On the Bench Today - Dying the Wool for the first rug hooking!!

in #handcrafted7 years ago

Dying wool is a little learning curve from silks, because it is not so forgiving...but, all in all I think the first batch came out well :)

IMG_2123.jpg

I followed the values on the colour cards I got from Lucy (The Wooly Mason Jar), but then I also played a bit with the variegated...

IMG_2119.jpg

Next Monday I will post on the first stages of needle punch hooking, at least how well it works for me :)

If you would like to read previous posts on this project, you will find them here -->
https://steemit.com/crafts/@elew/not-wasting-time-on-the-2018-list
https://steemit.com/crafts/@elew/rug-hooking-supplies-trickling-in
https://steemit.com/art/@elew/mixing-the-dyes-from-the-wooly-mason-jar



Homesteaders Online

Sort:  

Wow!!!! Its yarn right? A wool.. i love the colors!!!

Yes :) I used The Wooly Mason Jar dye system, and it worked really well :D I wish I had sheep now so I could make the yarn too...

Very great post. I feel the selfless energy around the meetup just from reading this post; I can't begin to imagine the experience in person.

Yarn is pretty selfless ;) It was a very fun meetup, each skein has it's own personality!

The blue one is especially pretty! I enjoy rug hooking with the thicker stuff...because they come together pretty fast. I don't use patterns though...just blocks and rows of coordinating color. The last one that I made was awhile ago and it was just random rainbow! <3

Those came out beautiful and rich!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58551.10
ETH 2514.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35