My Top 10 favorite Pink Floyd SongssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago (edited)

In 1994, I went to my first rock concert. Like every new experience in a young person's life, it had the potential to be a memorable event I would remember thoughout my whole life, leaving a permanent generally positive or negative mental inprint.

And damn, was it one for the good keeps! Being part of The Division Bell Tour by Pink Floyd, which was the famous English prog rock band's last concert tour, the stars were all aligned for the evening to be a success! It didn't disappoint, and I couldn't care less if people were to say the Olympic Stadium in Montreal isn't ideal for the sound to travel properly. The very fact that I was part of the 187,302 people attending over the course of three shows in three days, the greatest number of tickets sold in all of the North American cities for that tour, made me feel like making history.

Adding a little touch of mystic to the event, there was even a rumour to the effect that Nostradamus had made a prediction that went something like: at this point in history there would be a significant three-day event, and many people would die as a result.

I went at The Big O on May 23, the second night, and this time it was not to watch the Montreal Expos or the Montreal Machine play, but to listen to one of my favorite legendary rock bands.

I ask you: how does it get more symbolic for a young adult at the peak of his teenage angst and rebellious years than to shout We don't need no education alongside his pals with no authority figures in sight?


10 - High Hopes

(Album: The Division Bell ; Single Released: 17 October 1994)


9 - Louder Than Words

(Album: The Endless River ; Single Released: 14 October 2014)


8 - Learning To Fly

(Album: A Momentary Lapse of Reason ; Single Released: 14 September 1987)


7 - Any Colour You Like

(Album: The Dark Side of the Moon ; Recorded: January 1973 at Abbey Road Studios, London)


6 - The Final Cut

(Album: The Final Cut ; Released: 21 March 1983 (UK) / 2 April 1983 (US))


5 - Sheep

(Album: Animals ; Released: 23 January 1977 (UK) / 2 February 1977 (US))


4 - Echoes

(Album: Meddle ; Released: 30 October 1971 (US) / 5 November 1971 (UK))


3 - Hey You

(Album: The Wall ; Released: 30 November 1979 (UK) / 8 December 1979 (US))


2 - Mother

(Album: The Wall ; Recorded: April–November 1979)


1 - Comfortably Numb

(Album: The Wall ; Single Released: 23 June 1980)


To have an idea how the show in 1994 was like, here is an amateur video putted on YouTube by someone who happened to be there the very same night I was:

pink floyd 1994 05 23 Montreal Olympic Stadium

Sort:  

Great post!
One of my favorite top ten bands!

I liked some of the songs on the Wall, but their really good stuff was on the first two albums (with Syd Barrett). I saw them in Philly in '68 after Saucer Full of Secrets came out!

Lucky you for seeing them in their primes!

I have Syd Barrett's The Madcap Laughs solo album, and I enjoy listening to it from time to time. Also, I thought of including the song Astronomy Domine from the album The Piper at the Gates of Dawn, but I always felt that Voivod, an heavy metal band from Jonquière, Québec, have made a better remake than the original:

Voivod - Astronomy Domine

Thanks, I've never heard this! Piper at the Gates of Dawn is one of my favorite albums. I was listening to it when most people were listening to the Beatles!

You, sir, have good tastes: Pink Floyd over the Beatles, Frank Zappa, old black & white movie classics... !

Thank you! The Beatles were a product of Tavistock Institute. Wait until you see what I post today...I found a copy of Dante's Inferno from 1911!

Just saw your post: nice visuals! I've never read Dante's Inferno. Which circle of Hell is the Tavistock Institute in? ;-P

It's kind of strange how pop music culture often has a tendancy to be more subtly ''inclined toward the dark side'' (for a better way to express it) than let's say heavy metal which is suppose to be the rebellious genre par excellence. I would supposed that it could be explained by the idea that when not rebelling against the Rex Mundi/Demiurge, one could be considered as choosing the side of evil.

Yesterday_WEB_Today_ThirdState_HA_89275.jpg

I guess we need a new thread. If you really study evil; evil is beautiful. Lucifer was the most beautiful of the angels. If you want evil I say look in Hollywood and as far as music goes look at Beyonce (who I don't find that attractive but...) or Britany Spears, Katy Perry et al. Metal is the rejection of beauty. Damn, I had forgotten about the Beatles cover

Makes a lot of sense! On the other hand, a greasy and long hair metal head is sure no icon of beauty!

I'll let you in on a secret: I think Katy Perry is hot, and I like a couple of her songs.

My favorite is Firework:

Katy Perry - Firework

She's hot...no doubt about it!!! People always look at Rob Zombie and say- That's evil! I say, no that's bizarre...evil is beautiful! I think I've got some good nudies on Pinterest of her

I've just started following you on Pinterest. You got some nice collections there. Follow me back if you want, my username is the same: heroic15397.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58140.63
ETH 3077.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33