Trans Mongolia Adventure: Frolicking In Idyllic Village of Khuzir, Siberia ( A Pictorial Story)steemCreated with Sketch.


The village of Khuzir can be seen from a distance at the far left.

The village of Khuzir is one of the 5 villages in Olkhon Island, the world largest lake-bound island. Khuzir is the administrative center of Olkhon Island and it's inhabitants are mostly Buryats, Russians of Mongolian descent who are primarily involved in fishing and farming. Despite Lake Baikal being one of the most popular lakes in Russia and scores of tourists descend on it especially in summer, Khuzir is untouched by time and tourism. In fact time seems to stand still for this tiny village. The presence of guesthouses indicate the importance of tourism to it's economy.


The landmark of Khuzir is the Burkhan Rock which is a "two-headed" marble rock referred to Burkhan in the local language.


These ritual poles are used for Shamanistic worship by the Buryats.


The village of Khuzir, the red building on the left is an art gallery.


The main street of Khuzir with its pedestrian crossing.


The houses have beautiful decorative windows


Local kids playing football at the school field


A sundry shop selling goods and basic supplies.


Pharmacy at Khuzir. Notice the recycling bins in front of the pharmacy.


A clothing store


Beautiful paintings for sale at an art gallery.


An outdoor artwork outside the art gallery.


The local discotheque, it was still early when this photo was taken and so there were no patrons yet.


Shaman exhibits at the local lore museum at Khuzir


A comfortable guesthouse at Khuzir


A farmer and his cows along the dusty road of Khuzir.


Continue to follow my adventure as I journeyed across the Trans-Mongolian Rail.

Do check out my previous posts

This Thing Called R
Never, Never Give Up

Spreading positivity one post at a time.
Charles

If you like my writing please up-vote, share and comment. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Steemit by resteeming this post.

Sort:  

wow, beautiful place, really!

Yes it is truly beautiful, you should visit if you have the chance.

My uncle told me :"I did this with friends in 1992. The journey could only be arranged through Intourist, the state travel agent, whose rep failed to show up when we arrived in Moscow late at night. Local people helped us with metro fares, heart warming at a time where there was little food in the shops unless you had dollars.

The journey went on forever, the restaurant car running on Moscow time so that meals (chicken bone stew) were only available when we weren't hungry. Our supplies of beer were gradually plundered by guards, mysterious fees of fifty dollars to cross into Mongolia, radish sellers touting for business, and at every stop a team of wheel tappers checking the carriages. It was an amazing experience to arrive in China having gone the whole way overland."

You should try to do this too if you have the opportunity. Now it is much easier to travel to Russia, but applying for a Russian visa can take some time. It is an epic journey for me.

Why not?? i will visit it..

So funny. Sounds like an adventure. As late as 1992, wow. Did they fly to Europe and then travel over land from there to Mongolia?

It really is very beautiful

I enjoyed the beauty of the place, it is mesmerizing. Thanks for dropping by and re-steeming this post.

Very beautiful pics. I would love the opportunity to travel like that; it's one of my main goals in joining Steemit.

The recycling bins are an interesting note; technology and tradition bringing us full circle. In the past, no waste or pollution because people lived closer to the earth. Then came advancement and abundance and waste and waste (lol) then came the recycling bins because we re-realized the old wisdom and now we minimize ... waste again.

I was quite surprised by the presence of the recycling bin. This place maybe isolated but it still subscribe to the concept of reducing wastage.

Discotheque is so cool...nothing like our zouk.

Zouk is happening, but this discotheque is classical and cool

I would choose this place over zouk anytime

That is such a beautiful place. Thank you for sharing. I had no idea that is where the biggest lake-bound island is.

It is a very beautiful place indeed. This place is also good for hiking as well. Do check out my latest post of my Trans-Mongolia Adventure.
Hidden Gems Of Magnificent Moscow: Canteen 57
By the way, I am following you now.

Thanks, @positivesteem, I really appreciate your support. In case you haven't picked it up already, I struggle with internet access here (we're on a remote island and our bandwidth is throttled), so I only post when I can get my stories to a friend in South Africa who formats my posts and does the image hosting for me. There's no way I could do that here. It means I can usually do one or two posts a month. Not much, I know, and when I'm back in South Africa next year I'm hoping to post a lot more about my experiences. In the meantime, it makes a big difference to me to know there are people out there supporting us (and even thinking about us!). Following you too, but I struggle to read other people's posts for the same reasons I mentioned earlier. Any chance I could find your posts on Facebook? Our access through FB is much better, although still constrained.

lots of great photos ! Thanks for sharing your adventure with us ! 💕✌👍

The scenery is spectacular. It is an adventure of a lifetime.

No doubt my friend it looks fabulous !👍👍👍

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.
Check out the other content resteemed by @resteembot.
Some of it is really cool!

Amazing journey it must have been!! I really enjoyed looking at the pictures and now I wish to travel there as well. Thank you for sharing.

Amazing story!!@positivesteem
I also write about my travels check it out :)

Followed and upvoted
upvote and follow me @zalb together we can succeed and share interesting stories!

Thanks for your support. I will check out your travels too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53778.84
ETH 2224.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30