Chronic and Coffee MSP Review--25 SBD contest for the best MSPWAVES Radio Reviews

in #mspwavesreview6 years ago (edited)

I am a frequent listener to the many shows put on by mspwaves.com. Today I will be reviewing the show Chronic and Coffee hosted by @fracasgrimm. His show airs UTC 4:00 am - 6:00 am which is 10pm-12am CST in USA (my timezone). Like many of the other radio hosts, he uploads recordings of his shows after they occur, so go have a listen!! RESPECT!


These mspwaves radio reviews are being encouraged by @pennsif to raise awareness and exposure for the shows on mspwaves. To do so, he is a offering an amazing contest with a prize of up to 25 SBD for the best reviews on the current shows. Here are more details on his contest. If you are a regular, post up reviews! If you have not listened before, tune in sometime! Don't be a stranger. ( :






There are many really great shows. A little bit of something for everyone. You can find the information on all of the shows and showtimes on www.mspwaves.com. For higher quality audio you should consider logging on through the website to listen. Anyone can listen there, whether or not they are a Discord user. You do have to be a Discord user in order to chat, though. I highly recommend that because the chatroom is part of the great experience. Meme, gifs, and emojis make the real time interaction top notch, albeit usually not high class. hehe


I usually listen through Discord which can have a lot of glitches, such as sound dropping out, but I prefer listening there so I can chat and listen all in one place. While it's suggested in the contest rules to optionally include a screenshot of the reviewer (in this case me) in the chat room, unfortunately my phone does not have enough storage so you'll just have to trust me that I was there. I listen most often on my phone because I can dilly dally on discord even when I am unable to get on the computer. Because the show is awesome AND it fits into my nocturnal lifestyle, I am able to catch Chronic and Coffee pretty regularly, whereas with many of my other favorite shows I only get to hear part of them, or miss them entirely.


I like listening to @fracasgrimm because he is an interesting person who is true to himself and expresses himself without restriction. He is conscientious and polite, but he is unwaveringly himself, too, with no apologies. His show focuses on interviews and discussions with guests, as well as playing a variety of music. Most of it is hiphop. The mean mug you, lean wit it, rollin deep, gangsta hiphop. One of my favorites. I think this was a great timeslot fit as his show starts just as @crimsonclad's show FULL FORCE THURSDAY raps up. He asks very thoughtful questions of his guests, included his lovely wife on his show by recording her saying the legal disclaimer, and is generally entertaining. Because he is attentive to the people in the chat room, following along with their comments while hosting the show, he is great about posting the spotify title and track of the song being played when asked for it.


In the episode that I listened to on Thursday night, the usual person he has on his show helping him with the technical side while he hosts wasn't able to be there. That put extra stress on Grimm. He is fairly new to the @mspwaves radio lineup and has had a little bit of a bumpy start. Plus, it's hard to manage all the technical things, in general, without a cohost. His nerves were high because of this.


@jackdub and @llfarms came on very short notice as they were listening and in the chat room. They discussed projects they're working on related to homesteading. @jackdub talked about a contest he is doing Digging for offgrid water system posts 7sbd contest. I'd love to participate in that but right now my watering system here on my homestead is non operational. It needs repairs and redesigned. I will have to sit this contest out. He hung around and chitchatted in general about homesteading, as well.


@llfarms discussed how she is passing her time on steemit being a homesteading curator for @helpie, as well as curating for @curie. She is a tremendously busy steemian supporting when any opportunity presents itself. She also has some of the most detailed professional posts I've seen on this platform, EVER! She and her husband @normok are doing a super interesting series about building beehives from pallets. The current one called Complete beehive made from scrap pallet wood or full picture tutorial is so amazing they actually got their own @curie on it. You will see why when you go visit her link. (if you want to see the types of posts that @curie likes to choose, hers is a prime example)


That brings me to the two things about this episode I wished could have been better. First, Grimm is really in his own element when he has guests on. Get at him! He would love to have steemians on as a guest! He does a great job getting to know you so others can learn who you are and support your steemit journey. But, that can't happen without reliable guests. That's not so much on Grimm as far as what I didn't like. More of a general opinion about steemians wasting opportunities to network. That said, I understand not everyone wants to be on air. I know I am not a person who likes to talk, so I guess it might be hypocritical of me to say people should be guests when I don't like being on the radio shows. shrug But I KNOW there are many people who would love a little extra exposure and encouragement, so don't be shy. Add a comment to one of his show recordings and link up with him.


One other thing that stands out to me as something that he could improve on, is being quiet on the mic. He was a lot better on this show, but during the discussion with @llfarms he was briefly hard to hear. He does a great job watching the chat room during his show, responding and commenting when he can, so once he saw that his level was low, he quickly raised it up. He has improved with this quite a bit, but it's one thing I notice which could hopefully be constructive criticism. In my old life I was a recording engineer so I'm extra focused on sound quality issues.


All in all, I thought it was another great show by @fracasgrimm. It wasn't the best show he's ever done because he was thrown off his game by not having a cohost this week, but he did great despite that. Kudos to @llfarms, @jackdub, and the other guest. I'm so sorry I stepped out to eat and forget who it was ) :

Okie Dokey. That's my review of the last episode of CHRONIC AND COFFEE. If you found this post informative and persuasive, please consider upvoting, resteeming, following, and commenting! Thank you kindly for reading...

Here are previous posts of mine:


STORIES:

BAREFOOT IN THE BOONIES: EXPOSING MY ROOTS (introduction post)
BAREFOOT IN THE BOONIES: Chapter 1
BAREFOOT IN THE BOONIES: FAMILY OWNED: Chapter 1 Section 2
BAREFOOT IN THE BOONIES: ABANDONED BASEMENT: Chapter 1 Section 2

2011 GARDEN:

2011: DESIGN AND BUILD
2011 BACKYARD TRELLIS, PERIMETER, & VOLUNTEER
2011 TIRE PORTION OF THE GARDEN
2011 BRASSICAS-TIRE GARDEN
2011 DWARF ORCHARD

RECIPES:

SANTA DELIVERED SHROOMS-SHITAKE OYSTER SCRAMBLE
SWEET CINNAMON POPCORN
MOCK ALMOND JOY--CHEAPER AND HEALTHIER
HANGRY TERIYAKI
RASHES--WHY I SWITCHED TO THIS COMMON DIY LAUNDRY SOAP AND HOW I MAKE IT
SCRAMBLED EGGS WITH FORAGED FINDS: FIRST FOOD FORAGE OF 2018

POEMS:

WATCHING THE SPRING WAKE UP
SHE IS DYING
WEEPING WILLOW

PLANTS AND ANIMALS-EDUCATIONAL:

GRASS IS OUR FRIEND
LITTLE BLUESTEM--BENEFICIAL AND BEAUTIFUL
BEHOLD THE BEAUTY OF THE FALSE INDIGO BUSH

WALK ALONG WITH ME:

WALK ALONG WITH ME 1
WALK ALONG WITH ME 2--WINTER 2017/2018

2018:

WILD TURKEY TAIL AND REISHI MUSHROOMS
HUGELKULTUR BED STARTED BUT THERE IS A LOGISTICAL OBSTACLE.
2018 CURRENT HAPPENINGS: FOOD FOREST EXPANSION



(Created by @bembelmaniac)


(Created by @soulturtle)



So come say hello in the following Discord chat rooms:

#homesteadersonline: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS

@qurator: https://discord.gg/pJtWp57M

#minnowsupport & #PAL: https://discord.gg/B4ZjGBa

Sort:  

Thanks for the kind words Phe, really appreciate it. I thought the C&C show was great too. As for the beehive post Ll spent almost as much time writing it all as I did making them, so kudos to her. Thanks again for the great review.

It truly is an amazing post. Your beehives are exquisite! You put such love, effort, and skill into them and they look so nice. llfarms takes great photos documenting the step by step process. She's great with words, too. It's always a pleasure listening to her talk about homesteading. You, as well, when you get on the air. I always learn something from you guys. You both are super encouraging, too. I wish you both continued success!

I was sooo happy to see your review I had to comment twice. You ARE good people. RESPECT

I appreciate your appreciation so much, I had to updoot both comments, hehe. Hear ya next Thursday!

THANK YOU PHE! I appreciate your review and your regular presence in the audience. SOOO MUCH RESPECT!!

RESPECT! I really do like your show. ( :

I know I dont 'know' you..but I like you friend. RESPECTO

That was a really good review of the show! I like the way you offer constructive critique as well as praise.

Thank you @amberyooper! Hopefully I'll get some more reviews up. You should write some reviews, too!

This is great @phedizzle. Thank you for the excellent review and thank you being the first to post a review for the contest.

You have received a small bonus reward of 2.5 SBD for being the first entry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94