WALK ALONG WITH ME #1

in #homesteadersonline7 years ago (edited)

I think I have finally figured out how I want to structure a posting routine. Beginning on Monday of each week, I will post a short story about something on my homestead, PheSustainable Farm. In these stories I will highlight 7 interesting elements to elaborate on, one for each day of the week. Of course I hope to post more than just these, but it will be a good start until I find my bearings. Let's begin! You're cordially invited to...

><><><><>WALK ALONG WITH ME<><><><><


It was an especially nice mid-summer day in 2017. Luckily, the temperature felt more like it was still Spring, being in the low 70's, which was on the cool side for that time of year. In western Missouri it can get sweltering hot and humid during the summer, which invariably leaves me cooped up in the house because I am heat intolerant. The sun was intensely bright. So much so that even with sunglasses the light seemed to slightly dim the vibrant colors of the surrounding landscape. Still lush, albeit a little bit overexposed. My eyes begged for a closer look. My mind needed the stimulation. My body needed the exercise. My spirit needed the peace. My nerves needed the distraction. Needing an adventure, I went on an expedition.





The truth is, these walks happen infrequently for me. When the opportunity arises, I take it! Every time I stroll around the property I go very slow. As such, this is how it usually goes:

Walk 10 feet. Stop. Smell the flowers' perfume saturating the air. Put one hand in the air to shield my eyes from the Sun in order to watch the Turkey Vultures circling above as if they were graceful figure skaters. Walk another 10 feet. Stop. Marvel at the understory of the creek while listening for the hustle and bustle, or lack thereof, of the nearby wildlife. So on and So forth.





For me, gone are the days of living fast. Conservation is not exclusive to the well-being of our planet. Conservation of energy, calmness, and being present are essential to maintaining good health for ourselves, as well. We cannot GO! GO! GO! all the time. Our bodies and minds were not meant to live in that state forever. I encourage you to take time at least occasionally to recalibrate by being STILL in nature. Especially if you are the type of person who avoids stillness, as I once was. You deserve to experience nature, deliberately, at as slow of a pace as you are capable. I digress.



I am still learning about all of the plants growing around here. There weren't many I could identify in 2017. Over the course of the year with the help of online plant identification groups there are several plants which I can easily identify now, such as the pockets of White Clover that I can identify with my eyes closed simply by their smell, Common White Yarrow which has fern like leaves that feel as soft as a baby chic's feathers, the invasive edible Henbit with its pretty purple flowers and the ever constant beneficial native Dandelion.


(White Clover & Common White Yarrow among other common meadow flowers)


Anyhoooo... On that particular walk I remember listening to the dehydrated ground crunching beneath my feet as I walked along a path that had been mowed through the field. There had not been enough rain recently. Not the usual amount we should have been getting. Storms were in the vicinity but mysteriously kept missing our property, by and large. Is there something in the air which diverts these storms around us? A weather invisibility cloak? A curious mind wants to know! The Greater Kansas City Metro and surrounding areas were inundated with storm after storm that week, yet for the most part it remained uneventful and mostly dry here, apart from the humidity being so high in the predawn hours you could write love poems for the stars on the windows illuminated by the reflexion of the moon.


That day I started off in the direction of the Orchard, meandering in and around it in a haphazardly fashion, eventually following along the creek's edge, tracing it all the way back to the property line. At this time of year the Poison Ivy is so lush inside the creek that entering is next to impossible without a hazmat suite and machete (of which I only have the machete). There were two options. On the left was Option A; a lush impenetrable forest. On the right was Option B; a field with a stale appearance. By the look of it, some people might think to themselves how much more exciting Option A would be. Heck, at the time that's what I thought! As interesting as it looked, there was no way I was going in that forest. Bored and restless from being cooped up inside so much, ending a short walk prematurely on such a vibrant day for such a shallow reason was simply not going to happen. Boring or not, taking a 15 minute walk was more eventful than what I otherwise would have been doing. It's not always easy to take advantage of opportunities when they present themselves, especially when they feel underwhelming. Sometimes those are absolutely the best opportunities to take advantage of. With that in mind, I chose Option B, jaunting off to the right farther into the crispy field with my eyes zoomed in on the ground for a change. After all, a closer look to see if it was as bland up close as it seemed from a short distance away never hurt anyone.


Scattered about were balding areas exposing the predominately clay earth where the lawnmower cut a little more off the top than was necessary. I nearly tripped over some sort of massive cluster of roots spanning about 3 foot in diameter. It was obviously from a mature species with how extensive the network of roots were, which looked similar to turmeric without the rich orange color, having a hundred or more connected in a large matte, as if they were rugs placed on the ground. On none of my previous walks had I noticed it. Maybe on none of my previous walks I had looked closely enough. Or, maybe they had become exposed the last mowing. The lawnmower has a tire with a persistent tendency of deflating due to a slow leak.


Growing nearby in the neighbor's undisturbed meadow were the same plants reaching about waist high with thick, long, sturdy blue-green blades of grass. A rather pretty grass, I think. Others must think so, too, because it is used as a decorative grass in commercial and residential Landscape Design. Behold, Little Bluestem Prairie Grass. There is another lovely grass, Native Switch Grass, that coexists in the fields with the Little Bluestem Grass, as well. Plus, of course, many other species I am still learning to identify. The two of those make up the majority of the 40 acre field stretching from our property line to the next creek over.


The neighbor's meadow that touches our property is where the highest point on our property is. From there the land slopes downward, dropping about 10 feet in elevation over about a 100 foot span until leveling off at the creek's edge. From the property line looking down, there was a thicket growing I had previously never noticed, although it must have been there before. I imagine it had likely been "chopped and dropped" from periodically being cut down by a brush hog. As I'm sure you can imagine, once the field grows too tall, it becomes too difficult with a simple lawn mower. Missing two weeks of mowing, next thing you know, it'll break the mower. 2 weeks later it's tall enough to tickle your armpits. The plant growing in this thicket had dainty fern like leaves that were inviting to touch, reminding me of a miniature version of the beautiful but invasive Mimosa tree's leaves. Pretty foliage, to be sure, but that wasn't the most beautiful part of this plant. Known as False Indigo, when I happened upon it, it was moderately peppered with 1 to 2 inch long cone shaped flower clusters that were a rich deep purple. The flowers in each cluster had not all opened up yet. Of the ones that had, there were what looked like little wispy strands of brilliant orange sticking out. There was no distinct fragrance, although I wonder if I had gone back a few days later if there would have been when the deep purple flower clusters surely would have been in full bloom. After seeing this plant in that perfect light, at that perfect time, I'm thankful last year we got a late start on mowing. That must have allowed the False Indigo to become better established. It's a lovely plant. Not in the ideal location as far as the future permaculture plans for that part of the property, but it can be moved to another location. There is plenty of time to decide because that is what is being considered Zone 5. It is currently kept mowed to reduce the risk of fire hazard but is otherwise unused. In the future it will become zone 4 where we will extend out the edible forest along the creek.

IMG_20170725_133901618.jpg

><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><

Stay tuned! More is on the way...


Be sure to look for more in depth posts on this week's 7 elements on the following plants:

1.14.18 (Sun.) Little Bluestem
1.15.18 (Mon.) Switch Grass
1.16.18 (Tues.) Dandelion
1.17.18 (Wed.) Henbit
1.18.18 (Thur.) White Clover
1.19.18 (Fri.) White Yarrow
1.20.18 (Sat.) False Indigo


Thanks for reading!! I hope you enjoyed the first short story in the WALK ALONG WITH ME series. Please consider upvoting, following, and resteeming to follow along. While you're at it, check out the Homesteaders Online community, too. Hopefully you'll decide to join along in the fun.



homesteadinglogo.jpeg
https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
http://homesteaders-online.com




P.S. Since I joined Steemit mid December '18, I've been struggling to get synced up with a posting routine due to having technical difficulties with my computer, having to sort out some urgent family stuff, trying to make sure the health of my family and myself are being properly looked after. There never seems to be a shortage of obstacles. Looks like I missed the deadline for the Healthy2018 contest but I can sum up what will be the primary focus for this year in fewer than 14 words.

Accept the situation. Fake it till I make it. Be patient. Be calm.


Sort:  

BEAUTIFUL pictures! SO serene and calm!

I love this statement...

meandering in and around it in a haphazardly fashion

Sounds Heavenly!!

I'm so thankful to be living here.

I've been working on my vocabulary to help keep my thinker thinking. trying to use them in context. { :

some sort of series would be wonderfull to read.

it will be a good challenge. i've never blogged or written in this way before. only for english finals years ago.

i like the awareness you have of the land, the appreciation of detail. my one wish is that you would format a bit more into paragraphs and sections as my eyes have a hard time keeping track of the lines.. aging sucks heh.

How would you suggest changing it? (Being literal not snarky). Are you talking about adding a < br > between every line?

I've been looking for more advanced markup code so I can indent as a paragraph would be, highlight, underline, change font size, color, etc. @goldendawne showed me a couple a good tutorials so now I can finally at least center stuff.

simple putting in a few paragraph breaks should do it. or line breaks between sections. --- is my go to thing. it looks like you edited?

I am having a hard time with my computer because its so old so its taking me a long time to compose, edit, upload and link pics, surf for links, etc because i have to go through multiple devices and a lot of hoops.

i had everything in the post box looking the way i wanted on the preview, but then i posted and it didn't look the same. so i had to try to fix it, then check it, etc. took a few times. frustrating. after a long time of that its hard to see straight. miss mistakes.

hackmd is much better!! That's going to make things go MUCH smoother. i also messed one of the tags up and fixed a spelling/grammar thing.

cool. im glad it helped

Walking the land is real important, as well as therapeutic.
It looks like you have a bunch of Ox Eye Daisies amongst your clover too.

Do you have much of a problem with exotic or non-native plants on your place? I know poison ivy is native but it's often a pioneer species that dominates after land has been disturbed. My point is that in large amounts it's not normal or in balance. It's best to deal with it in the winter when the leaves are off and the plant is dormant. I've mostly eliminated the very large infestations in trees by simply walking around with a machete or hatchet and cutting ALL the vines going up the tree. I usually chop out a foot section so I can see my work later. These big ones are the ones supplying seeds.
Do keep us posted on your projects.

I'm sad to say I learned last year there are many invasives here. The reason for the poison ivy spreading so much is because of creek flooding/erosion I believe. We r down stream so we get the storm runoff.

Cutting the vines is already on the to do list.

I've declared an official war on invasives on my property.
Most land I see are filled with non-native species thanks to the ornamental plant industry.
Apparently they can or could import most anything if it looked pretty.
I have a multi-flora rose which is just evil!

In nature poison ivy tends to grow sparsely EXCEPT in areas that have been disturbed. That's why you often see it along road right-of-ways and fence lines. My understanding is that poison ivy is mostly spread by creatures eating the seeds (or humans inadvertently spreading them around). The process is roughly that a vine makes a berry that a bird eats. The bird drops the seeds while sitting up a tree. The seed lands at the base of the tree and then grows up the tree where it produces more berries. The another bird eats and drops the berries (the seeds pass through the digestive tract) and the cycle continues. An example is when you see it growing on the top of a tree stump. When these seeds find disturbed soil they grow as a bushy (not a vine) pioneer species. Because they are perennial and hardy they will out compete other species. The trick is to help a desirable species get established. This often requires the removal of the poison ivy and replanting. I'm only talking about those patches on disturbed soil. Natural growths of poison ivy aren't usually a big problem.
Be patient. It will take years to reduce the populations. Good luck.

Thanks. Yes it's taken me most of 2017 to accept P.O. is a native HAHA I'm not sure how to fix it in some of the places because it's on the creek bank in places I can't get to. The vines I should be able to get. There are some vines 2-3 inches in diameter running up the trees. Their leaves are huge! Missouri department of conservation won't help get rid of the poison ivy but maybe will with the creek. There are sections of the banks that are bald which will probably start growing P.O. Fixing that will be a big help. Also the seeds that are falling in and floating on the water are probably contributing. Right now I mostly just want a walking path.

I believe thise white flowers are actually Shasta daisies. I'll need to research that more. I picked that bundle and saved their seeds.

I would think about seeding the creek bank where it's bare with whatever you think will grow and out compete the poison ivy. Do you know why it's bare? Most creek banks grow something, even if it's poison ivy. :-(
You can cut a section from the vines now as I'm pretty sure it has no leaves and is dormant. They logged my property 70-80 years ago and subsequently ran cows. I have poison ivy everywhere (except up the trees ;-). Once land has been disturbed it's not easy to get things back in a natural balance.
Goats do a great job of controlling poison ivy, if you can control the goats, especially where humans can't work!

It's from the flooding when the rain comes and washes down. Our creek is lower elevation. I'm sure some seeds are dropping and washing down too. A good number of the trees along the banks have half their roots exposed. Looks neat and it's not necessarily affecting most of them, but it's from erosion.



Yes I do need to reseed. Will be a good place to throw some seed balls, which I haven't made yet but need to.

rehabbing the creek is going to be difficult but first thing I'll be doing is working on that poison ivy, trying to correct the erosion as best I can. Like you said, plantings.


We've also got multirose, briar, winter creeper, water hemlock, Bradford pears, and honey locust. I think those trees are native but they've dangerous thorns. Want to get ahead of those!

I'm testing the Bradford pears as grafting root stock for edible pears.
The locust is one of the most rot resistant lumber you can find, if it's big enough to use.

Interesting! I hadn't thought of using them to graft! If it works I'd love to see a post about it. We have 2 mature pears I'd love to get more of them established.

Yes, but they can impale. Lol. Thorns 2-3 inches long. Shivers I don't want a bunch of them. None, tbh. I'm sure they make good seasoned firewood haha

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by phedizzle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60988.21
ETH 2373.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55