You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEM WHISTLEBLOWER: "Hidden Gem" & "Featured" Post Makers May be CROOKS!

in #news8 years ago (edited)

This is an interesting post, and though I don't fully agree with everything I am glad you posted it. I do a regular series called The best photos on Steemit today. I only post photos and now I ask for permission before I post anyone's work. I get that you feel some people may not understand that they could potentially lose some profit by having me post their photos, but I think that there is benefit for them and they see it, which is why they allow me to post their photos. I have personal experience with being posted as a "Featured artist" on many websites, here, here, here, here <----- this one they didn't even ask us for permission, I actually just found out about it now, here, here, here, I could keep going, but the point is we have never, EVER been paid for any of these posts, in fact these publications have likely profited from posting our work. We are ok with people sharing our work because it directs people to us, showcases our work on a platform that we don't normally have access to, and gives us exposure. Getting exposure was worth it because we eventually built a following which likely would never have happened had we not allowed our photos to be showcased. I know that I always duly credit the artists I feature and make it point to encourage anyone who likes my post to go and up vote the artists posts as well, and if my posts ever become popular I fully intend to divide the profits equally between the artists I feature. I'm not trying to start an argument, but I just thought I would give you my perspective as someone who has benefited first hand from having my work featured. Thanks for the post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60531.60
ETH 2905.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33