SCRAMBLED EGGS WITH FORAGED FINDS: FIRST FOOD FORAGE OF 2018

in #food6 years ago

Good Morning y'all. I have been very busy this spring trying to get our food forest expanded, seeds started, propagation through cuttings. Much much busier than in years past. It's been very challenging for me, and I feel quite behind. However, I am happy to be making progress for a change. As such, I have not had much time to be posting as frequently as I want to be. I hope you understand, as most of you who are homesteaders know this is quite a busy time of year.


I also was hoping to finish the series of posts from my past gardens starting in 2011. I am only half done with those, then it will be on to 2012-2017. The reason is that I want to show my progression over the years. I also want to be able to post older stuff while I work on this year's projects since I already have those pictures uploaded and sorted. All I have to do for those are the write-ups. That way I am not putting extra pressure on myself to stop midstream in this hectic time of year to spend hours on posting about the current season. One other reason is that, obviously, this is still the beginning of 2018. There will be many posts about this year, as well. I like being able to go in order of events and topics, especially because I am not able to always post consistently.


I want to apologize to anyone who might feel I am ignoring or not being very supportive in regards to commenting and whatnot. I am just overwhelmed with many things right now so have very little time to spend on the computer. I prefer leaving thoughtful comments, not ones that are generic or not thought through very well. I think many homesteaders are in this situation, too, and I do hope y'all understand if I have not responded to all of my dm's on discord, mentions here on steemit, comments or replies.


To get on with it, this post is going to be fairly short and sweet. Or savory. Yeah, savory is a better description.

Scrambled Eggs with Foraged Finds


Below are a couple of pictures of the wild garlic chives and wild garlic that grows every year from nature self-seeding them every other year. I found these while surveying the property in late February when the temperatures were unseasonably warm. The wild chives are scattered seemingly everywhere, which is really nice. In another post, I will be explaining the process and progress of digging some up and transplanting them into the straw bales from last year.






Here are a handful of the wild garlic leaves which were quite soft and delish!






I didn't get great pictures of the other picked ingredients for this post, however, in future posts, I will be showing better detail of the plants, as they grow all over my property as well. Pictured are the wild chives, wild garlic, chickweed, plantain (the long thin leaf variety), yarrow, wild dehydrated bergamot, and a few herbs that I grew which are tarragon, Genovese basil, silver sage, and German chamomile.






I added some avocado oil to the wok, heated to high. Cracked 4 eggs into the hot sizzling pan. Next I added on top of the eggs the chickweed, plantain, wild garlic leaves, and wild garlic chives leaves. I cooked for about a minute then flipped the eggs. Next, I sprinkled on pink sea salt and the dried herbs. I also added nutritional yeast. Once the eggs were about half cooked, I began folding the eggs and stirfrying the rest of the way.


This cooked very fast. It took only about 3 minutes to actually cook this. Of course, foraging took longer. Gotta stop and take in the scenery, after all. The prep involved rinsing the wild greens, shaking off the water, chopping. All in this meal took about 10 minutes to prepare and cook.






I have to say it was quite good. I will make it again. The chickweed has a spinach taste. I eat it raw in salads sometimes. The wild garlic chives and garlic are self-explanatory. The plantains have a fresh crisp green flavor, too, but milder than say the chickweed. It has more of a mild lettuce flavor. The wild bergamot has a spicy oregano-like flavor. The yarrow has a black pepper-like flavor. You know, I have never tried using chamomile on eggs before. It went quite nicely with the other herbs. It was something I tried on a whim. I've been trying to use my herbs because if I am going to grow them or forage them, I should use them, right?



Here are the previous posts in the BAREFOOT IN THE BOONIES and the 2011 GARDEN series, both of which are still in progress:


STORIES:

BAREFOOT IN THE BOONIES: EXPOSING MY ROOTS (introduction post)
BAREFOOT IN THE BOONIES: Chapter 1
BAREFOOT IN THE BOONIES: FAMILY OWNED: Chapter 1 Section 2
BAREFOOT IN THE BOONIES: ABANDONED BASEMENT: Chapter 1 Section 2

2011 GARDEN:

2011: DESIGN AND BUILD
2011 BACKYARD TRELLIS, PERIMETER, & VOLUNTEER
2011 TIRE PORTION OF THE GARDEN
2011 BRASSICAS-TIRE GARDEN
2011 DWARF ORCHARD


That's all for now. Until the next post... If you found this post enjoyable, please consider upvoting, resteeming, following, and commenting! Thank you kindly for reading. ...



(Created by @bembelmaniac)


(Created by @soulturtle)



So come say hello in the following Discord chat rooms:

#homesteadersonline: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS

@qurator: https://discord.gg/pJtWp57M

#minnowsupport & #PAL: https://discord.gg/B4ZjGBa

Sort:  

Incredible meal!!! Can't wait to get out to forage myself this week!!

Foraging sure is fun, isn't it? I bet you're going to find some goodies as long as the weather has warmed up some.

Your spring is way ahead of mine up here, the ground is still half frozen and the grass is barely starting to grow, so there's nothing to forage yet.

This was the end of February when it was in the 70s and 80s u think, then quickly transitioned into sub temps for a week. The weather had been wacky but it's always turbulent here in the spring and fall. I think they were saying last night was the last frost date. Do you usually have better temperature this time of year? What zone are you? I'm zone 6a

Hello, I saw your link in the "sustainable-living" chat channel, so I came here to read the post. It looks like you have a good foraging attitude, not everybody wants to do stuff like that. This helps with being prepared for tough times, no matter the cause.

I'm fairly new to foraging. When I moved to my current place in rural western Missouri, I saw a bunch of cool plants I'd no idea what they were. On Facebook I found a group called missouri mycological society, another called wild edibles of Missouri and then another called native plants of Missouri ( I think). So, in 2016 I began learning what plants were what. I learned that the tiny purple prairie lilacs, chickweed, dandelion, bergamot, wild garlic, yarrow, curly dock, plantain, and a variety of mushrooms were edible. More importantly, plants that were either invasive or poisonous on my property, such as hemlock, winter creeper, and a couple varieties of thistle. It was really facinating to learn how much I had here to eat if I wanted. Also a little terrifying about the poisonous and water hemlock. I have much more to learn. It's a wild meadow here, at least last year as we did not keep sections mowed as usual. Anyway, thanks for checking my post and the comment. Much appreciated

mmmm !!! delish and nutrish! our egg breakfasts have been looking very similarly lately ;) !! haha some of my favorite spring wild edibles you've included here. i'm also a huge fan of nettles! best wishes with the unfoldment of all of your plans :) xo

I don't think I've ever tried nettles. Don't Know what they look like either. Don't you have to boil the stingy stuff off?

yes lightly steam, stir fry or boil- you can also throw them in a soup (delicious!).. .

Well i need to try it one day, then!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 21:21:51
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 48.55/100.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by phedizzle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59358.13
ETH 2471.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45