Rug Hooking Supplies trickling in :)

in #crafts7 years ago

I am so excited...

First to arrive is the Amy Oxford Rug Punch #14 , Fine Hook. This is for Punch Needle hooking, which will be the first style I work on.

I have very small hands, so was concerned what the handle size would be. But it is not too big, and I think I could work with it for hours with not much finger strain.

IMG_1688.jpg

With this needle I will be able to use a continuous ball of yarn, or thin strips of size 3 or 4...allowing me to do fine detail and shading.

IMG_1689.jpg

Next will be dye cards, made by my new found Dye Goddess Lucy, from The Wooly Mason Jar. She has put an amazing set of cards together with many values...and a system for mixing dyes using primaries that allows simple remixing with dye lots that come out super close to identical each time. Not only am I impressed, but she's reached dye Goddess status to me :)

If you dye wool or silk, you might really enjoy her videos...

Thanks for reading, more updates soon!

This is a Steemit original, all words and photos by Elew

Homesteaders Online

Sort:  

I am looking forward to seeing what you make!

It will be a fun adventure :)

Hi! Great, i love living vicariously through you right now-- does this needle leave loops on the back side of the piece, or are you tying knots on the front? I'm eager to see how it works!

Yes it does leave a loop. With this style you are working from the back, so when finished you turn it over. The end result is the same as traditional hooking, no knotting :) Once I get started I will post some photos, but you can look up needle punch in youtube too and there are a few good videos.
I am glad you like to read my posts <3

beautiful! thanks for the info I will definitely look it up. have fun creating with this new toy!

I too am excited to see how this turns out. I rugged hooked all the time as a child, now I am learning a new skill of rag rug braiding.

I saw your post on the braided rugs, which is an awesome skill too! I guess we will be the rug makers this year :) I cannot wait to see the ocean one...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58630.93
ETH 2517.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35