "bad deal". If it were, I would simply alter the deal. I am lordvader after all.

I need to build a Death Star.

50% of $500 will help me do that faster than 100% or $3. You have to master one more thing for your training to be complete. You must realize that your opinion of good and bad does not extend into the minds of others... yet. They still get to judge that from their own point of view. But once you master the Force, you will be able to get everyone to see the world exactly as you do. Then free will and choice will disappear. There will be only KLYE! Then we can rule the galaxy as Sith Lord and guy he met on the internet... who has a crush on him.

This is an interesting post, and though I don't fully agree with everything I am glad you posted it. I do a regular series called The best photos on Steemit today. I only post photos and now I ask for permission before I post anyone's work. I get that you feel some people may not understand that they could potentially lose some profit by having me post their photos, but I think that there is benefit for them and they see it, which is why they allow me to post their photos. I have personal experience with being posted as a "Featured artist" on many websites, here, here, here, here <----- this one they didn't even ask us for permission, I actually just found out about it now, here, here, here, I could keep going, but the point is we have never, EVER been paid for any of these posts, in fact these publications have likely profited from posting our work. We are ok with people sharing our work because it directs people to us, showcases our work on a platform that we don't normally have access to, and gives us exposure. Getting exposure was worth it because we eventually built a following which likely would never have happened had we not allowed our photos to be showcased. I know that I always duly credit the artists I feature and make it point to encourage anyone who likes my post to go and up vote the artists posts as well, and if my posts ever become popular I fully intend to divide the profits equally between the artists I feature. I'm not trying to start an argument, but I just thought I would give you my perspective as someone who has benefited first hand from having my work featured. Thanks for the post!

'may be' lol.

To me the issue is more on mutual consent for both parties. As long as both sides are very upfront on how things are split, are agreed to, and followed through on, the terms themselves are moot in my opinion.

Beyond this I see it back to the whale bot author list issue, like you touched on. We all know that this on some small level is a social game and rules are driven by the what is and is not permitted in the code.

From a 'minnow' point of view, it only makes sense to look at the featured with the current state of whale bots; make at best $5-$10 payout posting it myself, or toss something in front of a whale bot and hopefully others, to garner a minimum of $75 SD in my cut.

Even though it's not the sole driver, we all know that money is the ultimate metric, especially for those who are excited to be content creators. We can all say it's not, but if you get less than 10 cents on a post indefinitely, it's going to take something MASSIVE from the community to offset demotivation.

While certain instances may not be the case, I can't agree on the side that minnows shouldn't be submitting posts to be featured. There are people who market market market market, can even garner minnow attention, and not break a dollar. To those minnows especially, I can't blame them for submitting to be featured by a person on a whale bot list, it isn't a negative, it's smart. (This was in comments, not your post)

Apologies for wall of text.

I agree 100%. There seems to be a misperception here. I am not being exploited. I won't speak for anyone else because I have not spoken to them personally. Has anyone asked the other "featured" authors to see if they feel exploited?

While this contract is for mutual benefit of two parties, it comes at the expense of the platform as a whole. The tragedy of commons, as it were. Steemit is suffering from high centralization of voting power. Such arrangements only serve to centralize the power further at the expense of everyone else. While it is beneficial in the short term, it is destructive in the long. Initiatives like project Curie, Robinhood Whale and your own Steemprentice, among others are much better for the platform.

@@ -1,12 +1,64 @@
+To a large degree I am on the same page with you.%0A%0A%3E
While this c
@@ -352,199 +352,1267 @@
se.
-While it is beneficial in the short term, it is destructive in the long. Initiatives like project Curie, Robinhood Whale and your own Steemprentice, among others are much better for the platform
+%0A%0AThis is a multi-fold issue in my eyes. Just by me submitting to be featured doesn't necessarily hurt the community. I completely agree that the whale voting patterns that follow some who feature people is an issue that seems to be slowly dissipating with RHW, curie, etc. %0A%0ATo me the point of a featured author is to ACTUALLY give exposure to new, good quality authors. While some who feature others seems to keep this in mind, it's not always the case. I don't see the benefit of featuring the same author a dozen times, nor feature those who are established. However, there ARE a number of good quality authors that stuck around because of the ability to be featured once or twice.%0A%0AThere's always some trade off, but I don't see featuring inherently to be a problem, especially until whales change their voting patterns (which I am not one to tell them how to vote.) It's more a matter of how it's being used. In my opinion, if a person who is featuring others isn't able to find new, good authors, they just shouldn't post that day.%0A%0AI've not followed others, but I've personally seen Knozaki2015 focus on new or unestablished authors, especially those that are german speakers. This is a great way to fill out under served area like non-english categories
.

Yeah, I know that, and the good thung is that the pattern is changing. I mean check that latest post by @gavvet, about the end of hidden gems. :-) Exciting times are upon us.

I'm learning every day. A lot of issues behind the curtain.

I'm in a fortunate position where I get to see a lot of what is going on in the Steem ecosystem.

I love reporting things. Although my first STEEM Whistleblower post was hastily written and I admit I let my emotions get the best of me I've tried to address that in this edition and hopefully will continue to improve.

WE NEED MORE FUCKING EMOTIONS HERE!!!

YES I SAID FUCKING! and in all caps no less.

Seriously, there is so much squelching of emotions. It's not healthy for the platform or for us.

These problems need to be addressed and discussed openly. Ignoring the problems does NOT make them go away.

Hype only gets Steemit so far. At some point it needs to stand on its own feet and perform or die.

So tired of shit posts getting rewarded again and again because they are part of a cabal.

I support emotions!

Facebook has "share" and twitter has "retweet". I'd love to see a feature that allowed any user here to "reSTEEMit" someone elses work (or even a list of different works), and automatically get a small share of the rewards.

I think the developers should really think about adding this feature. This is an excellent suggestion!

this can eliminate a lot of doubts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98