Needlework Monday - The Punch Needle Rug updatesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

Yay! I got the hooking and steaming finished!!

IMG_2244.jpg

When I took it off the frame, the edges would curl up like this...

IMG_2218.jpg

The remedy I was told, is steam. This is the way that was suggested by the rug hooking community.

First lay a towel down on a good ironing surface (I just used the leaf table we made here). Then lay the rug front side down on the towel...

IMG_2229.jpg

Next add a damp cloth over the back (I used a flour sack towel that was hand wrung).

IMG_2231.jpg

And iron. I have a wool setting on my iron, so not sure what heat setting exactly, but pretty hot so the water in the towel steams.

IMG_2232.jpg

The end result...It worked Perfectly!!!

Corners and edges all flat...

IMG_2234.jpg

IMG_2235.jpg

IMG_2246.jpg

IMG_2244.jpg

To back ~ Or not to back...


There are different schools of thought on backing. One I hear backs their rugs with a brush on latex, which protects the fibers and prevents slipping...While the other leaves the back as is and puts a non-slip pad (that bumpy stuff we stick under futons on couches? It comes in rolls) under the rug, which does the same thing. And yet another who use a heavier weave fabric to hook on so no backing is needed at all.

I am allergic to latex, so that is ruled out...but I will investigate further and add some solutions into my next rug post, when I turn this piece into a floor pillow for our grand daughter :)

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed!



Yvonne's patterns and kits - Vintage Heart Rug Design can be found here --> https://www.etsy.com/shop/YvonneBuus

Lucy's Color Wheel cards and kits can be found here --> http://www.thewoolymasonjar.com/

If you would like to read previous posts on this project, you will find them here -->
https://steemit.com/crafts/@elew/not-wasting-time-on-the-2018-list
https://steemit.com/crafts/@elew/rug-hooking-supplies-trickling-in
https://steemit.com/art/@elew/mixing-the-dyes-from-the-wooly-mason-jar
https://steemit.com/handcrafted/@elew/on-the-bench-today-dying-the-wool-for-the-first-rug-hooking
https://steemit.com/needleworkmonday/@elew/needlework-monday-the-needle-punch-rug-hooking



DQmTfJEWRQpdidQ5rkDTLjnfPBvfLWFcqq1D9BCFongyBZS_1680x8400.png





Homesteaders Online

Sort:  

Wow..just wow! Your rug turned out amazingly beautiful @elew!! I think you should be very proud of the work you have done here! Stunning! Happy #NeedleworkMonday to you, my dear!

Aww, thank you @crystalize...I am not sure what I will have for next Monday, but it is looking like Beadwork!

This is a beautiful piece @elew! You are so talented!

Thank you so much <3

Lovely to see the finished piece - and the finishing process. How long did it take you, would you think?
Someone else has asked about the size, I'd like to know that, too.

It took a while to gather the tools and materials, because this was a completely new craft for me...but once I had everything the actual dying and hooking only took two weeks. I think they will go even quicker now that I know what I am doing more.

I love the finished piece (I forgot... could you write how big it is?) And I especially love the subtle shades of your wool, they lend this work an impressionistic quality. It is beautiful.

Thank you :) I don't think I ever wrote the size, but it is 18" x 18". Not too big, so perfect for a first rug...

:-D good size (but not tiny at all - so much work) It is really a stunning project.

Yes, it will be perfect for the floor pillow...My daughter wants a 5 foot round fairy rug now, hehe. I asked her to challenge me, so she did. It will take me a while to get that together, design it, dye all the wool...decide if it will be traditionally hooked or needle punch...so much to consider...

That is stunning @elew....
Thank you also for your reply last week regarding the backing.
I wonder how much it weighs.

You are very welcome :) Right now it weighs 1 pound...so with a canvas pillow backing and an 18x18x3 or 4 inch memory foam it might end up a 5 lb floor pillow...just enough weight to not slide out from under her :)

Agreeing with everyone that this turned out beautifully!

Thank you <3

It's beautiful! Thanks for the update...and the reminder that I really must look into this further! It does look like it would be fun to do.

It really is :) and such a good skill to have!

Hi @, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Fiber Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Mondays for Coffee Hour at 3pm EDT in the Steemit Fiberartists on Discord.

Oh THANK YOU!!! I joined the Discord group...now if I have time I will join the coffee hour :)

That came out awesome! Lucky grand baby!

Thanks Weetree :) Here's hoping she is not allergic to wool :O She is still 18 months old, so we don't know alot about her yet...

It’s Beautiful @elew!! What an artsy masterpiece you’ve created here!! I love the colors and the textures that are in it! I’m so glad the advice you received worked out and all of the corners turned out flat. I’m curious to see which method you’ll choose for the backing! Your granddaughter will fall in love with this pillow! 😃😉💜

Me too! I was all concerned that it would be a flop project if the curl wouldn't come out. After steaming I boxed it front side in...and unrolled it to switch the starting side a couple times last night. This morning it is softer, nice and flat and shows no signs of re-curling :) I am so relieved!!
For a pillow I will probably stitch a muslin lining over the back, then make a case of canvas...I am not sure if I will add a zipper, or just a fold over. Probably a fold over though, because zippers get weird after a few years and washes.

I bet you are very relieved that everything turned out wonderfully. I agree about zippers, eventually they do get weird and worn out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67578.10
ETH 3250.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64