Mixing the Dyes From the Wooly Mason Jar

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I was so excited to receive the dyes that I had to mix them and start playing! The wool I will be using for the needle punch design has not come in yet, but as I plan to use these dyes for silks as well, I thought I would give it a go.

silk 1n.jpg

Mixing the dyes.


Lucy (The Wooly Mason Jar Goddess) has made such an amazing dye system with the colour cards you see above, and exact dye to fabric measurements by weight...I am hoping that I will be able to mix dye lots so similar I no longer have customers asking why it is lighter, or darker...or whatever the old dyes decided to do on any given day.

Here I am measuring 1.00 g of primary yellow with 0.10 g of chocolate brown, into 1 C hot water. These are mixed in a mason jar where I label them and they will live for future use.

silk 1f.jpg

silk 1e.jpg

silk 1d.jpg

silk 1c.jpg

Lucy sent the little gram scale, measuring trays, awesome spoons, dyes, colour cards, citric acid, and a little bottle of Synthropol with the kit...and it was Well worth it!! Everything I needed to get started...

silk 1b.jpg

I mixed the 3 Primary colours, and then Black, Charcoal, and Grey.

silk 1a.jpg

Dying some silks

As a trial, I wanted to do two values each in a blue, and purple...with Lucy's microwave method to see how it would work with silk.

First soaking the silk (had already been washed in non-detergent soap.

silk 1l.jpg

Adding the amount of dye needed for 10 g fabric to a jar of warm water to get the value I wanted the silk to be (all on the colour cards)

silk 1k.jpg

Dunking the silk into the dye water...pressing out as many air bubbles as possible, and letting it sit for a while.

silk 1j.jpg

Then I popped it in the microwave for 5 minutes, and...Hahaha, I don't think jars will work for silk

silk 1i.jpg

So I switched it to a casserole dish and put it back in for another 5 minutes. Added 3 teaspoons of citric acid melted into some warm water...and it came out Beautiful!!

silk 1h.jpg

Then I started playing, mixing the purple from the card directions...and this time I only used the casserole dish. It worked beautifully.

silk 1g.jpg

Notes to Self

The microwave method will work beautifully if I have a custom silk order, or just want to play with new colours, multi colours, or smaller swatches of wool.

When dying 10 plus silks in one colour for the shop, I think using a pot will work best.

And I LOVE these dyes, as well as the system Lucy put together, I am very grateful I found her!!! :)

Edit - Lucy said she puts it in the microwave for 2 minutes, not 5. Not sure why I have 5 in my mind but next time I will try 2... :)

silk 1m.jpg

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed...

This is a Steemit original, all words and photos by Elew


Homesteaders Online

Sort:  

Oh my, I can so see you getting lost in the colors!

hehe, yep...I might be in trouble! Maybe I will still get other things done if I limit the amount of white silks I get in, and try not to get too much wool :) If I am super well behaved and Only get the wool I need for each project.
This might be as bad as beads though...

LOL I am sooo not seeing any of that happening my friend, that if is pretty deep....

Hahahaha...yeah, but I like to Think I can behave ;)

Bwahaha from one multi medium crafter to another I know what the future is and behaving is not gonna happen!

Very cool! Beautiful colors!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58224.09
ETH 2508.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34