Curie, Steemstem, Steemiteducation, and Steemcleaner - A Dance With Fire and Ice

in #mathematics6 years ago

“Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a battle you know nothing about.” ― Wendy Mass, The Candymakers

Last week, I've just finished writing the second chapter notes of the The Gentle Introduction to the Arts of Mathematics (GIAM) book. I've read and learned a lot along the way, as I try to race and commit my self to post one section of the second chapter each day.

For the second chapter, I've covered most of it. And it was pretty fun. I feel so accomplished every time I look at my github page:

I usually do the notes writing of each section every night, the day before I post it. I usually post in the afternoon, and if my bandwidth is enough I post it in the morning. And then just leave it there waiting for people to read it and comment. I've received just a minuscule number of comments but I understand, because the subject I'm trying to share is a difficult one.


Source

Good news

The first few days last week, I was reaping positive results of my effort - my effort, of trying to digest each section and share it to every mathematics lovers out there. I've received upvotes from quality content curators like sndbox, steemstem, and curie upvotes. These kinds of upvoter are what pushes me to read each section with perseverance. Tiny success every day. These are what keeps me going in steemit. Their votes have boosted my self-esteem in what I do.

Bad News

I've received bad news also. Unfortunately, I've received some steemcleaners comments as well. The first comment, I've accepted it without heavy heart. The next post I wrote, I tried to cite the reference as much as possible. I put some numbers in each sentence that are originally from the book. Days went on and I did not receive any comments from them again.

Until last Saturday, I've received two steemcleaners comments as well as some big downvotes that crippled my refutation value by 7 points. It was a big blow on my self-esteem.

I was accused of copying and pasting the texts of J. Fields without adding anything original. Majority of the content of my posts on GIAM is from the book of GIAM, obviously. The posts are about the meat of each section. I wanted the posts to sound like the book, and as much as possible I try to retain the original wording of Fields. I do not want to insert my own bias in his own sentences. In addition, I've cited the author properly. I also added a disclaimer along the way.

I come from a scholarly field of study, I've published 5 ISI paper about physics and remote sensing, and I utterly understand the importance of citing the references and sources.

What did I add that was original?

I've subtracted the unnecessary details. Each section was distilled in ways that are easy to follow, I believe. And then, if it is possible, I've tried to reorganize the flow of thoughts of Field's book. Because I found, as I read along each section, there are betters ways of organizing each sub-sections to create a logical flow of ideas.

As much as possible I've tried to retain the wordings of the author, though there were instances that the whole paragraph would require a makeover. Every now and then, I would paraphrase the sentences to make it sound less formal and accessible to laymen.

Resolution

On one of my post, curie and steemiteducation retracted their upvotes because it was flagged by steemcleaners. When I saw these on my record in steemd early in the morning, I quickly alerted them of the situation, I know I did not violate any rules of steemcleaners (please refer to this blog to know the rules). The downvotes of steemcleaners on my two posts were quickly removed after that. It was too late as the scar on my record and reputation was still there. But still, it was a huge relief.


I've found a similar situation on the post of @pandorasbox with a very descriptive title:

I know steemcleaners is still not a perfect program. I don't have anything against it. It still has a big room for development, including adding some artificial intelligence to score a posts base on some agreed upon metrics.

The good thing is, I've learned my lesson early, and I guess these are effects of living in a competitive world.

People will judge us even before they know our full story.
Sort:  

But you adjusted the articles after the comments of steemcleaners right? I think in this situation they have a point.

I think some self-reflection is in place here. You are also only giving half of the story here. So I suggest everyone to form their own opinion about this. Here are the lecture notes http://giam.southernct.edu/GIAM/GIAM.pdf

And on a final note. In this situation you are technically profiting in a way from the lecture notes. So maybe it would be appropriate to contact Prof. Fields about this. I would have very mixed feeling if somebody uses my lecture notes on the steemit platform.

I do admit my mistake in not properly acknowledging the author of the book. I thought it would be enough to just put it on the reference section.

I even linked the reference to the free pdf version of the book, hoping people would read it. It is a good book and I want people to know that. My sole intention was to direct people to that book, that's why i sometimes dont changed the wordings. I have no intention of concealing the fact that it was from Field's book.

I did add some disclaimer along the way, as one user suggested. I never thought of that.

Without the disclaimer your posts would fall in the plagiarised category. Do you agree?
For information on what is considered plagiarism see here https://www.steem.center/index.php?title=Plagiarism#Steemit.27s_policies_on_plagiarism

Note that for plagiarism intent does not play any role.

I agree I thought this would do the job.

By the way, the book is licensed under GNU.

(in plain english)

If you agree that without the disclaimer it is plagariasm (antecedent) then it logically follows that steemcleaners did their work (consequent). So there is no reason for this post.

That is great that it is GNU. In your first post https://steemit.com/steemstem/@sinbad989/a-gentle-introduction-to-mathematics-basic-sets you did not credit the author unless I am mistaken.

If you upvote me you are agreeing with me right? My opinion does not coincide with the opinion of your post. So either don't upvote me or change the contents of this post.

These posts fall into a grey area at times. Since you changed the format a little and added the disclaimer, in my opinion, they no longer fall in @steemcleaners scope of abuse.

When it was brought to my attention your 2 posts were flagged I reviewed the latest one and noticed the changes made including the disclaimer. I discussed this with the other members of the @steemcleaners team and the flags were removed.

WOW!
I am pretty new here, and honestly not into math at all, so the meat of the post is lost on me, but, WOW!
Steemcleaners seems like an important function, and I totally get the importance of citing sources and you know, originality, so I support that bot as a concept.
Sorry you ended up with the scar, I can't imagine that feeling.
I hope your comeback on those seven rep points is quick.

I upvoted and resteemed.
Thanks for being one of the smart people who knows about math!

This post has received a 0.45 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sinbad989.

Release the Kraken! You got a 1.16% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @sinbad989!

Thank you sinbad989 for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 1.41% on this post!

Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem!

The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me!

For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily?

To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68726.56
ETH 3273.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67