My Top 10 favorite Prog Rock bands

in #progrock8 years ago (edited)

TITLE SAYS IT ALL

TO ALL THE PASSIONATES OUT THERE




10. Premiata Forneria Marconi (PFM)

My neighbour was the one to insist, sharing together a common taste for 70's progressive rock, that I should know about this italian band. Prog rock being as big of an interest in Italy as in Quebec province, or most latin roots speaking countries for that matter, it came to me with no surprise that the peninsula shaped in the form of a boot would give birth to this remarkable band.

Celebration, the second track from Photos of Ghosts:

9. Emerson, Lake & Palmer (ELP)

You would have a hard time believing that as few as only three guys are able to achieve this marvelous sound just by mixing the play of their instruments together. This remarkable feat is achieve by Keith Emerson, the guy who loves to put knives and fire to his keyboards, Greg Lake, the one filling the role for all things guitar, and Carl Palmer who won't start a drum solo without taking off his shirt first.

The Barbarian, the first track from Emerson, Lake & Palmer:

8. King Crimson

Those who need a dose of improvisation in their music fix will be thrilled. Strange sounds coming from all sides will have you entered in a concerto for the deranged frenzy, your only way out being you keep up to the beat.

Starless, the fifth track from Red:

7. Jethro Tull

Are you ready to rock?! How about some Jethro Tull to relieve some of that rockalicious hunger of yours? It's a well balanced plate to savor with Ian Anderson theatrics and flute on one side and Martin Barre's riffs and solos on the other. The most memorable show I attended in my life was when they came to visit at the Place des Arts, here in Montreal.

Locomotive's Breath, the tenth track from Aqualung:

6. Yes

Whenever you put some Yes in your ears, you can be sure to embark for a trip to all kind of imaginary worlds, with Jon Anderson's trippy voice as your travelling ticket. I once enjoyed them live outdoors featuring as the principle attraction of a free concert at Parc Jean-Drapeau.

Wonderous Stories, the fourth track form Going for the One:

5. Genesis

Genesis needs no presentation having count among its members popular musicians such as Peter Gabriel and Phil Collins. Still, I would like to introduce you to its little brother: The Musical Box, a Genesis tribute band supported by some of its orginal members. Saw them live during the noughties, it's an enchanting experience.

Watcher of the Skies, the first track from Foxtrot

4. Marillion

Marillion fill the shoes as legitimate successors to Genesis' legendary music, in my humble opinion. Unlike all the other bands here, their career started after the seventies, during the eighties, that is why some consider it as being neo-progressive.

Kayleigh, the second track from Misplaced Childhood:

3. Camel

This is a band I literally discovered on You Tube. Not sure, but I probably heard about them through the grapevine before. Nonetheless, my first listening at their material really happened on Google's popular video viewing platform. The reason it ranks so up in my list is not because I'm familiar with and enjoy most of their stuff but is due quite to the opposite, the better part of it I'm not acquainted with and new in some ways always seems to get ahead of old when it comes to music taste.

Lady Fantasy, the fifth track from Mirage:

2. Gentle Giant

The first Gentle Giant album I got myself was, funnily enough, Acquiring the Taste. I immediately fell in love with their medieval and experimental style. I've got all 12 albums. I Like them all except maybe the last one, Civilian, which is quite ordinary in contrast with the rest of their career, in my opinion.

Proclamation, the first track from The Power and the Glory:

1. Eloy

Eloy is a late discovery of mine. Progressive rock was my favorite genre of music in my twenties but this particular band came to my attention only later in my thirties. Maybe this late finding can be said to be in part because of the fact that, contrary to most prog rock musical groups being british, this one might have had less worldwide visibilty coming from Germany. Let me share an interesting anecdote about how Eloy entered my life. When I was in my teen years I bought a mounted poster of a drawing I was attracted to, because I liked the fantasy image of course, but also because of the soothing feeling that transpired from its cold colours. I didn't care to know so I didn't really pay attention to what the poster was about. Suddenly, after more than a decade seeing it hanging on my wall and by the time I was into Eloy, I finally realized to my surprise that the small caption at the bottom left of it identified the image as TIME TO TURN from the record of the same title by Eloy. What a coincidence!

The Sun-Song, the third track from Dawn:

The TIME TO TURN from Rodney Matthews (1983) on my wall:

Photo0221eb31c.jpg




PLEASE, DON'T BE SHY TO SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS OR VIDEOS RELATED TO PROG ROCK BELOW.

THANK YOU!

Sort:  

Some excellent choices. I would have ordered the bands differently, but what proghead will agree with another about such details? I have to say that I am pleased that you included Camel; it is a band that is too often overlooked, and when not overlooked, underrated. And the song you chose, Lady Fantasy, is one my top three favorite songs by that group. There's a guitar solo in it that still floors me. Even after 40 years of listening.

While I enjoy both Marillion (I have a specific memory of hearing Script for a Jester's Tear for the first time--a transcendent moment. Thanks, John) and Eloy, my own list would contain, instead, UK and Kansas. That's the nature of personal choices, though, isn't it? They're personal.

Way back when. Oh, yes, an "old" guy is about to pontificate. Back when I was (thankfully) introduced to the genre of progressive rock, parents, friends, and just-regular folk criticized the song lengths, the odd time signatures, Steve Howe's guitar sound (in particular), and the "spacey" lyrics, among other things. All of which characteristics (and more!) enchanted me. In the 80s, when prog rock groups were labeled "dinosaurs," I was as offended as any of my fellow proggers was. So after having sustained decades of animus from disco bunnies and punks and parents and teachers and top-40 lovers, prog is experiencing a well-deserved resurgence. (So there! Nyah!)

Something I would note: Though it is impossible to know "what would have been," I feel strongly that my current eclectic taste in music would never have developed if not for my having been pointed in the direction of prog. I wonder, would I ever have heard of the Penguin Café Orchestra? If I had, would I have given ear to a group with such a strange name were I not already enjoying measure after measure of song from Happy the Man, a group with--it seemed to me at the time--an equally odd moniker? Where would I stand today on Steve Reich? How would I react to The Aristocrats? Would I ever have experienced the blazing guitar lines of Al Di Meola? And really, would I still name Take Five as one of my favorite all-around pieces of music (just ahead of--or is it just behind? I can never decide--Gymnopédies) Prior to progressive rock, I listened to the radio and my father's albums. That's what there was, as far as I was aware. To be fair, my dad had Sgt. Pepper's and In Search of a Lost Chord, so I guess I had already been nudged in the right direction.

Prog Rock, the gateway music.

Hey @dicebot, what song should I listen to? 1D10

Lady Fantasy it will be! Thanks! I'm glad I learned about you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87