Not wasting time on the 2018 list

in #crafts7 years ago

I like to learn a new (hopefully useful) skill each year. 2017 was Pyrography, and top on my list for 2018 is Rug Hooking.

My window of free time is now until April, at which point the jewelry shop really kicks in and I spend the summer mainly on metalwork. Sooo...jumping right in!

I am planning on starting with a few kits, just to get the basics down, and then if I like it, I will get both feet in and start designing my own, dying the wool to create the designs the way I see them, etc...

This is the first design /kit (though I only bought the pattern and will dye my own wool). It is a Punch Needle design. I have done regular hooking before, so thought it might be nice to learn a new technique as well.
il_fullxfull.1172871232_sdom.jpg

This pattern has sold out, but you can find her Etsy shop here https://www.etsy.com/shop/YvonneBuus?ref=l2-shopheader-name She does beautiful work!

The Pyrography I learned last year is ongoing...I still have Much to learn. These are a few of my favorites so far.

Blue Whale Leather Barrette with Wooden Stick Pyrography 1e.jpg

Butterfly Leather Barrette with Wooden Stick Pyrography 1f.jpg

Dreamer Fairy and Butterflies Pyrography and Dye Standard Leather Travelers Notebook 1c.jpg
I have created this journal with Original Fairy-Tangles™ Artwork ©Norma J Burnell, courtesy of Norma, who has graciously allowed me to burn her drawings onto our journals :) Her Etsy shop can be found here www.etsy.com/shop/FairyTangleArt/

I am feeling completely entranced by the rug hooking, and where it could go. I see rugs, pillows, wall hangings, unique journal covers...even bags, jackets and slippers :) But most importantly I see a skill that will keep us warmer in the times to come, and a skill that can be used for barter...

Check back for progress updates, I am hoping to start within the next two weeks :)

This is a Steemit Original, all words by Elew, Photos by Elew and Yvonne...

Sort:  

You're incredibly talented. I'm very impressed with your work and I can't wait to see how that rug turns out.

Aww, thanks :) Me too, it is going to be a fun learning experience...

i really loved the one with whale. looks fantastic!

Thank you :) Me too...It took a while to make, but it was worth every minute!

Oh now that is nice and yes a skill to learn!

Yes! I am so excited :D (I hope it is not too hard on the fingers...we will see)

Wow, these are amazing! How much time did these took?

Thank you :) The Pyrography on leather takes hours and hours...The small ones like the barrettes take an hour to 3 hours...but the journal took 3 weeks of working on it a few hours each night.

I would love to learn it but unfortunately I don't have much free time right now :(. Anyways thanks for sharing!

You are welcome. It took me about 3 months of playing with the burner on leather to get a good feel for it, so hopefully if you have time at some point you will be able to. Wood burning is more forgiving, because if you make a mistake you can sand it down and fix it. I am a glutton for punishment though, so started off on leather.

his post really good

Thank you :)

You already know how I feel about your work! <3

Ahh, the feeling is mutual :) What do you think about hooked journal covers? I am thinking they would be nice and heavy and the perfect tactile journal for some people...

Girl, go for it!!

This one is BEAUTIFUL!

Such handiwork you have!

Thank you <3 She is one of my absolute favorites too!

Awesome creations and Happy New Year to you and yours Elew.

Thanks Woody, I hope you both have a wonderful year ahead...

Please Like My posts I liked you

Such detailed artwork with such a unique style... really love all the pieces, but the one with the woman at the bottom is my favorite.

Really great job!
Cheers

Thank you Max :) Zentangle is one of my favorite styles, very intricate and takes forEver, but so beautiful when done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64856.09
ETH 3426.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56