NeedleWorkMonday - Crochet on the Go!

A61A148E-59A3-4170-9350-A3100260CE41.jpeg

Hello everyone! It’s so great to get back to posting again. Thank you to all of the witnesses for what you do as well as all of the behind the scene workers! I know it takes a lot of work to keep a plattform like this up and running.

This is how I spent my Saturday...crocheting in the back of my sister’s car as we headed to Jefferson City see my grandfather. He will be 91 years old this month on the 17th. He’s doing amazing for his age and is holding up pretty well. He has lived such a long life full of hard work and pleasure. He worked on the railroads in his younger years and he is also a veteran of the military. He just recently lost the use of his legs but he is still in good spirits and comical as ever.

I was working on that male Fall hat I was telling you all about. Between the drive there and back home and crocheting while chatting I managed to finish the whole hat in about 4 hours. It’s so nice crocheting while on the go! When I’m at home there are so many distractions and things that ALWAYS needs to be done. I didn’t have any of my children with me because my loving and generous husband stayed home with them. To be honest I wanted my whole family to go but unfortunately our van is down right now and we couldn’t fit everyone. So it was just my mom, sister, nephew, great nephew and I. It was a nice break and I enjoyed only having to worry about myself for the moment.

FC5D9936-A290-4E75-A4B9-B6BC6810DA4A.jpeg

This is how far I got by the time we start heading home. I was determined to get it finished before the sun went to sleep. There’s just something about crocheting in natural light that relaxes me. I succeeded and finished everything before I made it home. I just have to hot glue the ends on the inside. I like to do this to make for a neater looking finish. Although it’s on the inside I don’t like my work to look confusing and messy. I want my customers to look on the insides of their items and think it looks just as good as on the outside. You have to be careful using the hot glue because you don’t want to leave any residue. I only dab a very lit bit on and it holds just fine.

C812771F-8C95-4A6A-A1FC-CC92572B7524.jpeg

Here is the finished hat! Next I’ll be working on a couple of things (yep at the same time). My mother wants a hat, fingerless gloves and scarf set. My eight year old daughter wants a matching cardigan to match her baby sister. She loves the cardigan I made with @neumannsalva’s pattern!

We know that @jamethiel, @vliet and @marblely love to craft while on the road too! Do you ever craft while on the go?

All photos are my own and were taken with my iPhone.

Thanks for Reading ~

9857245E-4AD9-4B29-8B75-7E60098C91BD.png

F3027244-0B1D-408D-AED1-657B15E67E0D.png

2AD2DF16-A855-4E8F-849F-AC4E1C759CAD.png

8BAAE613-5DAE-4D06-81BC-1D4D042CF6DA.gif

3ABFB6B9-C625-4DD3-848A-6A5E788BB3AA.png

D74216FC-504A-4DF5-BD00-E0E05EBEB717.png

B397566E-2439-4214-90B9-79E28BA30D25.png

20180516_002249_0001.png

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

E074CFDD-A2D9-46F0-9A46-1E6C42A08DDB.jpeg

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

FBCAD6F3-B1FC-422E-A9A8-6C662D6DEBEF.gif

EC82B3A9-EB01-41EA-89AD-5F783019F818.jpeg

Logo/Banner created by @rigaronib!

Sort:  

You just planted 0.05 tree(s)!


Thanks to @needleworkmonday

We have planted already 3697.72 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20737.53
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

I always have something easy to work on. Last year I did a lot of these slip stitch fingerless gloves I showed you last week, sometimes it's socks. Right now I plan a shawl - it won't be as small as a hat or a glove but it will be simple :)

I think it’s a good idea to always have something simple to work on. Although I love a challenge, I started crocheting to relieve stress and to relax and doing simple helps achieve this ;)

Ooo.. I like your hat!! So nice!! It looks soft too. Love the colors! It feels so good to be able to complete a project while on the go isn't it? It is like time well spent :) It is great you got to meet your grandfather too. Sorry about his legs but it is nice to hear he is in good spirits :) Ooo you have much to do, all for Christmas? :D

Thank you! Yes it really feels like time well spent, I felt so accomplished when I arrived back home :)
Yes it was good to see him in good spirits inspite of. Well I will have my moms finished before Christmas but I hope to give my daughter her cardigan by Christmas ;)

Great use of color in the hat.

Thank you!

The hat looks great! Having a small travel project is the best way to stay sane on long trips.
Too bad your grandfather has lost the use of his legs, glad you had the chance to go visit him.

Thank you! I totally agree! I can’t see myself traveling without my needle work nowadays. 😊

I like this hat and great to finish it on your journey. I hadn't thought about using a hot glue gun before. I am having some problems with ends coming loose on the brioche scarf I made - the yarn is very smooth and the stitch very loose, so ends are constantly unravelling themselves. They don't affect the scarf, it won't go into holes, but it does look untidy. Perhaps a glue gun might help to seal those tiny ends.
Do you want to take part in the @treeplanter voting circle I'm running this week? You can find out more about it in this post. Have a lovely week!

Thanks @shanibeer! I felt so accomplished that day. ☺️

Oh yes the hot glue gun will definitely seal those ends. I just dab on a very little bit (as close to the middle of the piece of yarn as possible) so that I won’t have any residue showing. My ends stay secure and it looks tidy. I’ll be sharing more about this process next week and show the inside of my hat before and after the glue! 😉

Lovely, that will be so helpful!

Awesome! 😉

Let me answer this very short: NEVER! 😄😄😄 As I already told @marblely, I get so ill in cars or busses, there is no chance for me to knit or crochet. I cannot look down or I have to 🤮
Going by train is a bit better, but the trains here are mostly overbooked, so it is hard to assemble yarn and suitcases somewhere.
Your hat is great, the colours are fresh and snowy, they remind me of old films were poeple are skying an celebrating on an alm :-D This is a beautiful gift for your granddad.
I am still on my headband-gift-making spree and after I gifted the first one to my mother, she was inspired to pick up knitting again (she has stopped to do this many years ago) I hope she has fun with knitting again and I am a bit proud that I motivated her to start again... She is now also making a headband :-D

I hope your visit was a nice and relaxing one <3 <3 and I cross my fingers for your van (our washing mashine broke today 😱😱😱 I hope we can repair it alone...)

We sure don’t want your dinner to end up on your knitted work...😨

Thank you!!! Haa it does have an old time feel to it. Perhaps it’s the matte finish I put on the photo.

Oh wow that’s so great that you have inspired your mom to knit again. I hope she enjoys herself as well. Did I miss the headband? You haven’t shown them yet have you? I’d love to see your mom’s too!

It was so nice and relaxing. Thanks, it looks like we might have to get another one...it’s the engine. 😰 I hope you can repair your washing machine too.

Nooo you missed nothing, I thought I make a million some more headbands before posting :-D I did not take good/helpful process photos.
And with your car this does not sound too good, sorry to hear. Our car broke down last month, but we were so fortunate to get Romans parents old car, so no real cost for us (buying a car would have been a desaster) I am super grateful that they helped us. I hope you also get some support!!!!

The washing mashine was not the culprit, it was the plumping (we noticed after fumbling several hours around on the washing mashine 😆😆). The house we live in is very old (and beautiful) but not renovated and so we often have such problems. The landlord sadly does next to nothing. As I already told @muscara we (and our friends in the flat above) have regular water damage.... but they always repair it superficial, so the next problem is inevitable.

I personally struggle to crochet on the go, @crosheille... I fall asleep so easily these days - I tend to just crochet while waiting :D
That hat looks beautiful in that colour combination.

Oh okay I understand. I like to crochet while waiting too. 😊

Thanks so much! 😃

I used to make loads of things, but now I only make little bags to put your lighter in, with a cord that goes around your neck o you never lose it. Long trips are so boring otherwise...

Oh wow! Which needle craft did/do you do? Do you think you will ever pick back up on it? I agree, long trips are so boring without something like this to do.

Crochet - I'm too impationt to knit.
I keep myself busy during our summer roadtrips, but since we didn't go anywhere this year, it's been a while.

I did buy myself some new, colorful thread recently, so who knews... during those cold, lon winter evenings...

Posted using Partiko Android

I’m slowly trying to teach myself how to knit. I’m just so comfortable with crocheting that it is my main go to.

Well when you get back to it and have time to try out those new threads, I’d love to see your work. It would be great having you join us for #needleworkmonday! 😊

why waste time travelling nothing holds us needle woman back hihi

Haaa exactly!!! 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61334.44
ETH 2694.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50