Paper Wasp - Up Close Photo and Video [ 🎥 38 second video!]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature7 years ago

It was still early and I was standing at my gate waiting for a friend to come over to buy a few jars of honey. Yesterday I spent several hours extracting honey from the hives that we keep in the back of our little farm. I thin it was because I was being very calm enjoying the morning breeze and the song birds singing their morning tunes that I was able to capture this moment.

Red and Yellow Paper Wasp Photo


Paper Wasp Eating Video

Wasps are generally hated. They are considered a nuisance and a pest, but I actually like them. Yes, I've removed some nests when they get to close to our doors on our house, but in general I leave them alone. Wasps are actually very beneficial in the garden. They eat a lot of the pests that like to eat our veggies.

If they aren't bothering you, you may want to leave them to do their thing!


My 5 Most Recent Posts

*for your upvoting pleasure*

ImageTitle Link
daddykirbs blogFirst Honey Harvest This Year! - Using the Spinning Honey Extractor
daddykirbs blogThis sneaked right past me today! - Many years on YouTube paying off?
daddykirbs blogHead Massage! [ 🎥 39 second video!]
daddykirbs blogMaggie the Sweet Horse! - Characters of My Story
daddykirbs blogThe Tortoise and the Hare - Wanna Race?


Steemit-Homesteaders-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Gardeners-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Beekeepers-Daddykirbs-300.pngsteemit-dads-daddykirbs-small.png

Get your Steemit Homesteading badge here !
Get your Steemit Gardening badge here !
Get your Steemit Beekeeping badge here


Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!


Sort:  

I used to watch a "cousin" of this paper wasp in Germany as a child...they are almost all dark reddish brown. Just chewing away on the wooden garden house my granny had. They never bothered people like the yellow jackets. I like them too-very nice video!

Wow, nice video!

That's the way I like them; over at your house, not at mine!

were they eating grubs ? interesting capture thanks for sharing

It looked like it could have been a grub.

Great video! You don`t get a chance to see that very often.

What were they eating? Great camera catch!

I couldn't tell if they were eating grubs or manipulating materials for the nest. It kinda looked like a grub or caterpillar.

Awesome photo/video! I'll take wasps over ground hornets any day, but I'm pretty sure all of them are harboring the cure to some devastating disease in their venom sacks. That stuff has to be good for something besides causing pain.

Indeed! I'm sure that venom has some positive uses. Now, who is gonna milk them? LOL

A robot with a latex hand connected to a milking jar?

Great video :) They look nothing like the type we have in the UK.

Cool video. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64623.67
ETH 3421.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51