My Top 10 favorite Jethro Tull SongssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Jethro Tull

Jethro Tull is an important rock 'n' roll band along my musical education. One of my mother's working colleague was influential in my discovery of this legendary group. His name was Sylvain, and he gave me the Stormwatch tour programme he bought during the 1979 Stormwatch Tour. He also gave me a picture he took of Ian Anderson standing on one feet and holding his flute on stage. The photo was taken in 1979, when I was only two years old.

Then on 08/21/2002, I had the chance to see them for myself at the Place des Arts with one of my friends. To this day, it is still the most memorable musical event I got to witness in my life.

Also on a personal note, in the Heavy Horses lyrics there is a mention of ''the Percheron vie'', a reference to the Perche province where my ancestors used to take care of percherons, a breed of draft horse that originated in western France. If I remember correctly, my great-grandfather still took care of horses here in America until the day he got kicked by one to the point of trauma.


10 - Rocks on the Road

(Album: Catfish Rising ; Album Released: 10 Sept. 1991 (US) / 23 Sept. 1991 (UK))


9 - Steel Monkey

(Album: Crest of a Knave ; Album Released: 11 September 1987)


8 - Aqualung

(Album: Aqualung ; Song Released: 19 March 1971)


7 - Minstrel in the Gallery

(Album: Minstrel in the Gallery ; Album Released: 5 Sept. 1975 (UK) / 8 Sept. 1975 (US))


6 - Heavy Horses

(Album: Heavy Horses ; Album Released: 10 April 1978 (US) / 21 April 1978 (UK))


5 - Witch's Promise

(Album: Living in the Past ; Album Released: 23 June 1972 (UK) / 31 October 1972 (US))


4 - Life Is a Long Song

(Album: Living in the Past ; Album Released: 23 June 1972 (UK) / 31 October 1972 (US))


3 - Hunting Girl

(Album: Songs from the Wood ; Album Released: 11 February 1977)


2 - Dun Ringill

(Album: Stormwatch ; Album Released: 14 September 1979 (UK) / (US)


1 - Jack A Lynn

(Album: Broadsword and the Beast ; Album Released: 10 April 1982 (UK) / 19 April 1982 (US))

Sort:  

You have excellent taste. Here's my current top 10 off the top of my head:

  1. Heavy Horses
  2. Budapest
  3. A Change of Horses
  4. The Whaler's Dues
  5. Minstrel in the Gallery
  6. Moths
  7. Toad in the Hole
  8. Seal Driver
  9. Flying Dutchman
  10. Beside Myself

I left off "Thick as a Brick" and "A Passion Play" as they are something more than "songs". There are so many pieces I love and the list would be different tomorrow or perhaps an hour from now. I've loved Tull since I first discovered them in 1969 and have seen them over 30 times. Ian and his band are coming to Seattle in June and I'll be there as usual.

Any Jethro Tull song is on my "top ten" list!

Oh my.. Jethro Tull has so many songs... and this makes the situation a tough one :)

If I had to do a fast 5-min pick (with my 5-min memory) of top 10 Jethro Tull Songs, I'd say:

  • Hunting Girl
  • We Used To Know
  • Songs From the Wood
  • A New Day Yesterday
  • Bourée
  • Living In the Past
  • Heavy Horses
  • Locomotive Breath
  • Aqualung
  • A Song For Jeffrey

I excluded all the "long tracks"... and obiously all the tracks I did not remember at the moment. Also... it was impossible to decide the order. But oh... Ok, got to keep working. Bye :)

Ian Anderson is a genius btw.

Yes, I concur, so many great Jethro Tull songs. :-)

Thus, it was hard to make a choice for me too.

Love your list too! I've already posted about We Used To Know & Locomotive Breath elsewhere on Steemit so I decided to leave them out of my picks. Plus, A New Day Yesterday, Bourée & Songs From the Wood came to mind when preparing this My Top 10 post. The thing with Dun Ringill & Jack A Lynn is that younger I seldom had the chance to listen to them because I had to borrow the CDs from the 20 Years of Jethro Tull boxed set from my brother. This way, I developped a specific liking for these two songs as they seemed like exclusive material to me.

Yeah, I've also excluded the long tracks. There is Thick as a Brick, of course, but I particularly enjoy listening to A Passion Play.

Jethro Tull - The Story of The Hare Who Lost His Spectacles

I agree, Ian Anderson is a genius. It doesn't make sense that Jethro Tull are not in the Rock 'N Roll Hall of Fame.

https://www.quora.com/Why-is-Jethro-Tull-not-in-the-Rock-N-Roll-Hall-of-Fame

Yes I totally get you... A Passion Play... I think I have an obsession with that one. Obviously Thick as a brick is also a masterpiece. I am glad I found your posts :)

Glad, you found it too! It's not everyday I meet a fellow Jethro Tull fan! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56554.08
ETH 2343.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41