Strange Sky In Kuching: A Sign Of Things To Come?

in #nature7 years ago

Today being the 60th Independence Day of Malaysia is a public holiday and I decided to bring my son Jonathan for a walk at the Stutong Forest Reserve which was located quite near my house. It was a a bright and sunny day and everything seem normal. I happened to look up the sky and to my surprise there was a rainbow ring circling the sun. It was a beautiful sight and this is the first time that I have seen such a phenomenon. I asked to myself, what could this mean? Is it a sign or an omen of things to come?


The jogging track at Stutong Forest Reserve. Everything seems normal.


As usual, there were monkeys in the forest reserve.


When I reached home, I decided to take another photo of the sun

Sun Halo

This ring around the sun is called 22-degree sun halo by scientists because the radius of the ring is about 22 degree around the sun. Therefore this is actually a natural phenomenon and there is a scientific explanation for its occurrence. The atmosphere around us consist of a mixture of gases (which includes oxygen and nitrogen) and water vapor. It seems that the water vapor condenses and freezes into ice crystals at high attitude. The halo is created when sunlight passes through the ice crystals causing both splitting and reflection of the light. However the halo can also be caused by other fine particles in the atmosphere. As it seems odd that ice crystals can be present in hot tropical Borneo, this particular halo must be caused by the fine particles.

Meaning Of Sun Halos

There is an old saying that the sun halo means that rain will come soon or a distant storm. There is a bit of truth to that as the presence of ice crystals in cirrus clouds can bring rain.

Reference
https://weather.com/news/news/sun-halos-florida-20140416

Do check out my previous posts

Let Us Dare To Dream
Trans-Mongolia Adventure : Frolicking In Idyllic Village Of Khuzir
This Thing Called R
Never, Never Give Up

Spreading positivity one post at a time.
Charles

If you like my writing please up-vote, share and comment. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Steemit by resteeming this post.

Sort:  

Upvoted and followed (^.^) Gotta love the magnificent photos!

Thank you so much. There are more beautiful photos here.
Trans-Mongolia Adventure : Frolicking In Idyllic Village Of Khuzir
Following you as well.

Nice! It's not everyday one get to see a 22° Halo, much less a 22° Sun Halo. Your explanation is perfect and informative. And the picture is just beautiful!

It is indeed very unique and also my first time to see a sun halo. I have also taken beautiful photos of Lakw Baikal for my Trans- Mongolia Adventure. Do check it out.

That is a lovely shot you managed @positvesteem I have seen the sun like this and the moon. Does not happen often but a beautiful sight to behold.

It is indeed a very beautiful sight. Some say it is a bad omen but we should look at it from a scientific point of view.

You were lucky! Your post was selected for an upvote!
Read about that initiative
logo

Thank you so much.

These are some magnificent pictures of nature @positivesteem. That is a beautiful picture of the sun being surrounded by a rainbow. If the meaning is true I pray that those in the surrounding areas remain safe during those time. Her in the states we had a bad storm hit Texas and it's under water as we speak. Great acts of nature are inevitable yet we as humans play a major role due to our carbon footprints.

#circleoffriends

Yes, it was very beautiful. I hope that it will be just a little rain. Yes, I have seen photos of the damage done by the storm. I pray that there is fast relief to all who are suffering there. Can you tell me more about the circle of friends hashtag?

Nice. It reminds me of this walk I took in South Africa called the Otter Trail. It was difficult but satisfying. Hope you have a WONDERFUL DAY! Following YOU!

Thanks for dropping by. I am interested in nature and travelling to the natural wonders of the world. Check out my post on the largest freshwater lake of the world. Trans-Mongolia Adventure : Frolicking In Idyllic Village Of Khuzir
Following you too.

Always afraid of monkeys coming to steal stuff :O

The monkeys have enough food in the forest so they do not disturb others.

I've seen this once before - isn't it beautiful and a bit mysterious?

This is my first time. It is beautiful and people interpret it differently. Some say it is a bad omen.

I like monkeys. They are amazing animals. Thanks for sharing

The monkeys are quite playful but they do not disturb others.

Yes it was beautiful.

Whatever @resteembot resteems, I resteem too!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot
I will automatically resteem posts resteemed by @resteembot until 2017-09-01 00:00:01 +00:00
If you want to read more about me, read my introduction post.

Thank you very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64781.14
ETH 3119.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53