WILD TURKEY TAIL AND REISHI MUSHROOM

in #homestead6 years ago (edited)

In 2014 when we moved to our current homestead, we had several Oak in our front yard cut down with the intention of starting from scratch with a food forest. The trees were cut down, the logs put in one of our unused pole barns, and the branches burned (unfortunately we didn't think about keeping them for hugelkutlur). The remaining stumps were ground in place into mulch .





This is my favorite pic of the Turkey Tail



Well, last year I started noticing some mushrooms growing wild where the mulched trees were. I didn't inoculate these, also many people nowadays are putting spores of these mushrooms into old logs specifically to harvest these. The two types of mushrooms were Reishi and Turkey Tail.





It's hard to see here but if you look close, you can see where some of last year's dead grass, which grew throughout the mushroom, still exists. It was growing so much through the mushroom I didn't ever see there were mushrooms growing here last year for quite some time because it was almost hidden. I was also unable to harvest it to dry for tea or eat because there was so much growing through it. You can see pretty clearly in front of the mushroom the grass. Not sure what kind of grass it was, but it was that super annoying kind that spreads similar to how strawberries do. I think Bermuda grass, but don't know



This year we had early spring weather for a couple of weeks, followed by really cold weather for a few weeks. After that, we had nice spring weather again with a good amount of rain one day. Before most of the trees and plants started coming out of dormancy, I did a little walk around the yard and was delighted to see that the mushrooms had started waking up.





Another closeup of Turkey Tail. This stump remnant had a pretty extensive area of the mushroom, taking up the majority of the 2.5 foot diameter





Another Turkey Tail closeup



This time they have grown to take over a larger area. Now, we had the trucks ground down, but did nothing with the roots, leaving them how they were in the ground. Some of those roots have started decomposing, which is exactly what the mushrooms like. Old decaying wood of oak trees.



Here is an overview of just one of the old trees where the stump was ground into mulch. There are 4 areas of mushrooms growing out of the 10 trees that were cut down. This particular area is about a 2 1/2 diameter area.



Since the weather went back and forth between sub temps and mildly warm weather, the mushrooms have appeared to go back to sleep. They should come back alive once there is more rain. Also, last year I was unable to harvest any of them because there was grass and white clover growing through them. This year I intend to keep the area weeded as much as possible so I can harvest for medicine, food, and tea, as well as try to inoculate where they can grow without competing with the groundcover plants. Anyhow, I hope you enjoy these pictures.





Here is the beginning of a Reishi. I'm not sure if the one on the right is also Reishi, or another variety



ALL IMAGES ARE COPYRIGHT 2018 BY ME, @phedizzle. Hope you enjoyed them!



Here are previous posts of mine:


STORIES:

BAREFOOT IN THE BOONIES: EXPOSING MY ROOTS (introduction post)
BAREFOOT IN THE BOONIES: Chapter 1
BAREFOOT IN THE BOONIES: FAMILY OWNED: Chapter 1 Section 2
BAREFOOT IN THE BOONIES: ABANDONED BASEMENT: Chapter 1 Section 2

2011 GARDEN:

2011: DESIGN AND BUILD
2011 BACKYARD TRELLIS, PERIMETER, & VOLUNTEER
2011 TIRE PORTION OF THE GARDEN
2011 BRASSICAS-TIRE GARDEN
2011 DWARF ORCHARD

RECIPES:

SANTA DELIVERED SHROOMS-SHITAKE OYSTER SCRAMBLE
SWEET CINNAMON POPCORN
MOCK ALMOND JOY--CHEAPER AND HEALTHIER
HANGRY TERIYAKI
RASHES--WHY I SWITCHED TO THIS COMMON DIY LAUNDRY SOAP AND HOW I MAKE IT
SCRAMBLED EGGS WITH FORAGED FINDS: FIRST FOOD FORAGE OF 2018

POEMS:

WATCHING THE SPRING WAKE UP
SHE IS DYING
WEEPING WILLOW

PLANTS AND ANIMALS-EDUCATIONAL:

GRASS IS OUR FRIEND
LITTLE BLUESTEM--BENEFICIAL AND BEAUTIFUL
BEHOLD THE BEAUTY OF THE FALSE INDIGO BUSH

WALK ALONG WITH ME:

WALK ALONG WITH ME 1
WALK ALONG WITH ME 2--WINTER 2017/2018



That's all for now. Until the next post... If you found this post enjoyable, please consider upvoting, resteeming, following, and commenting! Thank you kindly for reading...


(Created by @bembelmaniac)


(Created by @soulturtle)



So come say hello in the following Discord chat rooms:

#homesteadersonline: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS

@qurator: https://discord.gg/pJtWp57M

#minnowsupport & #PAL: https://discord.gg/B4ZjGBa

Sort:  

Ok all you mushroom farmers have inspired me. Im going give this a try on our homestead. Although the only hardwood we have here is birch...but im not sure of the exact species. Ill have to some more research or maybe head down the mountain and see if i can find some old oak logs. Thanks Phe.

There are kits you can buy. Or you can find out when you research which mushrooms like which wood. Many mushrooms like old decaying wood. I'm pretty sure shitake, oyster, and Lions mane can all be grown sterilized wheat grain or sawdust bags. That's how my cuz grows them.

I dont know much about mushrooms, but I saw it also in my area, may be that is different species grow directly on the rotten log. I knew a few of them and I like to cook it mix with other vegetable @phedizzle.

Regards

certain mushrooms are not safe to eat, but many are tasty and medicinal. I didn't know much about mushrooms until I started learning from my cousin who grows and sells lion's mane, a variety of oysters, reishi, turkey tail, cordyseps, and he's working on more.

As I know from survival expert trainer, the same species can be poisonous if it grow on something poisonous. that is why I dont take it if I am not sure that is safe to eat. have you heard that too @phedizzle

Actually no I haven't heard that but it sure makes sense. I'm allergic to poison ivy so I wouldn't eat anything attached to or growing next to it.

I do enjoy mushrooms, though I have never tasted either of these. Yet another item to add to our to try list once we are settled onto our property. Medicinal mushrooms are so expensive, it would be great if we could grow our own. -Aimee

Tbh, I haven't actually tried eating turkey tail or reishi. I've had both in tea which was okay. Turkey tail is like leather texture. Good for you though, just haven't heard it tastes especially good. Not like shitake oyster or lions mane. Where I live, all those are wild natives. You could probably go on mushroom hunts locally. I'd go with a certified mycological person, though. False morels, for example, are often confused with real morels. Mushrooms can be bad news if misidentified.

That's great advice, thank you. I will look to see if I can find someone in my area. -Ainee

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by phedizzle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87