#needleworkmonday #minnowuprising and #hardfork20 | Growing the needleworkmonday communitysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

image.png

A beautiful image from pixabay.com - very fitting for #needleworkmonday!

Well, that was the hard fork. Good to be back :)
This is one of two posts I'll be making today for the #needleworkmonday community. This one is about growing your account through #minnowuprising. You can skip to the end if you are just interested in the @treeplanter voting circle.

Introduction

Back in July, I kept a small survey of the growth of 22 #needleworkmonday accounts as part of the #minnowuprising campaign.

#minnowuprising was @taskmaster4450's initiative to overwhelm Steemit with plankton and minnow posts, to grow our accounts and get a bigger piece of the Steemit pie.

This means if you are a plankton (less than 500 Steem Power) or a minnow (less than 5,000 Steem Power), the goal is to post consistently and to use your vote power to upvote fellow baby fish. You get ten 100% upvotes a day.

@taskmaster4450 suggests that now might be a good time to have another go at this, especially as the number of accounts posting has dropped. The reward pool remains the same each day, so with less people posting, if you do post you stand to receive a greater proportion of the reward pool.

This sounds like a good idea to me :)

I started by having a quick check of where our 22 accounts are now. At the end of July, the accounts held 10,136 Steem Power (SP) between them. Yesterday, they held 11,490 SP - an increase of 1,354 SP. That's a growth rate of 13%! Looking good :)

The accounts breakdown looks like this:

Less than 20SP - 7 accounts
More than 20SP less than 80SP - 5 accounts
More than 80SP less than 500SP - 7 accounts
More than 500SP - 3 accounts

I've taken 80SP as a threshold because, under Resource Credits which were introduced in Hard Fork 20, this seems to be the minimum an account needs to operate easily, so it's pretty important to get our smaller accounts up to this threshold, if we can.

Here's some ideas about how to do that:

1. Post Consistently

This was the lesson from @mrscwin in her post at the end of the last #minnowuprising. True to his name, @taskmaster4450 proposed posting 3 or 4 times a day for maximum benefit. Here in the #needleworkmonday community we decided that wasn't really our style - many people didn't have time to post more than two or three times a week. Others were concerned about irritating and losing our regular supporters by flooding their feed with posts.

The important thing is to decide what's right for you and to try and stick to that.

Last month, I set myself a target to post everyday. I would do one or two regular posts (like this one) a week, and for the remainder of the week, I would take advantage of two DApps (Decentralised Applications):

Actifit (@actifit)

Actifit records your steps through the day and rewards you with an upvote and AFIT tokens. Votes vary from the lowest level 5,000 steps to the maximum 10,000 and above steps a day. You can find out more at the website above.

It takes about five minutes to post your Actifit report card at the end of the day. I then go and edit my post to add a picture and a little description. My best time for this is 7 minutes. So, in less than 15 minutes, I have a post up and ready for upvotes and comments.

This is the example that I like to use. @actifit upvotes anyone who reaches the minimum level of movements in a day using their application. The post on STEEM is the verification that the activity was completed. Yesterday's upvote from them, for full completion, was .31. This means that over 200 accounts, most of them smaller, received this upvote. What a difference from the .01 and .02 many newer posts get.

Over the course of a month, this is about 9 STEEM. Naturally, one is not going to get rich off that yet, if you are an account that has 50 SP, this is a nice one month increase. And this is simply for one post a day.
@taskmaster4450: Whales are losing their power

There are some considerations with Actifit: you can read about them in this post from @slobberchops.
image.png

DLike @dlike

DLike is an DApp where you share links that you like with the community. You add the url, a picture and description are (usually) pulled from the website, and you can edit and add your own comments before publishing. Dlike also upvotes your post and awards you with dlike tokens. It has a curation trail which usually adds another 0.06 to my posts. My last DLike post took less than 5 minutes to publish.

DLike is a work in progress and improvements are being added all the time. I'm expecting boards and bookmarks very soon - I think these will be especially interesting to the #needleworkmonday community. Here's a review of dlike from @nathen007. DLike has the same considerations as Actifit - no one wants their feed flooded with dozens of links and not much else, so use wisely :).

image.png

2. Vote Wisely

Anyone with less than 500SP has 10 100% votes per day. These look like 0.00 when you use them, but they do have a miniscule value. The DLike curation trail I mentioned above has about 29 voters all voting at, apparently, 0.00, but the 29 together add about 0.06 to a post.

It is really important to cluster your votes in this way because any single vote worth less than 0.03 on a post disappears and no one benefits. So, if you want to reward someone, priotise voting on posts rather than comments. And remember that your vote, however tiny, is worth something, so make sure you use your ten votes a day.

However much SP any one of us has, we really want to get maximum benefit from it when we are voting. Here's @slobberchops again with some more ideas in Minnows and Planktons: Are you utilizing your comment voting efficiently.

In the last #minnowuprising, I gave one 100% vote every day to a small number of people who post under the #needleworkmonday tag. This time round, I will give one smaller autovote per day, every day throughout October, to everyone who posts under the #needleworkmonday tag, meeting the posting guidelines, during that month. I reserve the right to remove autovotes at my discretion.

Finally, don't forget to vote after fifteen minutes otherwise your vote is lost.
What can you do to grow the #needleworkmonday community with your votes during October?

3. Finally, the @treeplanter voting circle :)

First of all, thanks to @phoenixwren for coming up with this brilliant idea way back in the year. We had a little discussion about doing this, because it is really easy to get in a muddle! So please READ THE INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY OTHERWISE @TREEPLANTER IS LIKELY TO JUST BENEFIT FROM SOME ADDITIONAL DONATIONS AND WE WILL ALL JUST BE VIRTUOUS BUT POORER.

Currently, @treeplanter offers an additional 20% vote for your own posts - if you transfer .100 SBD to @treeplanter, you will get a 0.12 vote on your post. However, @treeplanter is currently offering an additional 100% vote if you vote for someone else - if you transfer 0.100 SBD, your beneficiary will receive a 0.20 vote on their post.

image.png

@treeplanter

If you would like to take part in this week's @treeplanter voting circle you must:

There is often a queue for @treeplanter votes, so add your comment as soon as you can, the cut off time will be (edited) 8am London Time on Wednesday 3 October 2018 (except for @needleworkmonday).

I will vote for the first eligible post, and then I will leave a reply to each comment telling them which post to vote for until the last eligible commenter, who will vote for my post. Please don't vote until I tell you who to vote for.

Easy-peasy, lemon-squeezy!

image.png


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków

Sort:  

Thank you for your support @shanibeer.

I am glad that your group did have an increase which was at a greater rate than the norm for the Minnow and Plankton categories over the time.

The #minnowuprising is continuing in the Month of October. I will be putting out an announcement later on it.

If you would be so kind as to list the 12 names under 80 SP, I will delegate SP to each person for the month of October to get him or her to that thresshold.

This is very generous and supportive of you @taskmaster4450! Thank you so much for supporting the needlework community and others!!! It means a great deal!! 😃

Thank you @taskmaster4450, that's very generous.
I'm putting forward active members of the #needleworkmonday community with less than 80SP:
@fiberfrau
@jamethiel
@carolinacardoza
@jurich60
@tali72
@tahiaarq
@eglep
@lordvdr
@kimmac
We know that some smaller members of our community have other things going on and are not posting at the moment.

@carolinacardoza has over 80 SP is powered up.
@tall72 is over 80 SP.

A couple others have STEEM and SBD they can use to power up. The goal of the initiative is to build wealth and more SP means more VP (and now more RC). Hence there is a lot of reason to power up at the moment if possible.

I will delegate to the rest today.

Apologies - my error regarding the two accounts with more than 80 SP.
I agree with you regarding the other accounts powering up - this is a good incentive.
Many thanks for your support.

Delegation sent to them. Hopefully that provides enough RC for them to be active in the #minnowuprising.

Thank you so much for your 40 SP delegation @taskmaster4450.
This will give me some more fresh air. :)

Me, me, me! I would like to participate too! I stopped treeplanter when I read they changed the returns for selfvote and this is such a great idea! You are cool @shanibeer!
Here is my link: https://steemit.com/needleworkmonday/@marblely/needleworkmonday-just-starting-to-crochet-a-hat
and I have 0.100 SBD ready too.

READ THE INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY OTHERWISE @TREEPLANTER IS LIKELY TO JUST BENEFIT FROM SOME ADDITIONAL DONATIONS AND WE WILL ALL JUST BE VIRTUOUS BUT POORER.

Yah, I was one of them haha. I did not read the maximum it takes and I gave more than I should and got poorer.

And thank you for explaining about the minnowuprising. It helps a lot. I have tried actifit and now will push myself to check out dlike.

Though, I must admit that I don't quite like that we now need to monitor RCs in addition to our VP because we no longer can comment as freely as we would like to. Everything needs to be costed in for those with less SPs.

Thank you @shanibeer for always helping us to rise! 😘

Hello @marblely good to see you here, thank you for taking part :)
Are you having a problem with resource credits? steemd.com/@yourname says you have enough for a hundred plus comments, votes and transactions, but maybe that's only just come about?
@neumannsalva will be sponsoring a vote from @treeplanter for your post - it may take a few days to arrive, but I expect you know that :)
I will come back and tell you which post to sponsor.
Best wishes :)

Thank you, thank you so much @shanibeer for coordinating this effort.
Yah.. I am not sure if there is a problem actually 😅. Although it says approximate comment cost is 1570M, each time I comment, it chews up 3000M or more and the % drops 1% or so. I guess, it is ok to let it drop till 50%? And 1 day should recharge about 20%? I should be able to comment about 20 comments everyday. Hehe. But because I have been given a 66ish delegation for this week for a contest, by this Friday, I should be able to see my real RC. Maybe half of what I currently have. Though I prefer to just comment away! Haha.

Hi @marblely - which site are you using to see how many resource credits you're using? Is it steemd.com or a different one?

Hi @shanibeer, ah yes, it is manually tracking it from steemd.com. Basically, before each action, I will take down the latest RC and then I will perform 1 action and reload the page to see what is the remaining RC and minus from there. But we need to reload the steemd.com page just before the action is taken to get the latest RC :D. E.g. at this point, I have this: 262,500M and after I post this, I will edit and let you know how much.
edit: It became 258,900M, so it consumed 3600M for the above.

Thanks @marblely, that's really helpful. Would you like to do a post about using steemd.com - how to use it, why you use it? I'm going to do another upvoting circle post next Sunday inviting #needleworkmonday people to take part. I was going to write about steemd.com as well, but it would be really good if I could just link to your post - less work for me and more votes for you 😊

Oo that would be an interesting idea and very kind of you @shanibeer :) At the moment, I am pretty much focusing on the RCs in steemd and doing the manual RC cost calculation and looking at steemworld too for other stuffs. Though, I must admit that I am not that familiar with the other info there such as vests, bandwidth and all. But ya, I can write about the main info and you can add on for anything I miss out (which I am pretty sure I might :D)? That means, I will need to write it before Sunday.

Hi @shanibeer, sorry, do we transfer 1SBD or 0.100SBD? Just wanted to confirm. Thank you!

hahaha - that would a big vote! You're correct - 0.100 SBD!
I must check the others now!

Hahah ok ok. No problem.
Oh noo.. I think @neumannsalva transferred 1SBD. Eeek! Sorry @neumannsalva :(

Oh dear - we are already in a muddle! I will try and sort it out with @neumannsalva. My bad!

Okay for 1.00 SBD - @treeplanter will vote up to 0.2 of transfer and the remainder is counted as a donation. In that case, I suggest that I return 0.800 SBD to @neumannsalva, as it was my mistake.
@marbley, I would suggest that:

  1. you transfer 0.100 to @neumannsalva and
  2. when you get a payout you transfer the additional benefit (up to .20 SBD) to @needleworkmonday. You should end up with 0.20 benefit?
    Does that sound fair to everyone? (please check my sums)
    Sorry for my mistake.

Hey @shanibeer, how about this, we split 0.900 SBD (each of us 0.450) to @neumannsalva and then I will contribute 2 SBD to @needleworkmonday for a good week of curie last week :) I will transfer 2 SBD to @needleworkmonday first.

Hi @marblely, @neumannsalva says she is happy to sponsor @treeplanter and you :) (Phew)!
If you want to donate to @needleworkmonday, that would be lovely and thank you :)

Hi shanibeer. You know a lot. Recently I've learned about SBI from your post. I'm interested in taking part in the treeplanter voting circle :)

My post must follow the guide line and I have 0.1SBD ready in my wallet. The URL of my post is ...
https://steemit.com/needleworkmonday/@akipponn/baby-room-shoe

Ah,,, and one more. I was happy to see @jamethiel was back to NeedleworkMonday and voted to her post already.

I look forward to joining a new adventure :)

Hello @akipponn thank you for joining in 😊. I'm pleased to see @jamethiel, too!
I have transferred 0.100 to @treeplanter for your post. I'm putting a picture of the screenshot here, so everyone who wants to take part can see how to do it:
IMG_2209.PNG
I will come back to tell you who to vote for 😎

Aaarrgh! I have given the incorrect amount.
It should be 0.100 SBD!

Done. I sent @treeplanter 0.1 SBD with the @neumannsalva's post URL :) Thank you for organizaing this circle @shanibeer!

Again so many infos (thank you for providing them ) but often I think I need an English course, because not everything is getting to me. But I try my best.
Do you (or @needleworkmonday) have list with all the accounts who post regularly? Because I would have thought there are more people using this tag... I already remember two German accounts, who stopped half a year ago to post (which is super sad).
With the @treeplanter I would like to participate but as written above I am not sure I understood everything (for example I have voted already on some of the needlework posts)
Nevertheless, I saw @akipponn's comment and take it as a model
I have 0.1SBD ready in my wallet. The URL of my post is https://steemit.com/needleworkmonday/@neumannsalva/flu-ffy-knitting

I don't have a full list, but I have a list from the summer and I have gathered another one today (and I will do for all October as I have said I will vote for them). Let's see what we have by the end of the month. I feel interaction is important - encouraging new people to read and comment on other posts. Anyway, we shall see.
You understood the @treeplanter bit perfectly :) Thank you for taking part. This is an extra vote on your account from treeplanter, so it doesn't matter if you have already voted with your own account.
@akipponn will sponsor the @treeplanter vote on your account - it may take a few days.
I will be back to tell you which post to vote for :)

Aaah. I have done it incorrectly - it should be 0.100 sbd!
Which did you transfer?

I send 1.00 😊

Generous! I found shanibeer's comment before I sent SBD. I should have sent you 1 SBD ... nono seems it should be 0.01 – 0.2 STEEM/SBD ... learning by doing ;)

Okay, we will have to sort this out :)

Okay for 1.00 SBD - @treeplanter will vote up to 0.2 of transfer and the remainder is counted as a donation. In that case, I suggest that I return 0.800 SBD to @neumannsalva, as it was my mistake.
@marbley, I would suggest that:

  1. you transfer 0.100 to @neumannsalva and
  2. when you get a payout you transfer the additional benefit (up to .20 SBD) to @needleworkmonday. You should end up with 0.20 benefit?
    Does that sound fair to everyone? (please check my sums)
    Sorry for my mistake.

I have no problem with sponsoring @treeplanter and @marblely :-DDD THis would be the easiest solution. And no problem @shanibeer, I could have read with more attention, as with other things, I will blame the medication :-DDD

Thank you - I don't even have medication as an excuse :)

Am I too late to help out 😬

Hello @brittandjosie ... I'm afraid so this time, unless you can post the url of the post you would like a vote for in the next fifteen minutes 😊

Uh-oh - too late this time, but there will be another opportunity next #needleworkmonday - look out for the post 😊 Look forward to you joining in!

Thank you for explaining some of the names that I do not understand on the platform !!!! Now I understand better what is happening with my votes and opportunities. I will try to understand the rest of what I do not understand :)

Thank you for coming by - I hope I have made things a little easier!

Great initiatives! I will continue looking at the #minnowuprising tag to support users there daily as my participation encouraged me to engage much more around the ecosystem and has enabled me to grow! Thanks for sharing!

Thank you for joining us - good to see you!

I'm currently supporting @adollaraday with donations and delegation, @shanibeer.
@adollaraday is supporting the organisation behind @treeplanter with direct donations :D

That's good to hear 😊

Hello @shanibeer! Please include us in the circle! 😃

Here’s the link to the curation post:

https://steemit.com/needleworkmonday/@needleworkmonday/needleworkmonday-featured-post-9

Hello @needleworkmonday, thank you for joining us.
I'll be back to tell you who to vote for.

And here I am 😊
@kimmac will be voting on your post.
Please transfer 0.100 sbd to @treeplanter for this post:
https://steemit.com/needleworkmonday/@crosheille/needleworkmonday-crochet-on-the-go
By @crosheille

Good morning @needleworkmonday, @kimmac transferred 0.100 SBD to your account in error. Can you please return it to her? Many thanks 😊

Absolutely!

Done! ✅

😉

Am I too late to participate in the @treeplanter? Sorry got so busy. 😩

That's fine - just add the url for the post you want voted 😊

Thank you for joining us, @needleworkmonday will be transferring 0.100 to @treeplanter for a vote on your post.
I'm going to wait until the deadline, just in case anyone else wants to join in, then I'll let you know who you will be voting for 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00